We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Favorite Destination”
Review of Poetry Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Poetry Inn
Ranked #18 of 22 Napa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“A Favorite Destination”
Reviewed March 12, 2010

We've found ourselves coming back the Walt Whitman room again and again, ever since Poetry Inn opened for business. The view from the patio is as grand and serene as we've experienced (including Positano, Maui, St. Barths, and many other breathtaking room views). Since there are only about 1/2 dozen rooms, there is no crowd factor here, and the privacy is exquisite. Chris has been a great, steady host over the years, though we heard Lena was planning to leave (as of January) – not sure if she’s changed her mind based on recent postings. A newer, male innkeeper is a bit junior, but harmless.

As mentioned below, the champagne and cheese greeting transitions you into a world of absolute relaxation. The breakfasts are always fresh, tasty, and filling. While the absence of late-day room service leaves you on your own, there are more than enough sit down, take home, and picnic food options in the area to compensate.

The room is perfect and spacious, and the inn’s cleanliness has been maintained over the five years we have been visiting. The heated tile floor is noteworthy. The outdoor shower on the balcony is always refreshing. The pool area, while small, provides a good sunning and dipping spot.

As a runner, I park at the Cliff Lede (Inn owner’s) Vineyard parking lot about ¼ mile away, then run on Yountville Cross Rd. – it’s as meditative a runner’s or hiker’s environment as you will find, at least in the morning. It’s barely a five minute ride into Yountville Center, with several restaurants and shops, and the Inn’s location on Silverado Trail offers a great north-south route to approach Oakville, Rutherford, St. Helena, and Calistoga (rather than the occasionally congested Rt. 29). Plenty of great vineyards in and outside of the Stag’s Leap district are within convenient reach. Poetry provides climate controlled space to store your wine purchases.

Really a gem, even for this travel snob.

Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank JorjeJaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    1
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
107
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Los Angels
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2010

Set high above the valley, our room, names after Emily Dickinson was better than any room or suite when we stayed at Meadowood and Auberge du Soleil. Great value and service. You will not be disappointed staying at the Poetry Inn.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MichaelLosAngels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
closter
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2010

I can not say one negative thing about Poetry Inn...We arrived and we were greeted so nicely with cheese and wine that we enjoyed in our Walt Whitman room...The room was so beautiful down to every detail...Being the POETRY Inn they even had random poems throughout certain menus and letters which i thought was sweet... It was such a relaxing stay..the fireplace, the bed, the view everything was just so worth every penny...We enjoyed Napa and it's surrounding towns so much , however we Loved loved going back and enjoying our room and watching the views.....and the breakfasts were so delicious, and the service was so friendly and helpful...basically i could go on and on.....
Really really great... a MUST for when traveling to the napa valley : )))

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AMandCD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2010

We just finished our third trip to Napa and our third stay at the Poetry Inn. Chris and Lena are fantastic. As you arrive at the Poetry Inn you are greeted by Chris or Lena and on offer of "bubblie" and cheese. If your room is ready, they bring in a bottle of bubblie and tray of cheese to enjoy on your private deck. If you are there early, no problem, they set it up for you on the main deck. You could sit their for hours and enjoy the bubblie and the great view.
The rooms are terrific-- we have stayed in the Emily Dickensin and Walt Whitman. Both have outdoor showers! (um, watch out though for the balloon rides that take place across the valley)
Then in the morning you are served a fresh pastry from Bouchon Bakery and then several choices of a filling breakfast.
They also will make reservations for you- so when you arrive you don't have to worry about where you will eating.
Other posts have made comments about the noise. We have never had a problem with noise-- whether inside or outside. Chris and Lena are very atune to making sure that your stay at the inn is relaxing and comfortable.
We will continue to go back every year!!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KelliandTed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 351 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2009

Can't say enough good things about Poetry Inn.
Beautiful, pristine, romantic, luxurious, incredibly comfortable, private.

A fabulous 5 bedroom property; with bedrooms that including the bathrooms and deck range between 850 square feet - 1,450 square feet !

Incredible views from each room, and total privacy as well.

I loved the wood burning fireplace, the flat screen tv, the fresh orchids everywhere, the complimentary snacks in the mini-bar, the heated bathroom floors, the soft and comfortable bathrobes, the excellent temperpedic mattress, the generously sized soaking tub, great amenties for the indoor/outdoor shower, and the french doors that provided wonderful light in the room.

The living room was very comfortable; the large porches very inviting; I was there when it was cold and rainy, but I'd bet in spring/summer/early autumn it would be wonderful to sit outside and drink in that view while relaxing.

The spa room downstairs was immaculate as was the rest of the house, and I had a great hour long foot massage/refelxology treatment when I came back from dinner one night that was excellent.

A delicious 3 course hot breakfast just added to the joy of the whole experience.
Daniel and Lena were superb 'hosts' and could not have been more thoughtful and gracious.

I loved it so much I extended my stay, and even then I hated to leave.
What a lovely, lovely, lovely place. Unpretentious luxury and attention to detail.

If you like great service;
if you crave quiet, serene loveliness instead of the impersonal bustle of a Four Seasons Hotel;
if you like to an atmosphere conducive to intimacy and romance;
if you are glad there are no noisy little children or pets underfoot;
if you appreciate having a complete non-smoking property to breathe the clean fresh Napa valley air - Poetry Inn is the perfect spot.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CinderellaDearest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2009

After one tiny scheduling hiccup not worth mentioning here we were greeted on our arrival by the lovely Lena. She immediately brought us some sparkling wine and invited us to come watch the sunset over Yountville. We sat on the porch overlooking the valley. The view is magnificent and pictures cannot do them justice. Lena then brought us some fruit and cheese to enjoy with our wine, I think I could have sat there forever but allas the sun fell behind the horizon. We were then taken to our magnificent room the Robert Frost suite where all of our luggage had already been neatly placed. Daniel gave us information about the room and all I had to do was strike a match and we had a beautiful fire in the fireplace. Heated floors in the bathroom, luxurious linens and bedding, the outside shower is great yet the tub and inside showers are very spacious as well. Breakfast was served in our room so that we could sit quietly and watch the hot air balloons inflate and take off across the valley. I made a huge mistake by not booking more nights as they had no availability to extend our stay. There is no restaurant but the staff will happily arrange for any meals you desire to be prepared in their kitchen. Do not miss this lovely place if you are going to wine country. We really did not want to leave!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rob b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2009

Stunning location - great staff and very attentive and individual service!
We experienced an unforgettable trip to Napa Valley.
Lena, Daniel and Chris - the 3 hosts at Poetry Inn are simply the best.
We look forward to coming back to our "heavenly home-away from home".

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SeattleHotelExpert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Napa
2.5 mi away
Hotel Yountville
Hotel Yountville
#1 of 6 in Yountville
1,057 reviews
2.3 mi away
Bardessono
Bardessono
#3 of 6 in Yountville
1,313 reviews
5.8 mi away
Auberge du Soleil
Auberge du Soleil
#1 of 2 in Rutherford
712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Villagio Inn and Spa
Villagio Inn and Spa
#5 of 6 in Yountville
906 reviews
2.4 mi away
Vintage House
Vintage House
#6 of 6 in Yountville
737 reviews
2.3 mi away
Napa Valley Lodge
Napa Valley Lodge
#2 of 6 in Yountville
1,357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Poetry Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poetry Inn

Property: Poetry Inn
Address: 6380 Silverado Trl, Napa, CA 94558-9747
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched above the vineyards of the Napa Valley's Stags Leap District, this luxurious and exclusive inn offers the discerning traveler all the sensory pleasures of the wine country. Spread over forty acres of pristine hillsides and world-class vineyards, Poetry Inn is a world apart. Guests, those fortunate few, enjoy unparalleled service aimed at creating an atmosphere of rural calm and seductive seclusion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Poetry Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Poetry Hotel Napa
Poetry Inn Napa, Napa Valley, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing