We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thanks for a great stay”
Review of Andaz Napa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Andaz Napa
Ranked #4 of 30 Hotels in Napa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed June 13, 2014 via mobile

We spent the first three days of our Honeymoon in the Andaz.. We received an upgrade, enjoyed the great breakfast and the dinner. We can definetely recommend the Burger. Many thanks for a great service. We will come back next time we will be in San Francisco area.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Henrieke P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,130)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,165 - 1,171 of 2,130 reviews

Reviewed June 10, 2014

Wifi available in the rooms, and the staff were attencious with our issues and doubts.
I'm sure, I will probably came back, in my next trip to Napa Valley. The room was a little more expensive than the average, but worth it.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WILSON L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2014

This Hyatt property is in the new part of Napa along the riverfront. The rooms are decent size and very typical modern Hyatt, which I like. Happy Hour is nice you get to taste three different wines from local wineries. An enjoyable stay in Napa but at a price. Although Napa is always expensive even off season.

Room Tip: There is no swimming pool at this property. A bummer for the summer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ThePlumber2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2014

It was our first time in Napa Valley and we couldn't have picked a better place to stay - the Andaz was our last accommodation after a road trip the coast from San Diego and it couldn't have ended better. You first walk in and are greeted by a lovely reception person who takes your bags and seats you down. They informally and modernly check you in with an iPad and offer you a glass of wine (take it, it's delicious!) they give you the lowdown on the hotel and area - we wanted dinner reservations and the gentleman who was helping us was so kind that he ran across the street to the Italian restaurant and made them for us! We were very impressed by the service immediately. Up to our room and I was taken away by the charm, elegance and contemporary touches. Hardwood floors, marble bathroom and beautiful furnishings. We had a room at the front of the hotel so we could see downtown Napa which was nice. Overall 10/10 I just loved it and need to plan another trip to go back to explore Napa further and spend a little more time at the Andaz!

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Jaclyn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2014

I'm tempted to give this hotel a "terrible" rating, but that wouldn't be fair. It does some things really well, and others are horrid. Sort of like having you feet in the over and you head in the freezer - on average you're comfortable. The good: warm reception (with a glass of wine) while registration is handled, morning blend (fruit and vegetable smoothies) in the lobby, pleasant service and assorted breakfast items at the lobby bar, prompt and courteous valet parking and retrieval, free and reliable internet. The bad: at over $300 / night I don't expect to be charged for local phone calls, breakfast options were overpriced, underserved and had to be sent back: poached eggs floating in water, sausage that could have been sawdust, a sliver of baguette with the eggs, coffee that had been reheated (!!!) from the night before. When I complained about the bitterness of the coffee (we were there at 7 am when they opened), the waiter said "oh ... let me make a fresh pot". Yikes. Our room with two queen beds lacked night stands. The closet space was tiny with insufficient hangars. We learned to avoid the restaurant, to enjoy the wine tastings in the lobby every evening and to make the best of it. There's something brittle about this place that is not to my taste - we won't be back.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank pmjc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2014

This hotel is situated in downtown Napa, so if you are looking for a hotel that has views of the vineyards, this wont work for you. This is not a resort hotel either. But I like the modern/urban designs of the rooms. The staff at this hotel is very friendly and helpful. The outdoor patio in the bak with a bar is pretty cool. I would have given this 5 stars were it not or the fact that there is no spa or pool at this property.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MLDinSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2014

My husband and I celebrated our 13th wedding anniversary in Napa Valley.. good experience all around!
Hotel: We stayed at the Hyatt Andaz which is RIGHT downtown Napa…. Location can’t be beat. You walk out the front door and you are steps away from shops, restaurants, and wine tasting galleries. We had received an email from the hotel a week or so prior to our arrival, and did let them know we were coming in for our anniversary and had never been to Napa. Although many folks on Tripadvisor stated they received upgrades, we did not, however, they did give us a coupon for two free bubbly drinks. The room was spacious (see pictures), and our windows did NOT overlook the terrace bar, but instead the front street (towards Oenotri restaurant). Other than Friday and Saturday nights it was quite loud outside, it was a nice location. There is NO bathtub in the regular rooms, which was a disappointment. Bed was comfortable, snack bar (free Pop chips and granola bars, restocked daily- would suggest you “mix it up a bit” vs. same snacks day after day). Sitting area in room was nice as well; floor to ceiling windows made the room light and bright; and the blackout curtains DO work well. Bathroom is well lit, makeup mirror available. Other than no bathtub, was perfect.
Restaurants: We went to Gracie’s table for a late lunch (Fish tacos were fantastic, I had the Chicken Panini). Both VERY good; total of 3 glasses of wine, two lunch entrees, ~$80
The Pear- on the Riverfront, not quite a mile walk; fantastic location near the old Mill. They’ve done a nice job creating a River walk here with great restaurants, music and coffee/dessert shops. Take a stroll thru the Napa General Store- nice souvenirs, T-shirts and more wine of course. The Pear serves “southern style” foods, think ‘Chicken & Waffles’  We were able to sit on the patio so we could people watch. I had the Black and Bleu salad and my husband had the Voodoo stew (which was supposed to be spicy, he said “meh”). Both were VERY good. Skip dessert- it tasted like something frozen. With 3 glasses of wine, $95 before tip.
Gracies Kitchen- nice little spot a couple of blocks from the hotel. We had a late lunch here one day. My husband had the fish tacos- very good, but skimpy on the Mahi with just one slice per taco. I had the Chicken Panini- the Garlic Aioli really makes this sandwich, along with the perfectly cooked bread. We had 3 glasses of wine in total. We also had the appetizer of Corn bread with lavender honey butter- yum, and a small cup of tomoto soup (big chunks of tomato, very fresh). Total was $80 pre tip.
Hyatt Andaz hotel restaurant- we had breakfast here one morning; we both had eggs, bacon and ‘artisan toast’; coffee/tee, ~$50 before tip (ouch). The bacon was fantastic; ‘Artisan toast’ is just a naming convention for a “very small slice of sourdough bread”. Not enough to enjoy with your eggs.
Gotts: If you walk a mile down First street, you come to a great location called ‘Oxbow’ marketplace. There is a popular restaurant spot on the corner that by morning serves breakfast sandwiches, tacos and French toast and dinner is burgers/tacos/chili, etc. We had breakfast here; scrambled egg/bacon sandwich (toast was fantastic!) and my hubby had a Jalapeno scramble in a taco. Said it was wonderful. With coffee/tea, was $14 before tip. GREAT DEAL!
Azzurro pizzeria: WOW. One of our favorites so far. The crust on this thin pizza was perfectly done. We ordered the “Speck” (Mozzarella & Proscuitto) and had them bring a side of tomato sauce – and we drizzled the tomato sauce on the pizza and it was PERFECT. We each had one glass of wine AND split a wedge salad (bacon on the wedge was amazing); total bill $44 before tip; REALLY good deal as well for Napa.
Norman Rose Tavern- Across the street from Hotel, excellent service, good food; $45 for two burgers, shared fries, one beer and an iced tea.

Attractions:
We did the Wine Train one day and had a very good experience. We selected the ‘Ambassador Tour’ that included lunch and touring two different wineries (Raymond and ZD). This particular trip has you in a dining car (not the Dome car), the meal was pretty good. Husband had filet- cooked perfectly; and I had the Chicken in Avocado cream sauce- a bit blend, but salt and pepper cured that). Since there are two of us, you are seated with another couple (who just happened to be celebrating their anniversary as well), so we ended up having good conversation during our meal. There is a small wine tasting given at the beginning of the meal, you can purchase other types if you wish. As we were doing to tours that afternoon, we skipped on that additional expense. You are then moved to the lounge car and are brought the dessert you ordered (Crème Brulee and a Chocolate/cream dish) and coffee, etc. The train moves very slowly up to St. Helena, at which point, they move the engine car and head back. We stopped at Grgrich Wineries to unload those of us going on the two tours, and were moved to a very nice motorcoach for the remainder of our trip. We proceeded to Raymond wineries- very eclectic winery.. quite fun! We learned a lot about eco friendly winery operations and enjoyed some very good wines. We boarded the bus and headed to ZD- much more formal winery; great tour, wonderful wines and ended that tour sitting on their patio with cheese/bread, sipping the last cab taste. Our tour guide, Susan, was funny as well as knowledgeable and was a nice day. Ticket prices for this tour are $219/person and does NOT include gratuities.

Room Tip: Our room overlooked the street, good view. If you want a bathtub, you will need to ask for an upgra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lea C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Napa
0.5 mi away
The Westin Verasa Napa
0.3 mi away
Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill
0.7 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Napa Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Elm House Inn
2.2 mi away
Napa Valley Marriott Hotel & Spa
7.8 mi away
Hotel Yountville
Hotel Yountville
#1 of 6 in Yountville
1,090 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Andaz Napa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andaz Napa

Address: 1450 First Street, Napa, CA 94559-2843 (Formerly AVIA Napa)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Napa
#2 Romantic Hotel in Napa
#2 Luxury Hotel in Napa
#6 Business Hotel in Napa
Price Range: $222 - $481 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Andaz Napa 4*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Andaz Napa. A fresh, relaxed take on modern travel that embodies the art of living well by infusing local authentic experiences, inspiring design the highest levels of service and a sophisticated sense of place. This lifestyle boutique hotel combines understated elegance with all the enthusiasm of a gracious local host, ideally situated in the heart of downtown Napa. Steps away are various attractions such as world-class wine tasting rooms and restaurants, boutique shopping, art museums, The Napa Valley Opera House, Uptown Theater and much more. The uniqueness of Andaz begins the moment you arrive. An Andaz host will greet you, and can check you in on the way to your room or you can take a moment and enjoy a complimentary beverage in the Andaz lounge while you check in. Our lounge is an open, communal space that replaces the traditional lobby and is perfect for drinks in the evening or a quick coffee in the morning. Our rooms feature luxurious king beds, 9-foot ceilings, hickory hardwood floors, and Eastern White Marble bathrooms with oversized walk-in showers and waterfall shower heads. We also offer complimentary wired and wireless internet, complimentary self-parking and complimentary non-alcoholic beverages and snacks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Andaz Napa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avia Napa Hotel Napa
Avia Hotel Napa
Andaz Napa Napa Valley, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing