We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel in the heart of Napa”
Review of Andaz Napa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Andaz Napa
Ranked #4 of 30 Hotels in Napa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Spent two nights here recently and got a bargain through Jetsetter. We had a standard room which is huge by hotel standards. Had a sitting area with couch, counter, snacks and refrigerator. The TV turns so it can be viewed from the bedroom area or the sitting area. The bathroom is also big and beautiful with nice bath amenities (shampoo, conditioner, lotion, etc.) Really nice rainfall shower head in shower. Check in is interesting as there are people mulling about the lobby with iPads versus the standard check in. We were offered wine as we checked in and they always have delicious water with citrus or cucumbers available. Someone is almost always there to open the door for you as well. We didn't eat in the restaurant or use the bar but both were mostly busy as were were coming and going. Had the best 2 nights sleep of our trip here...very comfy beds. Definitely within walking distance of many great restaurants. Avoid room 304 as it overlooks a cement wall.

Room Tip: Avoid 304 if you are looking for a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TCento
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,064)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,390 - 1,396 of 2,064 reviews

Reviewed February 21, 2013

Our 2nd time at the Andaz in Napa. The location is great for walking around downtown Napa, and easy to get to restaurants and wineries. Check in was easy and no waiting in long check in or check out lines, they have you wait on comfortable chairs and come to you! Happy hour, massages, and wine tasting are just a few of the special touches, but our favorite is the fire pit on the 2nd floor terrace. Sitting around with friends and drinking wine with the warmth of the fire, was a perfect way to end a wonderful day. The staff is attentive and friendly. They helped with any question, need, or issue that came up with total professionalism. The rooms are modern and comfortable. We will be back to the Andaz.

Room Tip: Ask for the AAA rate!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Candi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

What a beautiful hotel !!!! great rooms,romantic place and very attentive staff.Always smiling always helpfull i reccomend this hyatt to all of you.
Every day in the lobby it was offered a free wine testing ....

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alessandro1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

We stayed three nights at this nice hotel in downtown Napa. I reserved our room through Hyatt's website and I couldn't beat the price ($179) with AAA discount that included breakfast each morning. I was impressed with the check-in process, which was easy and informal with a glass of wine. As others have mentioned, there is wine tasting in the lobby 5-6pm.

We stopped at the concierge for recommendations on wineries before heading out to Napa Valley. Pamela gave great suggestions and gave us a free tasting coupon for a winery. It was the weekend after Valentines, so she told us about wineries offering wine w/chocolate tastings.

We had a huge corner bedroom suite with large windows overlooking First Street. I thought the view was nice, and I saw a sunrise from over the mountains. The location of hotel was convenient to walk to Napa Riverfront, The Uptown Theatre, and the Wine Train station.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LizLosAngeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

OK, it ain’t easy getting old so I tend to surround myself with people younger than I (which is pretty much everybody these days!), both for their energy and to be reminded what being young was all about, namely the “possibilities.” The Andaz Napa is about “young” in the best sense of the word. Young with that sense of possibility, young with looking at tradition in a new way. Sure, for some of us change is not easy but change happens and best embrace than fight it. At the Andaz Napa the hotel experience changes the moment you enter the door. The Andaz credo is to welcome its guests as one would do so into a home rather than into a formal hotel. No queuing up at the registration counter, for example. As you have read in the other reviews, the check-in is efficient but not traditional, the lobby is pleasant but not traditional, the staff hugely accommodating but in a very non-traditional way. The good news, however, is that the rooms themselves are very much traditional – big comfortable beds, big spacious bathrooms, big flat-screen TV’s, complimentary strong wi-fi, complimentary non-alcoholic munchies from the mini-bar. The truly unfortunate experience of one reviewer must be seen as the exception to rather than the rule at this property. Me, I found much to like: the friendly and helpful staff, the convenient location near several excellent restaurants, the free self-parking, the quality and size of the rooms. From the Andaz you will get what you expect, an absolutely quality hotel experience; but you will also get some enchanting surprises during your stay – the enjoyment of a unique and (usually) delightful way of a destination doing the “hotel dance” on behalf of its guests.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SantaFeB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

My wife and I enjoyed an awesome 3 night stay at the Andaz. We could find multiple restaurants, bars, and tasting rooms within a 2 or 3 block radius of the hotel. But maybe the best restaurant, bar and tasting room are within the hotel. The breakfasts at the hotel restaurant were awesome every morning, the bar rocks at night (especially Saturday happy hours) and there's a great tasting room open late in to the evening adjacent to the lobby. On Saturday, the hotel had free wine tasting and chair massages in the lobby.
The Andaz Large Loft room we stayed in had a nice double-sided fireplace, a flat screen for the bedroom and another flat screen for the living room. A large soaking tub was adjacent to the bed and the bathroom included a great rain-shower shower-head and double sinks.
The staff was attentive always aiming to please. The concierge service was fantastic, helping us book both restaurants and tours. You can park for free in the clay avenue garage around back, and the hotel provided us with passes to the adjacent health club.
Napa is a great location as a base for a winery trip. About 5 minutes away begins many of the 450 wineries within the Napa Valley. Another 5 minutes away in Yountsville and Rutherford. Bit don't hesitate to stay in napa, because it looked like it had more non-winery places than the other towns people stay in.
Kudos to Andaz Napa!!!!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dalsemer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

We booked Andaz via Hyatt points. We didn't have high hopes, as well are not large hotel fans. Andaz is a boutique hotel, not a big box. It had lovely design & a great staff. Our room, was a king corner, with huge round windows. While there isn't a view, it was nice to have so much light in the room. There was complimentary beverages in the frig, always a bonus. We would def. return to this hotel! My only complain, is really soft BEDS

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChristinePhoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Napa
0.5 mi away
The Westin Verasa Napa
0.3 mi away
Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill
8.1 mi away
Villagio Inn and Spa
Villagio Inn and Spa
#6 of 6 in Yountville
927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Hotel Yountville
Hotel Yountville
#2 of 6 in Yountville
1,071 reviews
2.2 mi away
Napa Valley Marriott Hotel & Spa
8.3 mi away
Bardessono
Bardessono
#3 of 6 in Yountville
1,326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Andaz Napa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andaz Napa

Address: 1450 First Street, Napa, CA 94559-2843 (Formerly AVIA Napa)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Napa
#2 Luxury Hotel in Napa
#2 Romantic Hotel in Napa
#4 Family Hotel in Napa
#6 Business Hotel in Napa
Price Range: $257 - $827 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Andaz Napa 4*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Andaz Napa. A fresh, relaxed take on modern travel that embodies the art of living well by infusing local authentic experiences, inspiring design the highest levels of service and a sophisticated sense of place. This lifestyle boutique hotel combines understated elegance with all the enthusiasm of a gracious local host, ideally situated in the heart of downtown Napa. Steps away are various attractions such as world-class wine tasting rooms and restaurants, boutique shopping, art museums, The Napa Valley Opera House, Uptown Theater and much more. The uniqueness of Andaz begins the moment you arrive. An Andaz host will greet you, and can check you in on the way to your room or you can take a moment and enjoy a complimentary beverage in the Andaz lounge while you check in. Our lounge is an open, communal space that replaces the traditional lobby and is perfect for drinks in the evening or a quick coffee in the morning. Our rooms feature luxurious king beds, 9-foot ceilings, hickory hardwood floors, and Eastern White Marble bathrooms with oversized walk-in showers and waterfall shower heads. We also offer complimentary wired and wireless internet, complimentary self-parking and complimentary non-alcoholic beverages and snacks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Andaz Napa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avia Napa Hotel Napa
Avia Hotel Napa
Andaz Napa Napa Valley, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing