We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Honeymoon”
Review of Poetry Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Poetry Inn
Ranked #18 of 22 Napa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reno
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous Honeymoon”
Reviewed June 11, 2013

We had the best 3 honeymoon here. Wonderful friends made and when we still go back just to say hello they always let us sit on the deck to take in the breathtaking views and have complimentary cheese and wine.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LovelyplaceReno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    1
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
107
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Delray Beach, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

THE POETRY INN

In Napa, on Silverado Trail we watched carefully for the sign to our hotel. It is very easy to miss these signs. The hotel sits high on the mountainside.

We had found an oasis. We were met at the entrance, this time, by Leona McLaughlin, one of the Innkeepers, with bottles of cold water for each of us. Every time we left or returned to the property, there was Leona or Henrike giving us bottles of water. The Poetry Inn has only 5 rooms but each is more like an apartment with exquisite, tasteful amenities. The view from their breakfast patio is breathtaking as are the views from the rooms we were given. There are outdoor and indoor showers, a steam room shower, spa tubs, enclosed louver door outdoor patios with lounge chairs ... absolutely palatial but with a very homelike feeling. A platter of wine and cheese was offered immediately and accepted with pleasure.

A refreshing sleep on fantastic beds prepared us a little for the gourmet breakfast the next morning. We sat on the luxurious patio, overlooking the expanse of the mountain farm land spread out below us. Although the sun was shining brightly up on the mountain, the mornings are very cold. We were wrapped in wool throws that had been placed on each chair so we could avoid the morning chill. Breakfast was fit for a king. We cannot count the number of courses, all prepared especially for us with impeccable service. Juice, coffee, cappuccinos, remarkable pastries, hot cereals, omelettes filled with all kinds of veggies, crumb covered hot dishes with bananas or apples, plates filled with Nova Scotia salmon and fresh berries and fruits were all consumed with great gusto.

We spent our days visiting several wineries, exhausting but always a fun experience. Knowing we would be returning to our fantastic Poetry Inn to relax before dinner added to the pleasures of the trip.

One more glorious night at our Poetry Inn; one more sumptuous breakfast and we had to leave. We got our hugs and water, put luggage in the car and we were off. After only a few mornings and nights, we had the feeling we were leaving good friends and a fantastic, relaxing, elegant, luxurious home. We probably should have planned to remain at the Inn for most of the day as they offered so much but decided that will happen on our next trip. And we promised ourselves there will be a next trip.

Room Tip: Every room is palatial.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AleseMort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
1 review
Reviewed May 17, 2013

We had the chance to stay at Poetry Inn in May of 2013 and I must say it was incredible. Everything was top shelf! The property itself is perched on top of a hill and provides for magnificent views. The reception when we arrived was out of this world, we were able to enjoy the vista, some wine, cheese, and some delightful croissants.

Our room was absolutely perfect, beautiful furnishings, plush bed, indoor and outdoor shower, massive tub, and a expansive patio with lounge chairs. As an added bonus the poolside and hot tub that overlook valley, absolutely marvellous - something we did not expect for a property of this size.

Our innkeeper, Leona, provided us impecable service, and made sure we were looked after throughout our stay.We were treated to a 3 course breakfast in bed, and throughly enjoyed it. Can't say enough things about her!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Farhan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2013 via mobile

It's like your own private villa in wine country. Five rooms, private chef, arrange a massage. The rooms are spectacular, each in their own way, some with private outdoor terraces for morning tea. The cliff Lede wine made by the owner of this retreat inn is as impeccable as everything else here. But for the disappointing tiny pool, it would rank at the level of post ranch inn.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Adam G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa, California, United States
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Once again we had a fabulous romantic getaway 15 minutes from our own home. Look in the dictionary for relaxation and you'll find a picture of Poetry Inn. The service from Leona was exceptional, the Breggo wines were delicious and the help changing restaurant recommendations was great. The E.E. Cummings room is now a suite and most definitely our favorite.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matthew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2013

We stayed at the Poetry Inn for three nights for our wedding anniversary. It was the perfect choice in every respect. The Inn sits on a hillside, surrounded by vineyards and with views across the valley and foothills in the distance. There are only five large rooms at the Inn, each named for a different poet; ours was the Emily Dickinson room. The rooms differ in size but with every comfort and amenity, including wood burning fireplaces and indoor/outdoor showers. Massage and Facials can be arranged. We were greeted by Leona, one of two innkeepers, to wine and a cheese/charcuterie platter, prepared by the chef. Service was prompt, subtle and friendly in a genuine way. The other innkeeper, Henricka, was equally pleasant, genuine and effective. The Inn is blissfully quiet and very romantic. A bountiful and delicious brunch is included every day, with the room. Vineyards and tasting are nearby in every direction. A highlight was the Cliff Lede vineyard (same owner as the Poetry Inn), where we had a combined tour of the operation, a witty and fascinating account of wine making, followed by a tasting and pairing with food. The nearby towns of Yountville and St. Helena offer specialty shops, art galleries, etc. on a quaint main street, enjoyable for strolling. One easily loses track of time. A wonderful experience all in all.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank katlovr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colquitt, GA
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012

My husband and I, along with three other couples, stayed at the Poetry Inn in November 2012. I can't begin to tell you how much we enjoyed our stay! We just wish we could have stayed longer and certainly plan to go back whenever possible. I agree with the previous reviews of this property......it is simply stunning.... From the property itself to the wonderful service from the innkeepers! From Taking an outdoor shower in the morning watching the hot air balloons to the heated floors and the comfy bed.....every experience was somerhing new and wonderful. The views from the Inn are unlike any other. Thank you, Poetry Inn..... For an unforgettable experience! AND make sure to go down the hill to Cliff Lede Vineyards......loved it, too!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jenngarland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Napa
2.5 mi away
Hotel Yountville
Hotel Yountville
#1 of 6 in Yountville
1,057 reviews
2.3 mi away
Bardessono
Bardessono
#3 of 6 in Yountville
1,313 reviews
5.8 mi away
Auberge du Soleil
Auberge du Soleil
#1 of 2 in Rutherford
712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Villagio Inn and Spa
Villagio Inn and Spa
#5 of 6 in Yountville
906 reviews
2.4 mi away
Vintage House
Vintage House
#6 of 6 in Yountville
737 reviews
2.3 mi away
Napa Valley Lodge
Napa Valley Lodge
#2 of 6 in Yountville
1,357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Poetry Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poetry Inn

Property: Poetry Inn
Address: 6380 Silverado Trl, Napa, CA 94558-9747
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched above the vineyards of the Napa Valley's Stags Leap District, this luxurious and exclusive inn offers the discerning traveler all the sensory pleasures of the wine country. Spread over forty acres of pristine hillsides and world-class vineyards, Poetry Inn is a world apart. Guests, those fortunate few, enjoy unparalleled service aimed at creating an atmosphere of rural calm and seductive seclusion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Poetry Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Poetry Hotel Napa
Poetry Inn Napa, Napa Valley, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing