We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4th of July at Silverado”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Silverado Resort and Spa
Ranked #16 of 30 Hotels in Napa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 8, 2014

We have been going to Silverado for the 4th of July week-end for 19 years...you could say it is now a family tradition. What we love is that there is something for everybody....golf, swimming, BBQ's, tennis, massages, a nice gym and of course wine tasting. The rooms had become dated, but they are currently being remodeled and look much better. The service is usually pretty good, but I must say this last time there, we had a very difficult time with the internet and cellular service. It does not matter who your provider is, AT&T, Verizon, etc....the service is just poor. They also do something to your Outlook mail. Their IT group swears that they don't block the port that MS uses for Outlook, but we could not get it to download any current messages. so if you are planning on doing much work while there, good luck.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank InStyletraveler2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John E, Manager at Silverado Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2014

Greetings InStyle!

With a name like that we are glad that you elected to stay with us here at Silverado! Thank you for your stay and for the review you posted on Trip Advisor. We appreciate your balanced feedback and while we covet that 5th star we know that we now have something to earn from your high standards on your next visit.

Nestled on 1200 acres of Atlas Peak AVA in Napa you speak well to the complexity and benefits of staying at our resort. Said simply, I guess the world was conspiring to keep you from work over this holiday weekend though we apologize for the inconvenience.

Nathan Davis, Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,909)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,065 - 3,071 of 3,909 reviews

Reviewed July 7, 2014

The Visit
July 4-6 2014.

The Resort
If you like buying an airline ticket and then having them charge you for your baggage then you'll love Silverado. First you buy a resort priced room then you get to pay $50 extra to lay by the pool at the Spa. $25 extra if you'd like to play on the bocce courts. I'm already paying $470 per night for a room at the resort so what's another $75 to lay by the pool and play with the bocce balls. It's just that when I go to a resort I'd like to feel like I'm being taken care of, not taken for a ride. It's about how all that nickel and dimeing makes you feel.

Oh by the way there is a pool area that is included with the resort. We got there and it was overrun with the locals and their kids. Not a lounge chair or even a space on the ground to sit. Not very attractive or resort-like even if it hadn't been overcrowded. Looked and felt like a crowded community pool...oh hey it is. The locals get to buy memberships in the resort facilities. So there is this coexistence/war between the locals and the resort guests. The locals are winning.

The Spa
All good at the Spa. Facilities are first rate. Service is excellent. Feels like a different company running the Spa as compared to the resort.

The Room
The space was fine, bed was comfy. Lighting was a bit scarce, hard to find a place with enough light to sit and read for a bit. The walls are paper thin. We could hear our neighbors' every word...and more. So that's nice at 4am. They seemed like a nice couple though.

The Food
Not sure about the food from the grill, we never got a chance to eat there. By the way that's the restaurant, the grill that serves the golfers after a round. Not much atmosphere in the grill itself. One big open room with thirty tables or so all ordered in ranks and files. However the back patio at the main building has a nice view of the golf course, old trees, nicely manicured grounds. When we first arrived at Silverado the front desk told us we could sit at the bar or on the back patio and order from the restaurant. When we did this the waitress tried to put us off saying she didn't think that was possible. When she got the word to serve us on the patio she made it clear in a passive aggressive way what an inconvenience it was for her to go over to the restaurant to get our wine and food. We left and went to Celadon in downtown Napa. Ask for Manny. Great food, great wine, great service. Silverado take note.

The Golf Course - North
The setting is peaceful with lots of old trees. The course is well kept and the greens are very good, they roll true and are fairly fast. The sand-traps have top quality white crystal sand in them. The layout is boring, not a single memorable hole. There are no distance markers on the tee-boxes. You know, the permanently embedded markers, red, white, blue, black that correspond to the distances on the scorecard. So as the tee markers get moved around on a daily basis there is no telling if they are forward or back of the posted distance on the card; which by the way seldom matches the posted distance on the sign hanging at the tee-box. So you step up to the par three hole 11 and the card says it's 130 yards from the white tees, the sign says it's 137 yards from the white tees but your GPS says its 109 from where the white tee markers are currently placed. They also gave up putting distance markers on the sprinkler heads on the back nine. At $189 for the round I would say it is overpriced by 2x.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank bobmoly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John E, Manager at Silverado Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2014

Greetings,

Thank you for the valuable and balanced feedback from your recent stay. We greatly appreciate your nod of approval for the services and facility at The Spa at Silverado and hope that on your next stay, if we are so blessed, we will be able to whisk you away for the guest room experience you crave and that I am confident our team can provide.

It is readily apparent that you are a veteran traveler and we appreciate your having selected us for your Napa getaway. If there was ever a time to visit Silverado it is now, with the majority of our renovation complete we are moments away from regaining the legacy status of Napa Valley.

Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2014

This hotel is old, no question about it - was i was surprised to receive a fully renovated room. The prices are dear - nearly $300 including tax and resort fee per night, mid week. But it is a nice property, feels like a country club. The gym had seen far better days with outdated equipment, and breakfast wasn't included at that price. Service was friendly and very attentive. Was a nice getaway from SF - was there for work. Bed was amazing.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kawoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John E, Manager at Silverado Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2014

Thank you for your review Kawoh,

Given your long journey from London, we hope that you found our resort to be the necessary surprise to both launch into the Napa Valley destination and find some serenity from the hustle and bustle? While we enjoy a long and storied legacy in Napa we would consider ourselves to be historic in nature rather than "old" with over 130 years of unforgettable moments being made.

It delights us that you also created some unforgettable moments during your stay and have added a chapter in our history in the making!

Thank you and we hope to see you again should you jump the pond,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2014

The property feels like you are in the middle of nowhere, which technically you are. While it's relatively close to Downtown Napa and Yountville (about 10-15 minute drives). The property feels very much old school (it felt like the camp in Dirty Dancing - minus the dance lessons). My husband and I stayed in a Cottage Resort Deluxe room, it's a very small room. The bathroom is updated and so is the room, but not a full renovation. Furniture is outdated and very bulky so it took up alot of the room. The weather was perfect for the pool. The Main Pool was a filled with people (AND LOTS OF KIDS) so if you are looking for an quiet experience, I am not sure this is the place to stay. Lots of big families vacationing together, which seemed like fun, but not what we were hoping for. The pool in the Cottages was very big so it never felt crowded in the pool. The pools never had enough of the lounge chairs so it was always a hunt to get the next available one. Also, because of the remote location of the cottages, restocking of the towels seemed to be infrequent. The bed was not comfortable, slumped a little in the middle. The robe was rough. Walls were a little thin, so we could hear the family in the morning when they were having breakfast. Check-in is late 4pm, which sucked. I don't think it's worth over $200 a night, but then again it's Napa, so everything is at a premium.

Happy Travels!

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Craziecraze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John E, Manager at Silverado Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2014

CrazieCraze!

Thank you for your review and balanced feedback about our property services and product. We agree that we are not for everyone but we do have a lot to offer spread over 1200 acres with golf, 10 pools, the largest spa in Napa and 10 tennis courts not to mention some amazing people to curate the authentic Napa experience.

We hope that while not everything lined up for you on this trip we have another opportunity as we continue to write our history in the making,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2014

This resort, located near the Silverado Trail in the heart of Napa, caters to golfers and is spread out on a huge piece of property. They have great views of the golf course and surrounding mountains. The rooms are undergoing needed renovations and some rooms have very poor internet and TV service. When completed the cottages will be very nice accommodations. Don't be shocked at the price of these rooms as they are very expensive. When we return we will examine other options. This was a real nice stay but not sure its worth the price.

Room Tip: You will pay more but try to get a golf course view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AshburnTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John E, General Manager at Silverado Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2014

Thank you so much for your feedback. Comcast is currently in the process of installing all new lines to out resort for our TV and internet. Thank you for the review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2014

This is a 3 star property at best and even then needs a full renovation in spa and all public areas. No mini bar as indicated in write up, no On Demand as indicated, retired older crowd with old country club like settings. Rooms not up to par as shown in photos.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Brenda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John E, General Manager at Silverado Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2014

I am very sorry to read that you had several shortfalls during your stay with us. If you can please contact me at info@silveradoresort.com I would like to learn more of your stay. I do apologize as this is not the normal level of service we are known for.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2014

Mark, who is a bell man/guest services, drove my family back to our condo and was very friendly and gave us tips about how to play poker and how to be smart about it. Great guy. very funny. My family and I have been coming to the is resort since i was a little boy, and now I'm carrying on the tradition with my family.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ryan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John E, General Manager at Silverado Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2014

Ryan F.

I am very happy to hear that you and your family enjoyed Silverado and that you were impressed by our staff, particularly Mark. We are look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future to carry on with your families tradition.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Napa hotels
3.8 mi away
Andaz Napa
Andaz Napa
#4 of 30 in Napa
2,099 reviews
3.1 mi away
Napa Valley Marriott Hotel & Spa
3.9 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Napa Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
The Westin Verasa Napa
3.8 mi away
Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill
4.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Elm House Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silverado Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silverado Resort and Spa

Address: 1600 Atlas Peak Rd., Napa, CA 94558-1425
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Napa
#7 Business Hotel in Napa
#9 Family Hotel in Napa
Price Range: $218 - $446 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Silverado Resort and Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 355
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Silverado Resort and Spa is a luxury resort in the heart of the world-famous Napa Valley Wine Country. Whether you come to the Northern California area for relaxation, adventure or business, find it here. Located just an hour north of San Francisco, Silverado is tucked away from the city while still being close to the Bay Area action. The soothing, full-service spa sets the stage for relaxing comfort, offering massages, facials, manicures, pedicures and more. But there's more to Silverado Resort and Spa than just soothing stays. Two PGA championship golf courses, which are overseen by World Golf Hall of Fame member, lead golf analyst for NBC Sports, and resort co-owner Johnny Miller, 13 lighted tennis courts, and biking and hiking trails on-site ensure excitement at every corner. And thanks to its Napa Valley Wine Country location, it's all close to more than 400 wineries. The fine and casual dining within the resort's restaurants pair nicely with local wines. The elegant styling and picturesque Northern California views makes it one of the most sought after wedding venue destinations as well. Or you can simply take it all in from the patio of the newly opened Market and Bakery, strategically situated at the front of our historical Mansion, while you enjoy a coffee and pastry in the morning or a glass of Napa Valley wine while sitting at the edge of our fire pit in the evening. It's all designed to ensure the authentic Napa Valley Wine Country stay for any and all visitors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, TravelUp, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone and Evoline ltd so you can book your Silverado Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silverado Hotel Napa
Silverado Resort Napa
Silverado Resort And Spa Napa, Napa Valley, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing