We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern gem in Napa”
Review of Andaz Napa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Andaz Napa
Ranked #4 of 30 Hotels in Napa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
“Modern gem in Napa”
Reviewed March 19, 2011

An excellent experience from beginning to end. Smart and modern decor, very comfortable. Service was outstanding, concierge knowledgeable and very helpful. Restaurant underutilized--food was very good and service attentive. Location provides easy access to wineries while offering shops and restaurants in close proximity to the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EastCoastVisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AVIANapaGM, General Manager at Andaz Napa, responded to this review, April 13, 2011
Dear Valued Guest,

We are so pleased to read you had an excellent experience from beginning to end. Thank you for the nice comments related to the décor and helpful staff. We hope you will stay with us the next time you are in Napa.

In hospitality,
Kristine Youngberg, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,011 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,310
    507
    126
    43
    25
See reviews for
179
1,301
36
144
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (353)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2011

We stayed here for two nights on the spur of the moment after another hotel didn't meet our expectations. The hotel is on one of Napa's main streets with a car park right behind and so it is really well located - once you are here everything in the town centre is within walking distance.

We were lucky enough to get an upgrade to the master tub suite which was a fantastic room - super comfortable bed and sitting area and massive bathroom. The hotel is beautiful - with a lovely outdoor seating area and particularly good bar with regular tastings. We were particularly impressed with the guys at the bar who were really friendly - we got most of our restaurant tips from them and they were all great.

The only disappointment was breakfast. There was a very fixed and quite limited menu - e.g. we were told at one point they couldn't do cranberry juice (it wasn't on the menu!) even though we knew they stocked it over at the bar! This put us off eating an evening meal at in the hotel and so we went out to eat instead.

Overall though, despite the breakfast, this hotel seemed to be head and shoulders above anything else in Napa and so we'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucy_Jones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AVIANapaGM, General Manager at Andaz Napa, responded to this review, April 13, 2011
Dear Valued Guest,

I am so happy to read that you had a great stay at AVIA! Thank you for recognizing the staff as they work hard to ensure every guest has a great experience. I do apologize the breakfast did not meet your expectations. We are reviewing our food offerings based on feedback we receive from our guests. We thank you for staying with us and hope to see you again.

In hospitality,
Kristine Youngberg, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
austin, texas
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2011

I was recently married in Napa and we stayed at Avia a couple of days during the beginning of our week long stay, prior to the wedding. The location was perfect, close to many shops and restaurants. The staff went out of their way to make sure we were comfortable and happy with our stay. Especially the front desk staff! We moved over to Harvest Inn for the remainder of our stay (see review), but many of our guests stayed at Avia during the wedding weekend and had nothing but great things to say about it as well! The gym that is next door and available for use for guests was a huge plus as well.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jenncole79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AVIANapaGM, General Manager at Andaz Napa, responded to this review, April 13, 2011
Dear Valued Guest,

We are so glad you and your wedding guests enjoyed your stay at AVIA. The days before your wedding can be stressful and I'm so happy to know that you had a relaxing time. Thank you for your kind words regarding the staff. They work hard to ensure every guest has a memorable experience and it sounds as though they succeeded.

Congratulations on your wedding and we hope to see you again!

In hospitality,
Kristine Youngberg, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed March 10, 2011

We stayed here for the weekend of the Napa Marathon it was a great find. New hotel, friendly staff and great design.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WallyCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AVIANapaGM, General Manager at Andaz Napa, responded to this review, April 13, 2011
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing AVIA on your recent visit to Napa. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and the location . We hope we get the opportunity to host you again soon!

In hospitality,
Kristine Youngberg, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2011

Best deal at Avia is the concierge, Juliette Riedel. She's becoming a legend in the valley. Only there a couple of years, the best wineries in the valley know her and value her opnion. She really knows her stuff. She also knows donwtown Napa and beyond. One of the best concierges I've ever encountered actually and that includes the rest of the country as well as France and Italy. Well worth the stay at Avia. She's really knowledgeable. Like having your own personal guide for free with the price of the room.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TimChell92130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AVIANapaGM, General Manager at Andaz Napa, responded to this review, April 13, 2011
Dear Valued Guest,

It gives me pleasure to read your comments regarding the service you received from our concierge. She takes the time to learn all she can about the Napa area so she can offer our guests the best options. Thank you for choosing AVIA and we hope to see you again.

In hospitality,
Kristine Youngberg, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cobb, California
1 review
Reviewed March 5, 2011

My wife and I are both from Napa and picked this hotel to stay at for a "date night".

Price:
We booked the Master Suite online for 220 a night but upgraded our room on check in to the Vintners Suite, Avia's best room for a little over $300 for the night. If your visiting Napa, you can expect to pay at least $200 a night for the worst rooms in town. At $300 for the suite, we got a smokin deal! Avia's rooms are priced at the bottom of the scale for Napa, but the quality of the hotel is leaps and bounds above the competition.

Location:
If your not into the bed and breakfast in a vineyard experience here in the valley, the downtown setting might be more to your liking. Its centrally located in downtown Napa in walking distance to shopping and a plethora of awesome restaurants to fit all budgets. Try Cole's Chophouse if you want steak, its omg good!

The Service:
Valet, great service, but fair warning. As other reviewers have complained about, they do not inform you $15.00 charge. There is no sign and the the valet did not inform us of a charge. The front desk clerk asked us if we used the valet but ALSO did not mention the charge. The doormen were polite and on the doors when they should be.
Front desk were knowledgeable about the area and efficient in their jobs. Plus, they hooked us up on the room big time! Seriously, always ask how much to upgrade when you check into a hotel! we've got some great deals that way.

The Hotel/Room:
Modern decor, innovative design, like new appearance. Very clean and well kept.
The Vintners Suite is the best room at the hotel. 1000 sq ft, well designed, and well appointed with the exception of the lack of microwave. C'mon, really? Its got a 10' wet bar there...but no microwave? And what ever you do, dont even TOUCH any of the items in the wetbar unless you want the charge to show up on your room bill. The front desk asked if we had actually used the trail mix we touched but removed the charge without further discussion as soon as we said no. Fireplace, soaking tub, walk in door less shower, great lighting, private patio, separate bedroom, and everything you would expect in a 5 star hotel. In fact, this hotel/room easily ranks among any of the 5 star hotels we have stayed at.

You can easily pay far more for much less in Napa. If your considering this hotel, get off the fence and book it. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveStuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AVIANapaGM, General Manager at Andaz Napa, responded to this review, April 13, 2011
Dear Valued Guest,

WOW! Thank you for writing such a great review of your recent stay at AVIA. We are so delighted you had a wonderful date night and the hotel exceeded your expectations.

I do apologize that you were not informed of the charge for valet parking until after the fact. I will review this with the doormen and front desk staff to ensure this doesn't happen again.

Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again.

In hospitality,
Kristine Youngberg, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silicon Valley
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2011

What is AVIA Hotel? It's trendy and modern with lots of dark wood and sleek lines located in downtown Napa within walking distance to many shops and restaurants. It has a nice (but small) bar/lounge area with plush seating and cozy leather wingback chairs tucked away to the side. The Master Tub Suite is very roomy with a separate sitting and sleeping area with a nice double sided gas fireplace. There is a massive tub next to the bed (which I thought was a little weird but others might enjoy) and an enormous shower big enough for 4 or more with waterfall shower head.

What is AVIA Hotel not? It is not a relaxing quaint stay among the vineyards. It is also not quite a luxury hotel. There is no onsite fitness center or spa. Both are provided by partnership businesses nearby. Self parking is in a detached parking garage which isn't all that far away - of course you can valet. And our room overlooked said parking garage. And this is being nit-picky but the bathroom door slides shut and isn't a true door. I find this annoying.

Overall this is a wonderful hotel and very nice...but if I'm going to wine country I prefer a B&B or resort that has more onsite amenities. But if you want more nightlife and bar options at night (Napa/Sonoma has very limited nighttime activities) this is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NDGirlInCali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AVIANapaGM, General Manager at Andaz Napa, responded to this review, March 8, 2011
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay at AVIA Napa. We thank you for the nice comments about the décor and amenities in the room. We do take all comments seriously and thank you for sharing them.

Although we are located in downtown Napa, there are many restaurants and shops within walking distance and vineyards are just a short drive away.

Thank you for choosing AVIA and we hope to will stay with us again.

In hospitality,
Kristine Youngberg, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Napa
0.5 mi away
The Westin Verasa Napa
0.3 mi away
Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Elm House Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Hotel Yountville
Hotel Yountville
#1 of 6 in Yountville
1,057 reviews
8.1 mi away
Villagio Inn and Spa
Villagio Inn and Spa
#5 of 6 in Yountville
906 reviews
0.6 mi away
River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Andaz Napa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andaz Napa

Property: Andaz Napa
Address: 1450 First Street, Napa, CA 94559-2843 (Formerly AVIA Napa)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Napa
#2 Romantic Hotel in Napa
#2 Luxury Hotel in Napa
#4 Family Hotel in Napa
#6 Business Hotel in Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Andaz Napa 4*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Andaz Napa. A fresh, relaxed take on modern travel that embodies the art of living well by infusing local authentic experiences, inspiring design the highest levels of service and a sophisticated sense of place. This lifestyle boutique hotel combines understated elegance with all the enthusiasm of a gracious local host, ideally situated in the heart of downtown Napa. Steps away are various attractions such as world-class wine tasting rooms and restaurants, boutique shopping, art museums, The Napa Valley Opera House, Uptown Theater and much more. The uniqueness of Andaz begins the moment you arrive. An Andaz host will greet you, and can check you in on the way to your room or you can take a moment and enjoy a complimentary beverage in the Andaz lounge while you check in. Our lounge is an open, communal space that replaces the traditional lobby and is perfect for drinks in the evening or a quick coffee in the morning. Our rooms feature luxurious king beds, 9-foot ceilings, hickory hardwood floors, and Eastern White Marble bathrooms with oversized walk-in showers and waterfall shower heads. We also offer complimentary wired and wireless internet, complimentary self-parking and complimentary non-alcoholic beverages and snacks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Andaz Napa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avia Napa Hotel Napa
Avia Hotel Napa
Andaz Napa Napa Valley, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing