We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great downtown Napa boutique-type hotel”
Review of Andaz Napa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Andaz Napa
Ranked #4 of 30 Hotels in Napa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
fresno, california
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Great downtown Napa boutique-type hotel”
Reviewed October 13, 2012

My husband and I had never stayed at Andaz before this visit. The hotel is very modern in style, and yet welcoming. The location is terrific - walking distance to many restaurants and wine tasting rooms. The rooms are chic, but compact. The bed was comfy and the bathroom roomy. We took a bottle of wine out to the 2nd floor fire pit, which was very enjoyable - and plenty toasty! We loved our stay and will surely return!

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank basquefam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,987 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,296
    501
    124
    42
    24
See reviews for
171
1,289
36
142
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (349)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2012

This hotel makes you feel important the minute you walk into the door. We were greeted immediately at the door and checked in. The hotel attendants used Ipads so there were no lines. The hotel staff was very friendly and attentive. This is a great location because it is located in downtown Napa, withing walking distance of everything!

The beds are AWESOME! Best night sleep!

Room Tip: I think all the rooms would be great. The beds are awesome! Wish I knew where to buy one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank workingfortheweekend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2012

My husband and I spent four nights at Andaz on our honeymoon. It was our first time in Napa and it was wonderful. Everyone at Andaz was friendly, the room was clean, and the bed was super comfy. It was a quiet hotel and it gave us a relaxing honeymoon.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Devon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

First trip to Napa with 12 of our friends. Great location in downtown Napa. Rooms are a bit small but very well appointed. Big bathroom with huge walk in shower. All staff extremely friendly and dedicated to your comfort and satisfaction. The second floor terrace is really cool with plenty of seating and multiple fire pits. If you eat breakfast here, you should try the steel cut oatmeal or the chicken hash. Both were outstanding. Well done property!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JamesonPowers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

We stayed the first week of October. First time at the hotel. My husband and I had a great experience. The location is great for walking around at night - close to many great restaurants. The room was larger than I expected. There is only a shower - no tub. It has a wonderful rain shower is you prefer. Parking is free. If you choose self park, it's a small walk but not bad. Can't think of any negatives expect we tried several times before we were able to get a spot at the bonfire in the evening. That is a wonderful extra that the hotel offers.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KKCanada1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Having been to the Napa area several times, I wanted to stay a little further north. Because of the busy harvest season, my husband and I could only find a hotel in downtown Napa - the Andaz. What a wonderful choice it was!! The hotel is absolutely immaculate. The service is on-par with some of the 5 stars we've stayed at in Europe and New York. At check in, they gave my husband and me a glass of wine and told us to have a seat while they checked us in on an iPad. What could be better than checking in, after a long trip, with a glass of wine and lounging on the couch? The housekeeping was excellent - our room looked fabulous each day when we came home and the bed was soooooooo comfortable. We had drinks at the bar a few nights as well. The wine selection was excellent and the specialty cocktails were very speakeasy-esque. We ate breakfast at the hotel and were pleasantly surprised. The juices and muffins were fantastic. My husband had the french toast and LOVED it. The only thing I'll comment on (more for the hotels benefit) is that they really need to train their servers a little better. The service was REALLY slow and I had to ask for a glass of water 3 times. Since we weren't in a rush, I didn't mind as much but this is the only negative I would mention about our entire experience.

Another excellent pro to this hotel is how close it is to downtown. We planned several dinners at the newly revitalized downtown Napa and were thrilled to be able to walk to dinner each night. It's also 3 blocks from the Silverado trail making getting to the wineries a breeze! The downtown area is much different than it was 3 years ago when we stayed there last. There are more restaurants, bars, coffee shops and stores. I definitely am more of a St. Helena, Rutherford, Calistoga girl - but this gorgeous hotel and it's proximity to fabulous restaurants has me rethinking staying further north.

A few tips - definitely try to grab a drink at the bar and go to the second floor. There are fabulous firepits outside where you can enjoy a cocktail in the fresh air by a warm fire. The non-alcoholic drinks in the mini bar are complimentary so definitely take advantage of that. Parking is free but if you use the valet, they charge you $17 a day. We were not made aware of that when we checked in. Not a huge deal, since we were on vacation and the valet was a really nice perk. Last, there is a Starbucks a few blocks down the road. Across from there is a coffee shop, I believe it's called the Napa Valley Coffee Shop or something like that. It's a mom and pop shop that serves AMAZING coffee and pastries and could really use everyone's business.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank justinnessa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murfressboro TN
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012

My husband and I have been to Napa six times over the last seven years. This was by far our favorite trip and favorite hotel! I chose it because I try to always stay at Hyatt properties,but what a wonderful surprise this hotel was. Not only was it in a great location for our wine vacation the service and staff were awesome. We were warmly greeted upon arrival Any request we had or issue were promptly taken care of. The restaurant was great and food was very good. The terrace in the evening was a perfect place to end your day. The hotel is within walking distance of many great restaurants too. We plan to stay here next year when we return to Napa. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nowinebeforeitstime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Napa
0.5 mi away
The Westin Verasa Napa
0.3 mi away
Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Elm House Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Hotel Yountville
Hotel Yountville
#1 of 6 in Yountville
1,047 reviews
8.3 mi away
Bardessono
Bardessono
#2 of 6 in Yountville
1,300 reviews
0.6 mi away
River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Andaz Napa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andaz Napa

Property: Andaz Napa
Address: 1450 First Street, Napa, CA 94559-2843 (Formerly AVIA Napa)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Napa
#2 Romantic Hotel in Napa
#2 Luxury Hotel in Napa
#4 Family Hotel in Napa
#6 Business Hotel in Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Andaz Napa 4*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Andaz Napa. A fresh, relaxed take on modern travel that embodies the art of living well by infusing local authentic experiences, inspiring design the highest levels of service and a sophisticated sense of place. This lifestyle boutique hotel combines understated elegance with all the enthusiasm of a gracious local host, ideally situated in the heart of downtown Napa. Steps away are various attractions such as world-class wine tasting rooms and restaurants, boutique shopping, art museums, The Napa Valley Opera House, Uptown Theater and much more. The uniqueness of Andaz begins the moment you arrive. An Andaz host will greet you, and can check you in on the way to your room or you can take a moment and enjoy a complimentary beverage in the Andaz lounge while you check in. Our lounge is an open, communal space that replaces the traditional lobby and is perfect for drinks in the evening or a quick coffee in the morning. Our rooms feature luxurious king beds, 9-foot ceilings, hickory hardwood floors, and Eastern White Marble bathrooms with oversized walk-in showers and waterfall shower heads. We also offer complimentary wired and wireless internet, complimentary self-parking and complimentary non-alcoholic beverages and snacks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Andaz Napa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avia Napa Hotel Napa
Avia Hotel Napa
Andaz Napa Napa Valley, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing