We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Silverado Resort and Spa
Ranked #17 of 30 Hotels in Napa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 19, 2014

I stayed 3 nights in this resort for a conference.
The resort is probably very suitable if you want to go there for playing golf with the whole family. It is less suited for conference attendees.
The environment is quite nice, and my room was very large and well equipped, with a nice view on the green. The main building of the resort, where the conference meetings were held, is also nice and elegant.
However, I detected some details which are not acceptable, given the price of the hotel.
First of all, my room was close to one where some workers were doing refurbishment, and this created quite a lot of noise.
Secondly, a number of lights in the room didn't work correctly. Third, I don't understand why the checking time is so late (4pm), so that I had to wait for more than one hour before getting the room. Finally, the distance between my room and the main building was more than 10 minutes walking.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MATTEO S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,746)
There are newer reviews for Silverado Resort and Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,988 - 2,994 of 3,746 reviews

Reviewed April 18, 2014

I stayed in one of their 1 bedroom suites. The room was in great recently renovated condition. It felt like a 1 bedroom condo/apartment complete with a full size kitchen. I was on a lower level room. My only issue was that I could hear my neighbor above me who decided to get up an hour before i did. I recommend getting a second floor room, or there are others that are single story as well. Overall I had a great experience.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jimvia76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2014

My husband and I stayed in one of the condos. When we arrived, the staff was very accomodating in getting us set-up -- especially since we arrived before checkin. On first look, I thought the condo appeared charming--A sitting room with fireplace, a balcony with ample seating, an appointed kitchen (which dishes, pots and pans, and a Kuerig), a bedroom with King bed, and a bathroom. However, the appliances were very dated and the sitting room furniture had what appeared to be water stains. Also the walls must be fairly thin as we could hear just about everything that was going on next door (fortunately the other tenants were only there during one of the days.) Honestly, it was the condo itself that made this rating a "3" rather than the overall experience.

Prior to arriving, all of our carry-on luggage (including our tablet computer) was stolen in San Francisco, and we were kind of desperate to print off our itineray and found that Silverado does not have a business center for its guests. (A nice concierge, however, let us use his computer--Thank you!)

My husband played both golf courses, and found them fairly challenging--I believe one was originally designed in the 60's and the other was recently re-designed.
The staff at the grill was excellent--friendly and accomodating--we had the same experience at the bar in the Mansion.

We spent little time at the resort at Silverado (other than my husband's golfing) because we felt there wasn't much else to do (they do have a full spa). We made several side-trips on our own during our three day stay at the resort, and checked out Napa, one of the hiking trails and a winery.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JandSmomanddad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2014

I attended a conference at the Silverado Resort in March. After spending two nights at the property, I have no desire to ever return. Here is why:

1. My hotel room was not available when needed.
I arrived around 1pm and, when I tried to check in, I was told that check-in time was 4pm. While that may normally be fine, I came to attend a conference that started around 2:30pm that same day. Clearly the hotel wasn't interested in accommodating the conference attendees. I was forced to sit in the lobby for three hours - despite repeated requests to the front desk staff to explain my situation. By the time I got a room, showered and ironed my clothes, all of the conference sessions for the day had ended. (Making matters worse was that, once I got my room keys, I was told the staff would bring my bag to my room. That process took another 30 minutes and required two phone calls to the front desk.)

2. The room quality was sub-par (to say the least).
The room I received was equivalent to something at a Motel 6 or Econolodge-type motel. It was tiny - I couldn't even go to the bathroom without bumping the wall. And if I opened the TV cabinet, I essentially blocked off access to the restroom. For almost $200 a night, the quality of the room was absolutely intolerable.

3. Spiders
My room must have had a spider infestation. There were cobwebs in the bedroom area and in the bathroom. See attached photo to see what was crawling on my bed one morning. As a result, I received a number of spider bites.

I sent the hotel management an email with the information mentioned above. Days later I received a call from someone expressing regret and wanting to find out more about my experience. I couldn't talk then and promised I would call them back. I called back two different times over the course of two weeks and left messages both times. I have not yet received a return call. I guess I shouldn't be surprised - this just confirms that the hotel is not very interested in its customers and providing them with a good experience.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Atul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2014

This resort has it all. Beautiful rooms, golf, spa and great dining. The staff was very helpful and knowledgeable. The price is very well worth the value you pay. Only wish we could have stayed longer to enjoy it all. Be sure and make your reservations well in advance, they sell out quickly!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Walter N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Where do I begin? Arrived early and they had a room ready, positive. However, the room was next to a condo where they were doing remodeling and saws and workers music were blaring. We payed for the upgrade but walked in and it was straight from the 1980's. So we asked to be moved to another room that was remodeled. They did accommodate. This room had newer carpet but the room smelled of pet urine which we saw the spot on the carpet. The shower had a used bandaid near the drain, gag, and the window screen was not attached to the outside window of the master bedroom. The kitchen was clean and the bed was comfortable. Would like to know the brand of the bed can't find it on website.
Now to location of condo. We were in the Oak Creek location. The view of the golf course was nice and tranquil put it is so far away from the resort that we felt like we were staying in apartments instead of a resort. Even if you call for a golf cart to come get you it is a long ride. At least 2 miles from resort. So we didn't get to use the resort facilities at all.
Would I stay here again? Probably not, and it is definitely not 5 star so if that is what you are looking for this is not it.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dan85leah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2014 via mobile

Kind of shocking getting an old fashioned key instead of a key card. The suite we booked had nice upgrades in the bathroom, but not the kitchen. The fridge made so much noise it kept us awake at night. The suite was spacious and a bit rustic. The tv in the bedroom was useless, as it did not face the bed and could not swivel that way. The golf courses were in good shape and challenging. The breakfast in the clubhouse was good, if a bit on the pricey side. Good access to both downtown Napa and the wineries on Silverado Trail. Overall, the resort was a good value considering that it is in California.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank ejmilo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Napa
3.8 mi away
Andaz Napa
Andaz Napa
#4 of 30 in Napa
2,043 reviews
6.3 mi away
Villagio Inn and Spa
Villagio Inn and Spa
#6 of 6 in Yountville
924 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Westin Verasa Napa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Napa Valley Marriott Hotel & Spa
3.8 mi away
Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill
3.3 mi away
Ivy Hotel Napa
Ivy Hotel Napa
#27 of 30 in Napa
805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silverado Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silverado Resort and Spa

Address: 1600 Atlas Peak Rd., Napa, CA 94558-1425
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Napa
#7 Luxury Hotel in Napa
#7 Business Hotel in Napa
#11 Family Hotel in Napa
Price Range: $239 - $587 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Silverado Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 380
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Silverado Resort and Spa is a luxury resort in the heart of the world-famous Napa Valley Wine Country. Whether you come to the Northern California area for relaxation, adventure or business, find it here. Located just an hour north of San Francisco, Silverado is tucked away from the city while still being close to the Bay Area action. The soothing, full-service spa sets the stage for relaxing comfort, offering massages, facials, manicures, pedicures and more. But there's more to Silverado Resort and Spa than just soothing stays. Two PGA championship golf courses, which are overseen by World Golf Hall of Fame member, lead golf analyst for NBC Sports, and resort co-owner Johnny Miller, 13 lighted tennis courts, and biking and hiking trails on-site ensure excitement at every corner. And thanks to its Napa Valley Wine Country location, it's all close to more than 400 wineries. The fine and casual dining within the resort's restaurants pair nicely with local wines. The elegant styling and picturesque Northern California views makes it one of the most sought after wedding venue destinations as well. Or you can simply take it all in from the patio of the newly opened Market and Bakery, strategically situated at the front of our historical Mansion, while you enjoy a coffee and pastry in the morning or a glass of Napa Valley wine while sitting at the edge of our fire pit in the evening. It's all designed to ensure the authentic Napa Valley Wine Country stay for any and all visitors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TravelUp, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Silverado Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silverado Hotel Napa
Silverado Resort Napa
Silverado Resort And Spa Napa, Napa Valley, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing