We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Napa Valley Secret”
Review of Poetry Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Poetry Inn
Ranked #17 of 22 Napa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 28, 2014

If you and your love want to escape the hoi polloi, unwind, and reconnect this place sets the table. You may find yourself in your room the entire stay just enjoying the view in the Emily Dickinson room as you shower with a view of the Napa Valley below. Stay as long as you can it's worth every minute!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank TAI4U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (142)
There are newer reviews for Poetry Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

64 - 70 of 142 reviews

Reviewed May 11, 2014 via mobile

Every interaction with Bob, Leona, and Henrike (the innkeepers) was outstanding! Professional and fun to engage with! The small inn (5) rooms is absolutely perfect. Great views of the valley floor, excellent wine choices, fabulous breakfast options and very nicely appointed rooms! We had chef Lynn make dinner for us one evening - perfect experience. If you want a perfect experience in Napa, stay @ the Poetry Inn. We will be back!!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anthony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2014 via mobile

The most hospitable welcome from Bob, cocktails and appetizers while watching an incredible sunset! Couples massage that was so relaxing! Private wine tasting tour that was fantastic. Our suite was beautiful and exceeded all of our expectations! We will return for hopefully a longer stay next time!!!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janet H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2014

You will feel right at home, after 5 minutes. Small Inn (only 5 rooms), very comfy, great view, unpretentious staff who make your stay unforgettable. Great breakfast and completing a presidential bathroom, an interesting outdoor shower. They didn't forgot a thing. The #1 romantic getaway in California. Great place for honeymoon or a relaxing vacation with the love of your life.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gilles L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2014

We stayed for 3 nights in Feb. This was our second stay at the inn. This Bed and Breakfast is the Pinnacle of Luxury. I love the views of the Valley from every room in the inn. It's so relaxing and a wonderful start or end of the day. Leona, Henrike, and Bob are all top notch. Bob has always taken care of our itinerary and never left us wanting. We have made our reservations for Aug already and plan to make this an annual stay. Live now not later!!

Room Tip: Dickenson room has the best views and the best outdoor shower.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jefflantrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2014

Bob & Leona are very, very good at their jobs. We only briefly met Henrike but she seemed great too. They were able to get us into vineyards and restaurants that we otherwise had no chance of getting into. Their recommendations were excellent and service impeccable.

The Inn itself is a perfect blend of understated elegance. We cannot wait to get back!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank D C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Poetry Inn right after the Christmas holidays. Our host for all 3 nights was "Bob," one of the most attentive, entertaining and wonderful innkeepers I've ever had the pleasure to meet. The first night we stayed in the Robert Frost room -- a sumptuous suite replete with an outdoor shower, hammock, heated bathroom floors, wood-burning fireplace, four-poster curtained bed, and an enormous outdoor deck. It was beautiful and roomy but I must say, I preferred the second room -- the Emily Dickinson room. It was a smaller version of the Frost room, but was much cozier and had a bit of a cozier lay-out. It also had an outdoor shower, but it was right behind the indoor one. So when one takes an indoor shower, the glass fogs up and it feels like a sauna. The bathroom floors were likewise heated and this room also had a wood-burning fireplace.

The Poetry Inn is a hidden gem. All breakfasts are included, as are all of the items in the mini-bar area. The first night, we tried several bottles of the Breggo Pinot noir (our friends were staying here as well, in the Walt Whitman room) and they were comped by Bob. He also brought us a cheese/cracker plate and entertained us with his witty repartee. I can't state more emphatically how wonderful Bob was!

We also enjoyed a private wine tour at Cliff Lede's amazing vineyard. That experience was lovely as well.

Overall, this place and its innkeeper may have provided us with one of the best little vacations we've ever had. We will most definitely be coming back!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TayDi22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Napa
2.5 mi away
Hotel Yountville
Hotel Yountville
#2 of 6 in Yountville
1,061 reviews
2.3 mi away
Bardessono
Bardessono
#3 of 6 in Yountville
1,322 reviews
2.4 mi away
Villagio Inn and Spa
Villagio Inn and Spa
#6 of 6 in Yountville
924 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Auberge du Soleil
Auberge du Soleil
#1 of 2 in Rutherford
723 reviews
231.7 mi away
Vintage House
Vintage House
#4 of 6 in Yountville
744 reviews
10.8 mi away
Wine Country Inn & Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Poetry Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poetry Inn

Address: 6380 Silverado Trl, Napa, CA 94558-9747
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Napa
Price Range: $795 - $2,164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched above the vineyards of the Napa Valley's Stags Leap District, this luxurious and exclusive inn offers the discerning traveler all the sensory pleasures of the wine country. Spread over forty acres of pristine hillsides and world-class vineyards, Poetry Inn is a world apart. Guests, those fortunate few, enjoy unparalleled service aimed at creating an atmosphere of rural calm and seductive seclusion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Poetry Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Poetry Hotel Napa
Poetry Inn Napa, Napa Valley, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing