We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful trip!”
Review of Andaz Napa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Andaz Napa
Ranked #4 of 30 Hotels in Napa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
England
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Wonderful trip!”
Reviewed February 5, 2013

Our second trip to Napa since 2010 and we were so pleased at this new, updated downtown hotel! Right in the middle of everything and we couldn't have been more pleased. My husband and I are huge golfers so they even made reservations for us at the surrounding golf courses, with the exception of Silverado, as it's now "private?" What? WE didn't let it ruin our time, though and played lots of great courses in the Napa area. New restaurants abound and we had a fantastic time. We'll be back in a year or so. Thanks!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raj S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,919 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,259
    485
    113
    38
    24
See reviews for
164
1,247
34
134
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (341)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Very cool hotel in downtown Napa. Staff is very friendly with a laid back feel. There isn't a typical front desk. You are greeted in the lobby by a staff member with an iPad to check-in. We were always welcomed back to the hotel by a smiling face. The 2 king beds are uncommon to find in a double room, but appreciated. As a result, the room feels smaller. The bathroom is large with a rain shower head or handheld shower head that affixes to the wall. Very nice. Only complaint is that the door handle to bathroom is showing wear. The wood floor is popping up in spots and seems worn as well. The common outdoor area is beautiful. With two large fire pit, there is plenty of room to enjoy a bottle of wine alone or make new friends.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kimberly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheboygan, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
106 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2013

I am a Platinum Hyatt member and am thrilled that are starting the Andaz line, their new boutique line, capitalizing on the popularity of the Kimpton brand with free refreshements throughout the day & wine tasting hour in the lobby and free snacks and nonalcoholic beverage in the rooms.

I love the open floorplan first floor that flows from lobby to concierge to bar to restaurant. I love the Farmer's Table Restaurant that was themed and stylish rather than kitschy. Had breakfast there twice. The oatmeal was the best I have ever had.

By far the best part is their 5 star service! There are always plenty of people around asking if you need help. I arrived after 11pm (1am my midwest time) with 2 sleeping young kids. We were planning to use the free self parking but they offered complementary valet for the night..NICE TOUCH!

A little bit to be aware: most of their "suites" are loft which may be difficult if you want to stay awake after your kids fall asleep.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank foodie007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
37 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2013

I'm delighted that so many other Tripadvisor users were highly impressed with the Andaz Napa. We just returned from a stay in one of their loft suites and, while the service was pleasant enough, we were by and large underwhelmed by the hotel. The decor (particularly in the upstairs hallways) seemed a little cheap (mirrors hanging askew and unpolished on ropes), bottles were left strewn on the floor outside rooms all day, a cart with tools (for painting, I think) sat unattended outside the elevator all morning. Our suite had a great tub but was nothing all that special. The view was the roof of another building. It's nice that the hotel stocks the rooms with complimentary non-alchoholic drinks and lots of little snacks. Something fantastic: Bistro Sabor down the road. Great place to grab lunch. We regularly stay at Hyatt properties and will most certainly do so at other hotels in other cities in the future. The next time we head to Napa for the weekend we'll be checking out other b&bs and hotels.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 849Susan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxnard, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013 via mobile

The Andaz in Napa truly offers everything you could possibly want in a hotel. The Andaz is located in a great and safe area close to shopping and restaurants. Most wineries in the Napa Valley are a 15-30 minute drive, so don't expect to be able to walk to the big name wineries. The parking for the hotel is in a public parking garage directly behind the Andaz. The hotel guest parking begins on level 3. The check in process was great with the complimentary glass of wine and the casual check in where you sit on a couch/chair and the hotel staff come to you and check you in with their iPads. From our very first encounter with the staff to the last upon checkout, everyone was great and made us feel welcome. We were pleasantly surprised to learn we had received a complimentary upgrade to an Andaz Large Loft room. This so rarely happens these days even when rooms are available in other properties. The room was large with a small bar and refrigerator attached to the nicely appointed living area. The living area had big windows looking out to the street in front of the hotel. There was also a nice size HD tv hung on the wall above the fireplace. The bed in the bedroom was a king but felt larger than a regular king. The mattress was so comfortable. Something of which we aren't used to even in other hotels where they claim their beds are the best. The bedroom also has large windows looking out to the street. There was another HD tv above the fireplace in the bedroom and a large tub open to the bedroom that can get a little privacy by a somewhat see through curtain. Both rooms had hard wood floors which was a nice touch. The bathroom was massive in hotel terms with double sinks a separate toilet area and a very large rain head shower with beautiful tile/marble throughout the bathroom. The complimentary snacks and non/alcoholic beverages in the small refrigerator and bar's countertop in the room was so great, something you don't find very often. We did not get a chance to try the restaurant, but you can take a short cut through it to get to the parking garage. The Andaz is one of the best hotel experiences we have ever had and we will return!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MoreTripsPlease
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013 via mobile

I thought the hotel was just great! I was only there a day, but would have loved to have had a meal in the restaurant or hung out by the fire, sipped wine at the bar. The hotel is located amongst shops and restaurants so very easy to get a taste of town!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank off2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camas, Washington
Level Contributor
93 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2013

We've had the pleasure of staying at a few amazing places in Napa Valley but Andaz is NOT one of those places! When planning our Xmas vacation to Napa, we read on the Andaz website that they were renovating through 12/19 and that they are "100% pet free". Since we weren't arriving until 12/24, the renovations should be finished & not effect our stay. From the moment we walked into the modern, un-welcoming climate of the lobby...we were confused and walked right by the check-in area. We watched as most guests did the same! LOL! There isn't a check-in desk, just this open bar that appears to be a "self help" counter with some computers out in the open. Finally, a girl in jeans came out from a back room & offered to assist. The vibe Andaz is trying for is very "Restoration Hardware", which is beautiful & clean. However, the Andaz is lacking a personal, human touch & it just feels cold & stuffy. The young lady who checked us in had an accent & was very hard to understand. The language barrier didn't work in our favor. Due to the new layout, there's no privacy & everyone standing around looking at the computer screen with your personal info on it. On a side note, we witnessed another guest bring her Lhasa Apso lap dog right through the lobby & go up the elevator! When we asked a staff member, she assured us that the hotel was "100% pet free" (we have pet allergies) and she was told that guest's animal was a handicap assistant dog! Good one, LOL!! Anyway, we'd been traveling for a while with other hotels placing a hold of large sums of money on our credit card. In addition, we had an emergency during our travels & some unforeseen charges over the weekend. Monday was Christmas Eve, when we were checking into the Andaz & all banks were closed early. The check-in clerk made a scene when she couldn't get our credit card to charge the entire stay, plus any incidentals. She made us feel like less than her caliber of clientele & we were horrified by her attitude! She finally got her manager & thankfully, he was kind to us. We had more than enough cash on us to pay for all charges & explained that once we could get a hold of our bank (after Christmas) it would all be fine. He completely understood, promised that he would note the conversation on our account & that our credit card wouldn't be charged (not to add to the ordeal) until the day after Xmas. Perfect! We needed some Christmas spirit & human kindness after driving for 10 hours! We were glad to head up to our room & relax. But, then were so shocked when the room we entered wasn't cleaned yet. Back downstairs to the manager, we went to try to resolve our room situation. The "once kind manager" was now acting like we were a nuisance (like we had nothing else to do while on vacation?!?) and he moved us from our "requested 'quiet but unclean' room" to one overlooking a parking garage. We were so tired & frustrated that we didn't care. We settled in, the room seemed really nice and the hotel was within walking distance to many places. So, we thought we were on our way to a good time. On Christmas evening, most places were closed for dinner. Although there was some confusion by staff, about the hotel's restaurant being open, we decided to stay in & order room service by the romantic fireplace. When we got our food it was cold & had a huge surprise! Once I took a bite of my salad, I learned that the chef forgot to pit the olives!! I bit down on an olive pit so hard, I thought I cracked my tooth! My husband was furious & took my plate back down to the chef. Of course, they were apologetic & offered to take our entire meal off of the bill. However, hard to believe that type of mistake from one of the best culinary areas in the country!! The next day we awoke to the loud noise of construction. Apparently, the renovations of this hotel were still going on the week of Christmas vacation. Right below our window, they were completely re-doing the patio. We had to listen to them sanding the decks, saws & hammering! The hotel was full, no where to move us & we didn't really want to take our precious vacation time to deal with it. So, we just got up early & got out. On our way through the lobby, that same check-in clerk accosted my husband. She shouted from across the room "Mr Smith, what are we going to do about your credit card that won't go through?!?" We were mortified by her lack of customer service & professionalism! My hubby put our stay on another credit card & when he expressed his disapproval in her un-confidentiality, she got rude & argued with him. Where did Andaz find this staff member & how does she still have a job there? Low standards? Once we got things in order with our bank, we decided to cut our stay at the Andaz short by two days. At check-out, the same rude clerk with the accent helped us. She disputed the meal that was supposed to be removed from our bill but still on there. As well as the $17 dollar a night parking charges. No where on their website could we find anything about a parking charge, nor was it ever explained to us beforehand. To top things off, my hubby stood around for about 20 minutes waiting for a bell-hop to assist us with check out, while he watched all available staff waiting hand & foot on one couple while all other guests just had to wait. My husband got a cart, we got our things by ourselves & we were preferred that to dealing with another rude staff member. What a shame about this place and we won't be back there again!

Room Tip: Choose another hotel!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DaMacAttack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndazNapaManagement, General Manager at Andaz Napa, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear DaMacAttack ,

Thank you again for taking the time to write about our property. While I understand you had the opportunity to speak with managers from the team throughout your stay, we are reaching out to personally apologize again for the less than acceptable stay you and your guest had. Understanding not only from your comments on TripAdvisor, but also your letter to the property earlier this year, please know that we are doing everything possible to improve on our current condition.

Transitioning from the Avia Napa hotel to an Andaz property has been a challenge. The Andaz brand is a very unique and special brand and the renovation took a bit longer than expected and while we can say we are very proud of the results, we are sorry that your stay was less than expected.

We pride ourselves on providing optimal service and always look to improve. Knowing that the managers of this team have done their best while you were our guest, if there is anything that we may do, over and above, to be of any assistance to make this situation better, we look forward to being at your service once again. Please feel free to contact us directly at the hotel as you have done before for any further assistance.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Napa
0.3 mi away
Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill
0.5 mi away
The Westin Verasa Napa
8.3 mi away
Bardessono
Bardessono
#2 of 6 in Yountville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Hotel Yountville
Hotel Yountville
#1 of 6 in Yountville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,033 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Elm House Inn
0.6 mi away
River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Andaz Napa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andaz Napa

Property: Andaz Napa
Address: 1450 First Street, Napa, CA 94559-2843 (Formerly AVIA Napa)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Napa
#2 Luxury Hotel in Napa
#2 Romantic Hotel in Napa
#4 Family Hotel in Napa
#6 Business Hotel in Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Andaz Napa 4*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Andaz Napa. A fresh, relaxed take on modern travel that embodies the art of living well by infusing local authentic experiences, inspiring design the highest levels of service and a sophisticated sense of place. This lifestyle boutique hotel combines understated elegance with all the enthusiasm of a gracious local host, ideally situated in the heart of downtown Napa. Steps away are various attractions such as world-class wine tasting rooms and restaurants, boutique shopping, art museums, The Napa Valley Opera House, Uptown Theater and much more. The uniqueness of Andaz begins the moment you arrive. An Andaz host will greet you, and can check you in on the way to your room or you can take a moment and enjoy a complimentary beverage in the Andaz lounge while you check in. Our lounge is an open, communal space that replaces the traditional lobby and is perfect for drinks in the evening or a quick coffee in the morning. Our rooms feature luxurious king beds, 9-foot ceilings, hickory hardwood floors, and Eastern White Marble bathrooms with oversized walk-in showers and waterfall shower heads. We also offer complimentary wired and wireless internet, complimentary self-parking and complimentary non-alcoholic beverages and snacks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Andaz Napa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avia Napa Hotel Napa
Avia Hotel Napa
Andaz Napa Napa Valley, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing