We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New York city size rooms with great service”
Review of Andaz Napa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Andaz Napa
Ranked #4 of 30 Hotels in Napa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
South Florida, Florida
Level Contributor
126 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“New York city size rooms with great service”
Reviewed October 11, 2012

First trip to Napa with 12 of our friends. Great location in downtown Napa. Rooms are a bit small but very well appointed. Big bathroom with huge walk in shower. All staff extremely friendly and dedicated to your comfort and satisfaction. The second floor terrace is really cool with plenty of seating and multiple fire pits. If you eat breakfast here, you should try the steel cut oatmeal or the chicken hash. Both were outstanding. Well done property!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JamesonPowers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,953 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,275
    491
    122
    41
    24
See reviews for
169
1,267
35
138
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (346)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level Contributor
67 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

We stayed the first week of October. First time at the hotel. My husband and I had a great experience. The location is great for walking around at night - close to many great restaurants. The room was larger than I expected. There is only a shower - no tub. It has a wonderful rain shower is you prefer. Parking is free. If you choose self park, it's a small walk but not bad. Can't think of any negatives expect we tried several times before we were able to get a spot at the bonfire in the evening. That is a wonderful extra that the hotel offers.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KKCanada1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Having been to the Napa area several times, I wanted to stay a little further north. Because of the busy harvest season, my husband and I could only find a hotel in downtown Napa - the Andaz. What a wonderful choice it was!! The hotel is absolutely immaculate. The service is on-par with some of the 5 stars we've stayed at in Europe and New York. At check in, they gave my husband and me a glass of wine and told us to have a seat while they checked us in on an iPad. What could be better than checking in, after a long trip, with a glass of wine and lounging on the couch? The housekeeping was excellent - our room looked fabulous each day when we came home and the bed was soooooooo comfortable. We had drinks at the bar a few nights as well. The wine selection was excellent and the specialty cocktails were very speakeasy-esque. We ate breakfast at the hotel and were pleasantly surprised. The juices and muffins were fantastic. My husband had the french toast and LOVED it. The only thing I'll comment on (more for the hotels benefit) is that they really need to train their servers a little better. The service was REALLY slow and I had to ask for a glass of water 3 times. Since we weren't in a rush, I didn't mind as much but this is the only negative I would mention about our entire experience.

Another excellent pro to this hotel is how close it is to downtown. We planned several dinners at the newly revitalized downtown Napa and were thrilled to be able to walk to dinner each night. It's also 3 blocks from the Silverado trail making getting to the wineries a breeze! The downtown area is much different than it was 3 years ago when we stayed there last. There are more restaurants, bars, coffee shops and stores. I definitely am more of a St. Helena, Rutherford, Calistoga girl - but this gorgeous hotel and it's proximity to fabulous restaurants has me rethinking staying further north.

A few tips - definitely try to grab a drink at the bar and go to the second floor. There are fabulous firepits outside where you can enjoy a cocktail in the fresh air by a warm fire. The non-alcoholic drinks in the mini bar are complimentary so definitely take advantage of that. Parking is free but if you use the valet, they charge you $17 a day. We were not made aware of that when we checked in. Not a huge deal, since we were on vacation and the valet was a really nice perk. Last, there is a Starbucks a few blocks down the road. Across from there is a coffee shop, I believe it's called the Napa Valley Coffee Shop or something like that. It's a mom and pop shop that serves AMAZING coffee and pastries and could really use everyone's business.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank justinnessa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murfressboro TN
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012

My husband and I have been to Napa six times over the last seven years. This was by far our favorite trip and favorite hotel! I chose it because I try to always stay at Hyatt properties,but what a wonderful surprise this hotel was. Not only was it in a great location for our wine vacation the service and staff were awesome. We were warmly greeted upon arrival Any request we had or issue were promptly taken care of. The restaurant was great and food was very good. The terrace in the evening was a perfect place to end your day. The hotel is within walking distance of many great restaurants too. We plan to stay here next year when we return to Napa. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nowinebeforeitstime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mandeville,la
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Great Hotel! If you can try to get the Vinter's Suite---just wonderful--lovely,huge balcony. The service at this hotel was superb. Lcated in the heart of Napa ,within walking distance to restaurants and shops

Room Tip: Vinter's suite is fabulous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Madeleine N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
savannah
Level Contributor
48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Sometimes you actually get what you pay for. If you want a clean, chique hotel in heart of Napa, this is the place. Staff goes out of their way to make sure we are happy and well informed of local events and happenings. We would stay here again without a doubt. We tried booking spa resorts in Calistoga and surrounding areas, but I started looking too late this year. We are extremely pleased staying at the Andaz, and price is reasonable for the area. This is Napa, can't expect Red Roof Inn rates for this beautiful area. The Andaz is within walking distance to everything in heart of downtown, and a downtown Napa is very clean and well landscaped. We worried about noise having room facing front of hotel, but had quiet nights sleeping, no real traffic during the night.

And the bed was so comfortable!!!!!!

Room Tip: Book early, request room not adjacent to terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yhhSavannah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elm Grove, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

We recently stayed at the Hotel Andaz for four nights from Sept 20-24. This was our 2nd stay at the hotel with the last stay being two years ago right after it opened as the Avia. Other then the lobby and the 2nd fire pit added to the outdoor patio the hotel looked basically the same. One difference was in the staff. We did notice there were more staff members onsite and they were very willing and eager to assist in anyway possible. The staff was young for the most part but that really didn't bother us. As many folks have stated the location in downtown is quite prime with numerous restaurants in walking distance. We had hoped to stay further north this trip but really couldn't find anything for the price point that compared with this property. Beds are super comfy and the rooms are very chic with very nice bathrooms. The street in front of the hotel is a bit noisy at times, especially if you have a street facing room and happen to like leaving a window cracked. All in all we enjoyed our stay and would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Ask the front desk for wine tasting passes... they have many good discounts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Napa
0.5 mi away
The Westin Verasa Napa
0.3 mi away
Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Elm House Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Bardessono
Bardessono
#2 of 6 in Yountville
1,294 reviews
7.8 mi away
Hotel Yountville
Hotel Yountville
#1 of 6 in Yountville
1,040 reviews
0.6 mi away
River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Andaz Napa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andaz Napa

Property: Andaz Napa
Address: 1450 First Street, Napa, CA 94559-2843 (Formerly AVIA Napa)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Napa
#2 Luxury Hotel in Napa
#2 Romantic Hotel in Napa
#4 Family Hotel in Napa
#6 Business Hotel in Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Andaz Napa 4*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Andaz Napa. A fresh, relaxed take on modern travel that embodies the art of living well by infusing local authentic experiences, inspiring design the highest levels of service and a sophisticated sense of place. This lifestyle boutique hotel combines understated elegance with all the enthusiasm of a gracious local host, ideally situated in the heart of downtown Napa. Steps away are various attractions such as world-class wine tasting rooms and restaurants, boutique shopping, art museums, The Napa Valley Opera House, Uptown Theater and much more. The uniqueness of Andaz begins the moment you arrive. An Andaz host will greet you, and can check you in on the way to your room or you can take a moment and enjoy a complimentary beverage in the Andaz lounge while you check in. Our lounge is an open, communal space that replaces the traditional lobby and is perfect for drinks in the evening or a quick coffee in the morning. Our rooms feature luxurious king beds, 9-foot ceilings, hickory hardwood floors, and Eastern White Marble bathrooms with oversized walk-in showers and waterfall shower heads. We also offer complimentary wired and wireless internet, complimentary self-parking and complimentary non-alcoholic beverages and snacks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Andaz Napa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avia Napa Hotel Napa
Avia Hotel Napa
Andaz Napa Napa Valley, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing