We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,005)
Filter reviews
1,006 results
Traveler rating
927
58
9
10
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
927
58
9
10
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews chocolate cake creekside cottage the garden view room champagne room banana pancakes napa valley cheese plate bed and breakfast residential street gourmet breakfast wine tasting our honeymoon beautiful pool each morning wine country the entire staff cookies
Filter
Updating list...
432 - 437 of 1,006 reviews
Reviewed April 29, 2013

We stayed here for our anniversary weekend. We had the cottage in the back -- beautifully private and romantic. We only had a chance to enjoy one of the breakfasts, but it was excellent! The staff were very welcoming and always happy to help out in any way possible. They organized the "Ultimate Weekend" for us, with hot air ballooning, horseback riding, massages, and a wine country tour. Excellently done. My only complaint is with the housekeeping -- lots of spiderwebs in windows and cracks -- perhaps no one has stayed in the room for a while? And while the cottage is separate from the main house, it was next to the laundry facilities, so we got to hear the thump-thump-thump of the heavy-duty dryers until 2:00am in the morning. But the bed was lovely; tall enough to require the use of a step stool (which was thoughtfully provided)

Date of stay: April 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamNeft, Owner at Candlelight Inn Napa Valley, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2013

Thank-you for staying with us and for taking the time to be honest and alert us about a condition we need to address- which we have resolved- thanks to you !

We strive to keep the place clean and neat for our guests and I will work closer with housekeeping to keep our standard at the level it needs to be for the inn.

The source of the noise you mentioned was in the pool's water pump cycle...should have been set to am ..and not to pm position. So, rather than coming on 11:00 am to 8:00 pm it was just the opposite.

We look forward to your return visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Candlelight Inn on a recent Saturday night while enjoying a quick evening away in Napa (from SF). As you may know, most of the hotels/B&Bs in the wine country have a two night minimum so we were lucky to find the Candlelight Inn which so kindly let us stay for just one night. I was so pleasantly surprised when we drove up to the Inn - it is so charming! I was a little worried about the quality and location given their flexibility to stay just one night, and we initially wanted to stay closer to downtown Napa so we could walk to dinner but I am glad we decided to stay here instead. Slightly tucked away in the cul-de-sac on Easum street, the Inn looks and feels like a peaceful garden home as your arrive and pull into their private parking area under large trees. The room we stayed in was upstairs with a private balcony which overlooked the romantic backyard (including the heated pool!) and felt like we were softly nestled amongst the towering pine trees. The room itself was well appointed in the traditional B&B frill and included a large bathroom with shower, private wooden deck/balcony, easy flip of a switch fireplace, large whirlpool tub, plush towels, etc. What I enjoyed most was all of the thoughtful little touches in the room and around the Inn - all to make our stay as comfortable and relaxing as possible. Scott and Daniel were fantastic hosts - warm, welcoming and patient. House wine and port was out for our enjoyment when we arrived, and coffee, tea and snacks in the fridge all night. There were loads of great magazines and newspapers to read (Travel+Leisure, Wine Spectator, WSJ, etc) and a small library of great movies to take up to your room. We originally had a reservation to go to dinner at a hot spot in Yountville, but once settled into the Inn, we decided to order in from a local pizza/pasta spot and just enjoy all the that Inn had to offer. Breakfast the next morning was lovely - fresh fruit, OJ and coffee to start, then a decadent croissant with fresh fruit compote as the second course, and a savory egg tart with country potatoes to finish. I was stuffed! I was a little sad to leave this oasis we discovered but hope to go back soon.

Date of stay: April 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brunolovesvino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Stayed here for our 1 year anniversary and absolutely loved it! The owners are super sweet and very helpful. The rooms are amazing and so beautifully decorated. Breakfast served every morning and was very tasty. I think I actually gained weight on this trip :) Nice pool for relaxing and great location. Can't say enough good things about this place, if you can get in, go for it, you won't regret it!

Date of stay: June 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jltaylor0295
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2013

Thanks to the staff at the Candlelight Inn for making a weekend getaway absolutely magical for us. My fiance and I drove up to Napa for a couple of nights to get away, ride some bicycles and generally relax. We got caught up having too much of a good time in San Francisco with an old friend and were happy to receive a call from Scott saying that our keys are waiting for us in an envelope by the front door. What a nice gesture.

The venue itself is quiet and beautiful. We stayed in the Majestic room with it's in-room bathtub, patio out to the pool and a mass of pillows (even more than my fiance has on our bed, which is shocking). We had everything we needed. Once the sun rose, the sounds of birds and smells of flowers puts the room in an ideal location.

The breakfast was delicious and different each morning. Scott came by and gave us some tips on what to do and where to go. Great guy. Looking forward to coming back and staying a few more nights

Date of stay: April 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scottish16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamNeft, Owner at Candlelight Inn Napa Valley, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2013

Thanking you for staying with us. And, for taking the time to write a review.

Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

What a Christmas gift from our kids. What a beautiful view from every window. This B and B is over the top wonderful due to the attention to small details. It is a wonderful old Inn. The best part is the peacefulness it offers. You can't hear other guests, or their TV's. It is a beautifully decorated place that is in keeping with its history. The bed so comfy, the tub so large. The coffee so wonderful and left just outside your bedroom door. Add to this a most friendly, accomodating staff that serves amazing breakfasts and offers snacks, wine and chocolate cake at most any time. I could go on and on....but you need to try it yourselves. You won't be disappointed. Thanks, Sam and Carol.

Date of stay: April 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carolyn E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews