We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DISCOVER THE DIFFERENCE THAT IS ANDAZ”
Review of Andaz Napa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Andaz Napa
Ranked #4 of 30 Hotels in Napa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

In celebration of our 17th wedding anniversary we spent a few days in Napa. Much to my surprise I had Hyatt points and was able to book the Andaz Napa. To start, I really enjoy the no front desk where a host greets you and the check in process is relaxing and more like having a chat with friends. We reserved a king bed room and upon opening the door we were surprised by wood laminate flooring and a great view of the 2nd floor terrace. The bathroom is very modern surrounded by marble, linear lines of a raised sink and rain shower.

The one thing when reserving a basic king room, the room is small and not much room for two people. However, your in Napa where one will be out enjoying one of the many restaurants in town. The location is great for walking downtown Napa. The only drawback is if you do not valet, then you self-park in a public garage where you have to schlep your luggage to the hotel. So stop at the front and drop off your luggage then park, or use the valet - lesson learned.

If you get a room on the 2nd floor with windows to the terrace, know there is no privacy. The music was great and if an early to bed person they stop around 10pm. Just realize with the drapes open pedestrians can see inside. Not a big deal but if you enjoy natural light it becomes an issue if concerned while getting dressed. Otherwise, not a big deal. I gave 5 circles for overall, cleanliness, and value; 4's for location (for the parking), rooms (kinda tight in the basic king), and service. Sunday morning was an unrealistic wait to purchase some coffee, and there was not much enthusiasm when the server did show up, the only reason to rate a 4 in service.

Overall, I rate this hotel and associates a 5. This was our first experience with Andaz,what a great experience.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChipsTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,048)
There are newer reviews for Andaz Napa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,250 - 1,256 of 2,048 reviews

Reviewed August 26, 2013

First impression.....this must be a training facility for other Hyatt Hotels. Arriving at the front door and parking next to the Valet Parking sign, we were met with.....nobody.

Unloading our luggage and finding a cart to wheel into the lobby, the young, enthusiastic employee asked the obvious question, "checking in?". The procedure seems to involve use of a tablet computer and offering wine, followed by showing us to our nicely upgraded room. Things appeared to be getting better. Nice suite with a terrace overlooking the Valet Parking sign and First Street. But don't go out on the terrace and close the sliding door behind you. You'll be locked out! Air conditioner is really loud, so recommend sleeping with the windows open instead.

Marble shower with a great rain head and a second hand-held spray, generous counter space, the bathroom was lovely. Until you turn on that second hand-held shower spray and notice water is hitting you in the face leaking out of the hose behind the connection to the shower head. And the wooden bench in the white marble shower has leached the wood stain into the marble. But everything is clean! Well, except the patio furniture on the terrace. We used the wet towels from our shower to clean the table and chairs (wine stained and dusty) .

Room service breakfast to enjoy the outdoor table in the morning was served along with someone else's omelet. And bacon when we ordered sausage. English muffins, but no butter or jam. We called Room Service to let them know we had received a breakfast we didn't order, and needed the extras for our muffins. The staff member who took the call was suitably apologetic and promised someone would be right there. 20 minutes later, still no butter or jam, we phoned to follow up. "Oh, you didn't get it yet?". She indicated she'd be sure we weren't charged for the extra breakfast or the now cold muffins.

After returning from wine tasting, our room had been cleaned, bed made, fresh towels, and that extra breakfast plate was still sitting in the living room. Ironing board still out.

Other attractions include Valet service that answers your call and assures you your car will be there within ten minutes, but is unaware of your call when you appear in the lobby, and who needs help finding the keys (still in the valet stand). And the turndown service, leaving two chocolate squares, closing the curtains, collecting the wet towels....but not replacing them! Or the carefully bundled silverware in the napkins....instead of knife and fork, two knives. Surprise! And it's room service, so it will be twenty minutes to get that fork.

Another day, another patience testing experience with valet parking. After about fifteen minutes waiting in the lobby following the recommended phone call, one of the enthusiastic blazer-clad, tablet wielding employees apologized for the delay and assured us he'd remove the charge for valet parking for the day. Then returned and asked "what room are you in?". We supplied our room number, but the charge remained.

We had three lovely days at the Andaz. Verifying the folio prior to checking out, that $73 charge for breakfast (really should have been closer to $45, with tip, for the two meals we ordered) was still on the bill. However, the cheerful employee on the phone was able to remove the charge before we got downstairs to check out. So some of the training is working!

Enjoy your stay at the Andaz, but we recommend self parking, and check your bill!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Betty L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

We recently stayed at the Andaz for 5 nights. The facilities, decor, and style were interesting, and the entire staff were particularly engaging and attentive. You can walk to just about everything in downtown Napa, including some excellent restaurants and wine tasting rooms, and this was a great home base for visiting wineries in the region.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ken S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Let me preface my review by stating that this hotel is like the best house in a bad neighborhood: it stands out because it does not have a lot of competition. This is not to say that the Hotel is without potential---it recently went through a large renovation, and you can tell it is attempting to re-position itself as a luxury destination brand. My wife and I have been here twice now, and the service and staff competency improved incrementally the second time. The Staff still seems a tad bit overwhelmed and under-trained. They are courteous, but not quite attentive enough.(Our bathroom during our first stay was not clean, despite them spending a lot of money on new granite and stone facades). The best attribute of this Hotel is its central and convenient location in downtown Napa proper. It is walk-able to every restaurant and bar you want to visit. While I hope the service continues to improve, at $400 a night the lack of execution and attention to detail falls short of what one would expect from a true luxury offering.

Room Tip: Top Floors ; Entrance Facing.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Julian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

We recently stayed in one of the loft rooms for 3 nights and my only regret is that we never stayed longer. From the moment we walked in to the hotel we were greeted by a friendly woman who got us a drink and made us feel at home. The room wasn't ready but we went and grabbed lunch and came back to the most lovely room with our bags waiting for us. The mini-bar had free non-alcoholic drinks and snacks which was a great touch. The location was good in Downtown Napa with loads of nice bars and restaurants in close walking distance. I hope we can go back one day soon.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank u34sm3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

In March of 2013 I, my wife and daughter had two rooms at the Andaz. We enjoyed the rooms, staff and the great breakfast each day before beginning our wine tastings. This September the three of us will return and bring another couple who are anxious to stay here after hearing about our trip in March. We find the Andaz location to be excellent for an easy walk to dinning in the evening and a very convenient starting point for the daily winery visits. Around the fire pit late afternoon gives us the chance to share stories of the days activities with a bottle of wine from the tasting room. The couple we are bringing honeymooned in Napa over 35 years ago and this will be the fist return for them. Talk about excited, all five of us are pumped and looking forward to our stay.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mikethepike67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

At 400.00USD a night you would have expected them to feed you frozen grapes. From the moment upon check-in the staff was confused and un-coordinated to say the least. The rooms were adequate but certainly not worth the price. Aside from free non-alcoholic beverages in the room nothing special. I guess it was nice that every time I returned through the hotel lobby people said welcome back but it became nauseating especially when it was the same greeter twice within two minutes. Furthermore upon checkout they attempted to overcharge us by 90.00 USD for various reasons but when challenged they corrected their errors. Breakfast was delicious but service was wanting with very little managerial coordination but plenty of business speak when complaints were made due to unreasonable conditions. The pluses of this hotel are its location in downtown Napa. The bathrooms in the rooms are spacious and the breakfast foods are delicious. Aside from these amenities, I suspect you can do better elsewhere for the price. For instance, after our stay at Andaz we spent two nights at the Napa Winery Inn ten minutes up the valley for 275.00USD per night and with all things considered, were equally satisfied.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sigichloe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Napa
0.5 mi away
The Westin Verasa Napa
0.3 mi away
Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill
7.8 mi away
Hotel Yountville
Hotel Yountville
#2 of 6 in Yountville
1,063 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Napa Valley Marriott Hotel & Spa
8.1 mi away
Villagio Inn and Spa
Villagio Inn and Spa
#6 of 6 in Yountville
924 reviews
0.6 mi away
River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Andaz Napa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andaz Napa

Address: 1450 First Street, Napa, CA 94559-2843 (Formerly AVIA Napa)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Napa
#2 Romantic Hotel in Napa
#2 Luxury Hotel in Napa
#4 Family Hotel in Napa
#6 Business Hotel in Napa
Price Range: $275 - $908 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Andaz Napa 4*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Andaz Napa. A fresh, relaxed take on modern travel that embodies the art of living well by infusing local authentic experiences, inspiring design the highest levels of service and a sophisticated sense of place. This lifestyle boutique hotel combines understated elegance with all the enthusiasm of a gracious local host, ideally situated in the heart of downtown Napa. Steps away are various attractions such as world-class wine tasting rooms and restaurants, boutique shopping, art museums, The Napa Valley Opera House, Uptown Theater and much more. The uniqueness of Andaz begins the moment you arrive. An Andaz host will greet you, and can check you in on the way to your room or you can take a moment and enjoy a complimentary beverage in the Andaz lounge while you check in. Our lounge is an open, communal space that replaces the traditional lobby and is perfect for drinks in the evening or a quick coffee in the morning. Our rooms feature luxurious king beds, 9-foot ceilings, hickory hardwood floors, and Eastern White Marble bathrooms with oversized walk-in showers and waterfall shower heads. We also offer complimentary wired and wireless internet, complimentary self-parking and complimentary non-alcoholic beverages and snacks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Andaz Napa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avia Napa Hotel Napa
Avia Hotel Napa
Andaz Napa Napa Valley, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing