We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GROWING PAINS”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Silverado Resort and Spa
Ranked #17 of 30 Hotels in Napa
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“GROWING PAINS”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We were there for a conference with about 100 guests. Taken as a whole, the conference went pretty well but it was not without its hick ups. First, let me say that the golf courses were great. The North Course is getting ready for a PGA event next October. Add to that the fact that much but not all of the facility has been renovated or updated. The problems we had were mostly with service related areas. More on that in a moment.

In preparing for the conference, I read many Tripadvisor reviews that commented about how the resort was old and tired followed by responses from the resort that most of the rooms had been "updated" or were being updated. We stayed in an "updated" suite. Even though it had been "updated" it had a 1970s feel to it. And the new "updated" carpet smelled like the dreadful smelling carpet in the bar at the Mansion. (More on that too). We did not complain. We just opened the two sliding doors and let the breeze blow thru. Just be aware that while the accommodations have been "updated", don't expect bright shiny and new. Also, There are three restaurants but they are only open one at a time so you are locked in. And there is no market place or convenience store to purchase snacks or incidentals.

We experienced several relatively minor service "mistakes". Individually they weren't that bad, but collectively they added up to significant problems that I attribute to what appeared to be new and/or poorly trained staff. A case in point, one evening at the beginning of our cocktail reception on the outdoor patio, the service staff was not paying attention. Two men in street clothes not affiliated with our group buzzed thru our reception area, grabbed a handful of cold meat from our serving tray (anti pasto buffet), wolfed it down and kept on going. The service staff did not see it, but did replace the meat tray when the person in charge of our group insisted on it.

Just inside the patio area is the bar. The carpeted area has a disgustingly pungent odor of must. When we questioned the odor, we were told that the carpet was about to be replaced. Still...the odor permeates everything. I don't know how people can sit there and drink. To make matters even less palatable, the business conference center is located next to the bar!?? There was the odor...and then the noise from the bar every time you opened the conference center door. We were told that the conference center was being closed for renovations AFTER our conference (and before the PGA event next October).

OK, so now the golf courses. They are both quite nice and I think the pros will like it during the Fry's.com tournament next October (2014). However, the staff needs to get over the growing pains and get it right. On the 14th green the course marshal confronted me and told me that our group had to pick up our balls and end our round 4 holes early because they had another tournament starting. I referred him to the person in charge of our group who was in my foursome who intervened and refused to pull our people (36 golfers) off the course. After some heated discussion we were allowed to complete our round. We learned later that the course was over booked and the golfers in front of our group were playing slow but no one confronted them. It took six hours to play the round. Lots of apologies from the pro shop later but two of the foursomes in our group succumbed to the pressure, dropped out and were not compensated. Very unprofessional of the people at the golf course. The second day of golf went very smoothly.

In conclusion? Well, the conference itself went pretty well, but I don't think we will be going back. Go to Napa for the golf courses and the wineries. Silverado not so much.

Room Tip: Lower your expectations and trust the reviews on Tripadvisor. Where there is smoke there is usually...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BOSTONTRAVELLER55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John E, General Manager at Silverado Resort and Spa, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Thanks so much for your detailed review of your visit with us. It sounds as though you had an ok stay with us, but our aim here at the Resort is to make it outstanding.

From the service mistakes that happened to the golf course mishap, we want to apologize. I can assure you that this is not the type of service we are used to providing and certainly not the experience we want you to have as a guest. Your comments were shared with all departments involved and we will work together to make sure that these issues never happen again.

I appreciate your feedback and do hope you will give us another chance in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,562 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,529
    1,017
    583
    286
    147
See reviews for
630
1,279
42
899
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (484)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Unfortunately we found ourselves in a condo that was in dire need of updating - out of the sixties. It was clean, but so depressing! The bathroom was so small the door hit the toilet. The tub was for very small people.
The Grill room staff hadn't been trained and brought our main courses before we had finished our salads.
We were there for wine tours and didn't golf or play tennis, but still had to pay the very high cost.
All in all, it was very disappointing.

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John E, General Manager at Silverado Resort and Spa, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
I am very sorry to read what a disappointment your stay was with us. We work very hard at trying to make sure all of our guest's leave here happy and it sounds like we were unable to do that for you this time.

The rooms are in the process of being updated and within that renovation will come new bathrooms that include a style I am sure you will be very pleased with.

I will speak directly with our Grill manager and follow up your experience in our Grill as well. I appreciate you bringing this to my attention.

Please accept our sincere apologies. I hope you will give us another opportunity in the future so that we can do a better job at exceeding your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

As long as you have a car, this is a terrific choice. Extremely spacious well-equipped apartments, lovely beds and excellent pool facilities. Minor problems - like broken light bulb - fixed immediately. We had a great time here. They should maybe employ more staff at reception - when booking in there was quite a queue - otherwise near ideal. (Didn't use the main facilities at the club house or the restaurant.)

Room Tip: excellent place to stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ALASTAIR M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John E, General Manager at Silverado Resort and Spa, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. We're glad you found your room to your liking and that you had a good time while staying at Silverado. It looks like you traveled quite a distance to stay with us! Please don't be a stranger and come back and visit again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
177 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Beautiful location,off of Silverado Trail.This resort has it all. Golf, Dinning,Gym and a total Spa experience.We shared a condo with some friends from our " Wine Club".We could not have had a more pleasant time. The house keeping team was exceptional.The front end staff were a little vague on some of our queries so we had to fend for ourselves,especially when we were checking out,and trying to find transportation to the " Airport ". Outside of that it was a great time for all of us.We traveled from Florida,and had made these plans months in advance.We were excited to be here,and had a beautiful time touring the valley.

Room Tip: Make sure to ask for a room,which has been renovated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Revele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John E, General Manager at Silverado Resort and Spa, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
We are so glad that you enjoyed our location and amenities. It sounds like you had an enjoyable visit with us. Even though you are in Florida, we hope that you will visit us again very soon. Thanks so much for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norcross
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

We stayed at this resort for 2 nights and it was very acaccomidating.for our needs. we found the two bedroom perfect for two couples and the shuttle service not a problem. we waited maybe 15 minutes on the pick up and no wait both times on the delivery. everyone was very service oriented especially the golf guys and girls. the course was in perfect shape. the greens were impeccabe. the parking at our condo was fine . we were in a big SUV and couldnt fit in our covered spot ( driver error) and there wer PLENTY of uncovered easy spots. the beds were very comfoprtable. the restraunt was avg. it is about 20 minutes by car froim everything. Wineries and good restraunt. great stay.

Room Tip: ask for updated unit. they can look on a sheet to see if it is updated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jim l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John E, General Manager at Silverado Resort and Spa, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thanks for your review. I am very pleased to read you had an enjoyable stay with us. We hope it won't be too long before you can make it back this way and visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013

We recently had a family reunion and needed four suites to accommodate seven families. The reservation team was great to work with. They understood our needs and accommodated every detail, placing us very close together and close to a pool, which was perfect. We wanted to get in a bit early to stock food and party preparations, and we were able to do so (with advance notice). We had a quick check-in with the front desk, and they also accommodated a late check-out for us. The suites were excellent! Comfortable beds, beautiful views, well-stocked and maintained bathrooms and kitchens. We prepared meals for 20 people in the kitchens (one kitchen per meal), which was just great. We did bring additional plates and silverware to make life a bit easier (to avoid having to schlepp from suite to suite and then figure out what goes where at the end of our stay). We also enjoyed The Grill for Sunday Brunch -- everyone enjoyed the food and the attentive, friendly service. All in all a great stay and we felt very well cared for by the Silverado team.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CathyOfCal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John E, General Manager at Silverado Resort and Spa, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
So glad to read of your pleasant stay with us! Aren't the kitchens great? It sounds as though you had a very successful family reunion and we look forward to welcoming you all back again soon! Thanks for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013

I stayed at this resort for two nights as part of a business conference I was attending there. The rooms are quite small which wasn't a problem for me as I was only sleeping there but for a leisure trip I would want a larger room.

The setting and location is fantastic with a golf course that looks to be in good condition, several tennis courts, a large gym facility, outdoor pool, spa etc. The surrounding area is green and spacious. A very relaxing feel to the whole thing.

Our conference and group meals were well supported; spacious, good service, good food - no complaints at all.

The one real negative for me is that the rooms are spread out over a large area and for many of the rooms (mine included) you need to get a shuttle to and from the main building. Going from the main building to your room is OK because there is normally a shuttle (golf cart or van) available but when ordering a shuttle to collect from your room, the service was inconsistent - sometimes it would arrive straight away and other times there would be a long wait. This was a particular problem for me and some of my colleagues as we were running to a tight schedule around our conference. To be fair, the guys running the shuttle service do their best to fulfill requests and work hard to please but sometimes there simply weren't enough of them on duty. Perhaps this was a problem mainly because we were a large group and many of us wanted a shuttle at a similar time - but still, if you are going to attract conference visitors, this is something you need to plan for and expect.

This aside, it is a lovely property and I am looking forward to returning in a leisure capacity as I didn't get a chance to experience the facilities as much as I would like.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simara64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John E, General Manager at Silverado Resort and Spa, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Thanks for your kind words! In reading your review it sounds as though your business conference went well. We are pleased to hear it! Yes, I can understand where rooms being in different locations around a large property can get frustrating. I am glad that you took advantage of our shuttles. We are currently looking into how to make that system more efficient for all guests needs. Again, thanks for reaching out, we hope to welcome you back again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Napa
3.8 mi away
Andaz Napa
Andaz Napa
#4 of 30 in Napa
1,945 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Westin Verasa Napa
3.8 mi away
Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Elm House Inn
3.1 mi away
Napa Valley Marriott Hotel & Spa
6.3 mi away
Villagio Inn and Spa
Villagio Inn and Spa
#6 of 6 in Yountville
887 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silverado Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silverado Resort and Spa

Property: Silverado Resort and Spa
Address: 1600 Atlas Peak Rd., Napa, CA 94558-1425
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Napa
#7 Business Hotel in Napa
#11 Family Hotel in Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Silverado Resort and Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 380
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Silverado Resort and Spa is a luxury resort in the heart of the world-famous Napa Valley Wine Country. Whether you come to the Northern California area for relaxation, adventure or business, find it here. Located just an hour north of San Francisco, Silverado is tucked away from the city while still being close to the Bay Area action. The soothing, full-service spa sets the stage for relaxing comfort, offering massages, facials, manicures, pedicures and more. But there's more to Silverado Resort and Spa than just soothing stays. Two PGA championship golf courses, which are overseen by World Golf Hall of Fame member, lead golf analyst for NBC Sports, and resort co-owner Johnny Miller, 13 lighted tennis courts, and biking and hiking trails on-site ensure excitement at every corner. And thanks to its Napa Valley Wine Country location, it's all close to more than 400 wineries. The fine and casual dining within the resort's restaurants pair nicely with local wines. The elegant styling and picturesque Northern California views makes it one of the most sought after wedding venue destinations as well. Or you can simply take it all in from the patio of the newly opened Market and Bakery, strategically situated at the front of our historical Mansion, while you enjoy a coffee and pastry in the morning or a glass of Napa Valley wine while sitting at the edge of our fire pit in the evening. It's all designed to ensure the authentic Napa Valley Wine Country stay for any and all visitors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, Priceline, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Silverado Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silverado Hotel Napa
Silverado Resort Napa
Silverado Resort And Spa Napa, Napa Valley, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing