We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The definition of understated luxury”
Review of Poetry Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Poetry Inn
Ranked #18 of 22 Napa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“The definition of understated luxury”
Reviewed June 14, 2012

This was our first trip to Napa and we decided to splurge on this leg of our West Coast road trip. It was well worth it; the Poetry Inn is absolutely faultless.

We stayed in the Robert Louis Stevenson suite and lamented the fact that we had asked the innkeepers to book tastings for us as we could have just stayed indoors the entire time and been happy. The room was absolutely massive, with a separate living area (complete with functional fireplace!) and huge bathroom, not to mention outdoor shower area and wraparound balcony.

The service we received was extraordinary, from help getting a last minute slot at a tasting at a vineyard that was fully booked to the delicious three-course breakfasts (always starting off with a fresh pastry from Bouchon!). As someone below mentioned, I highly recommend the tour at Cliff Lede, just across the street. It was the most informative tour we did while in wine country.

What is most important to us is that while it was no doubt luxurious, it was not pretentious in the slightest. We felt comfortable and relaxed the entire time. Will absolutely return during the next trip to Napa.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank picklebunny1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    1
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
107
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
NY
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2012

Wow!!! That pretty much sums up how we feel about our three-day stay at the Poetry Inn just over a year ago. We chose this amazing inn on the recommendation of our wedding planner and ended up spending the first three days of our honeymoon here. Well, it was definitely worth the splurge! We have seen and stayed at countless places in the Napa/Sonoma area, and this is truly a gem!

The beautiful location and privacy of the Poetry Inn are unparalleled. It almost feels like your own home. The rooms are spectacular, the views to die for, and the service impeccable. The multi-course morning breakfast, which you can have on our private terrace or anywhere else you wish, is absolutely amazing. Yes, it all comes with a certain price tag, but for a special occasion, there is no better spot in the area.

We stayed in the Emily Dickinson Suite, which was gorgeous. Giant indoor-outdoor shower and bathroom, comfy King bed with plush linens, giant windows with amazing views of the Napa Valley, fireplace and lovely sitting area, modern sound system and TV, small fridge/bar area, and the list goes own... in one word: perfection!

We got hot stone massages in the private spa, which could not have been more relaxing. Throughout our stay, the service was attentive and accommodating, no matter our desires or schedule. We felt completely spoiled. The best thing about the Poetry Inn is that it feels completely remote, yet is really just a few minutes drive from the best restaurants and vineyards Napa Valley has to offer.

A year later, we are still dreaming about our stay at the Poetry Inn and cannot wait to come back in the future!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RandB00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2012 via mobile

We have stayed here over 15 times since they opened in 2005. We relax the moment we walk through the door. We usually enjoy a bottle of champagne and charcuterie plate when we first arrive in our room. Turn-down service includes bedside iced lemon water and a sweet treat. Breakfast is three course menu served in your room or up on the common patio. Robert Frost room is our favorite and all have both indoor and outdoor showers, private balconies, snd amazing views of the valley.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EricEvans70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2012

We spend a weekend in Napa recently and based on other trip advisor reports and lonely planet we chose the Poetry Inn. It was a great weekend and to a large extend due to the Poetry. The weather was horrendous. Normally, March weather in Napa should be good, but this year we apparently got the weather they normally have in Seattle. I am sure the vineyards were happy with the water as it had been a very dry winter, but for us it wasn't a lot of fun.
We booked the Emily Dickenson suite and stayed for two nights. Our inn-keepers were Leona and Henricke. I won’t repeat all the things that have already been mentioned here before – we had a lovely stay. What really stood out for us is the personalized service and attention to detail. The fact that they make your table in your room the night before so you can literally walk out of bed and have breakfast with a view, it’s just amazing (breakfast is lovely with a slightly rotating menu). And you don’t get the large hotel feel. It really is like a high-end bed & breakfast.

Few side notes:
- The Poetry is owned by Cliff Lede, who has a vineyard just down the road in the valley. When you book your stay they will be in touch. We highly recommend the private tour ($60), especially if you're relatively new to the whole wine tasting experience
- You get Satellite Direct TV in your room (as well as an Apple TV box), so if you really have no need for wine tasting and it’s raining, no worries, always a movie to watch (for free)
During our stay the fire alarm went off in the middle of the night which made for some interesting run-ins with everybody else in the inn. Also our curtains in our room didn’t work properly. As a result we got a free bottle of wine and a $200 discount for the discomfort. Really nice touch
- The inn-keepers notice everything: we had dinner at the inn one night and we had a few things we didn’t really like. We didn’t say anything but at the end of the stay Leona asked if we were really satisfied as they felt that we didn’t; we gave some feedback which we otherwise wouldn’t have. You don’t get that anywhere! At least, we’ve never had that before

If we HAVE to nit-pick (really small things):
- As much as wood burning fire places are lovely, designer gas fired ones these days look just as nice and they don't set of the fire alarm...
- For what is supposed to be a romantic room, the bath is surprisingly small (even for one person). Missed opportunity, although there is of course the outside hot tub
- Apparently the designer of the Poetry Inn was/is also a main designer for the Pottery Barn stores and you can recognize it; very stylish and a lot of attention to detail, however, why the white plastic electrical plugs and switches???

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonBas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, CA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2012

The beauty and serenity of the Poetry Inn can NOT be matched. 180-degree views of the Napa valley and exquisite accomodations. The indoor-outdoor shower was an especially nice surprise. You'll never want to leave your room! But do, because there are so many wonderful wineries and restaurants to try.

The Inn is very private and exclusive. While expensive, it's just the right way to celebrate a special occasion.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Emily Dickenson room, which was fabulous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mkbmail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed February 13, 2012

We were directed to the Poetry Inn by friends that had a great experience there, and we were not disappointed. From beginning to end, the Innkeepers, Leona, Chris and Henricka were easily accessible and assisted with our every desire. A call from the room phone connected us directly, and they proved most knowledgeable and accommodating for appointments to the lesser known wineries and restaurants in Napa and Sonoma, as well as tours and car service as needed. The Inn is a spectacular setting in the Mayacamas Mountains and I challenge anyone to find a more breathtaking view of the area than from the balcony of the Robert Frost Suite. The three course breakfasts were excellent and different every morning, perfect for a leisurely beginning to the day. The Innkeeper can prepare your evening meal as well when you find you are too cozy to go out. Our suite was spacious with feather beds, a wood-burning fireplace and outdoor shower and hammock, warmed bathroom floors and a spacious indoor tub that fit two. Your plan is to explore and go to tastings, and the suite pulls you back in to relax and enjoy your new surroundings and luxury. I was begging Chris for another night, but no availability opened, so we will be back this Fall, and hopefully many years to come.

Room Tip: Robert Frost Suite has a fabulous view and was an Innkeeper favorite
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2012

We were recommended by a local vineyard proprietor as a special place to stay. We were not disappointed. The view is amazing, suites large and elegantly decorated with wood burning fireplaces and indoor/outdoor showers with his and her sinks. There are only 5 suites. We were greeted upon our arrival, asked what newspaper we prefer, what foods we desired for breakfast. We felt at home right away. The location is terrific as in the center of everything and near all of the gourmet fine restaurants. We were served a delicious breakfast every morning in our suite on fine china after electronically opening the drapes to a fantastic view the valley. The sleep was special with wonderful sheets, pillows and coverings. We did not want to leave and can't wait to return to paradise again soon.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank toxaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Napa
2.5 mi away
Hotel Yountville
Hotel Yountville
#1 of 6 in Yountville
1,055 reviews
2.3 mi away
Bardessono
Bardessono
#3 of 6 in Yountville
1,312 reviews
5.8 mi away
Auberge du Soleil
Auberge du Soleil
#1 of 2 in Rutherford
709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Villagio Inn and Spa
Villagio Inn and Spa
#6 of 6 in Yountville
906 reviews
2.4 mi away
Vintage House
Vintage House
#5 of 6 in Yountville
734 reviews
2.3 mi away
Napa Valley Lodge
Napa Valley Lodge
#2 of 6 in Yountville
1,349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Poetry Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poetry Inn

Property: Poetry Inn
Address: 6380 Silverado Trl, Napa, CA 94558-9747
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched above the vineyards of the Napa Valley's Stags Leap District, this luxurious and exclusive inn offers the discerning traveler all the sensory pleasures of the wine country. Spread over forty acres of pristine hillsides and world-class vineyards, Poetry Inn is a world apart. Guests, those fortunate few, enjoy unparalleled service aimed at creating an atmosphere of rural calm and seductive seclusion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Poetry Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Poetry Hotel Napa
Poetry Inn Napa, Napa Valley, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing