We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the best run resort ...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Silverado Resort and Spa
Ranked #16 of 30 Hotels in Napa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stayed at Silverado for a special event in June 2013. It was our first trip to Napa and we loved the area. When I called to request an early check in before we arrived I was told our reservation had been cancelled ... They did fix the problem, but an early check in was out. We ended up being moved from room to room several times and I think they finally upgraded us, which was greatly appreciated - but I felt like the hotel staff had no clue what was going on. I have worked in a hotel before, and their lack of communication and kindness with guests shocked me. It even took a long time to check out, which should have been easy. I think Silverado has rested on it's laurels for too long and needs a good overhaul when it comes to the room / hotel management.

That said - the room we had was fine and the location was great. The units were worn, but fine for the days we were there. I think if I was spending a week or two there I would have been a little more picky. We enjoyed the restaurant and the food was very good. Service was great.

The Event Staff was FANTASTIC!! I can't say enough about the beautiful event we attended there and the staff that were wonderful. Glasses and plates were quietly whisked away and new glasses and plates were in their place. This place knows how to handle a special event and make it seem effortless.

Location of the resort was great. Easy access to many wineries and to activities at the resort. Bike riding was very fun. The golf course looked beautiful.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Comet traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John E, General Manager at Silverado Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2013

Thanks for letting us know about your recent visit to our Resort. I am sorry to hear about the difficulties you had when checking in and out. We will make sure to review this process with our Front Desk associates so that the process is seamless for the next time.

I appreciate your very nice comments about our event staff! We feel we have the best event staff in the valley and are so glad you had the chance to experience our team first hand. I will be passing along the kudos to those associates, as they will be thrilled you mentioned them in your review.

In the meantime, we will continue to work hard to improve the areas you noted and I do sincerely hope that you will be a guest of the Resort again the next time your travels bring you to the Napa Valley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,975)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,375 - 3,381 of 3,975 reviews

Reviewed July 22, 2013

We have stayed at Silverado both before and after the change in ownership and management. Before the changes, on our visit in June of 2010, it was ok but the condo accommodations were a little worn and threadbare. The golf courses were pretty much the same. Service was adequate -- no real complaints although sometimes it took awhile to get a response.

On our recent trip we had a great time. Very nice upgraded rooms & condos (make sure you go through Silverado to get the upgraded accommodations) and super service. Both the hotel management (Dolce) and golf management (Troon) are great. Friendly and highly responsive, right down to the smallest detail. The golf course redesign on the North Course is great too.

Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Be sure to go through Silverado itself to get an upgraded room or condo.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TFN1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John E, General Manager at Silverado Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2013

It is a pleasure to hear from guests that had such a wonderful visit. It sounds as if yours was just that! We are glad you had the chance to stay in one of our newly renovated rooms. While the project isn't quite complete yet, we are happy to hear such great feedback! We hope to welcome you back to the resort soon. Thanks for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Recently visited Silverado during the week of the 4th of July. We were there for 5 nights and it was truly like stepping into another world.

Relaxed in the word I'd associate with Silverado. There's not much one needs to do while there - the staff handles everything with finesse.

The service was spectacular! There was always someone around if anything was needed. Room and turn down service was spot on - never intrusive and were always respectful.

Our room was well appointed, spacious and comfortable. I'm still thinking about the pillows I rested my head on at night. It was long before I was sound asleep! The room was immaculate to boot!

The food was top notch. Be sure to stop by the Grill anytime of day!

Silverado's location is exceptional. It didn't take long to partake in restaurants, wineries or shopping.

Silverado is definitely a home away from home. We look forward to our next visit!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John E, General Manager at Silverado Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2013

Thank you for your very nice review. This is the type of review we hope to receive from every guest that walks through our doors. Relaxed is exactly how we hope our visitors feel when staying at the Resort. We will be sure to share your words with our associates. Thanks again and come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

During our stay, we had numerous issues with the hotel management, on two occasions our items were removed from our room, without consent. The reason we were given for these mistakes was "human error". When a problem comes up, none of the management will take responsibility for it, and you just get passed onto the next manager/director. The general staff are all very friendly and happy to help, the grounds are beautiful, it's just a shame that the management let's the hotel down severely. To sum up, there are too many managers, and not enough helpful staff, and for this reason i would not return to this resort, or any other Dolce managed hotel.

Room Tip: Use a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank T0pG0lfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John E, General Manager at Silverado Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback. I want to start by apologizing to you for the service you recieved while you were here. I can assure you this is not typical of the Resort and I am very disappointed to hear that this was your experience. This type of feedback is something we can use to share with our management and associates to be used as a training exercise. I do appreicate that you brought this to my attention. We sincerely hope that you will give us another opportunity in the future as I know we can do a much better job.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

We have done several trips to Silverado as a great place to relax with our young daughter and enjoy Napa and especially their tennis center. It can be a little tricky picking the right condo from the descriptions on the website and there's a range on the rooms, but we have found it nice and comfortable and a good value for Napa Valley. Really the only knock on the place is that you can wind up with a unit that hasn't been renovated lately. If you are into tennis, it's a fun place to play as Jacob and the pros do a really great job with the clinics and the courts are close to the pool and fitness center.

Room Tip: Check out pictures online to make sure you are getting a unit you'll like
See more room tips
Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
Thank travis0929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John E, General Manager at Silverado Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

Thanks for taking the time to let us know about your stay at Silverado Resort. It is great you had a chance to relax with your daughter and enjoy our tennis center. We always receive such rave reviews about our tennis team and will definitely pass along your kind comments to Jacob and his associates. We hope it won't be too long before we see you and your family again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Silverado in Napa was absolutely outstanding! The grounds and the golf course are memorizing. The food and entertainment were equally amazing! From being at the well appointed and served pool area, to listening to a world class jazz guitarist in the lounge the stay could not have been more enjoyable. Operations manager Matthew Mulkey ensured that we were personally and professionally taken care of as if we were celebrities. His friendly and competent staff produced meal after meal of some of the best good Napa and the world have to offer! He personally made sure that we were giving a free dessert as well as a glass of wine for me and my girl in celebration of a life event that had just occurred for us. I feel as though the Silverado Resort, under its current management can not and will not disappoint! Everything was essentially perfect and the memories of such a magical stay will be in our hearts forever. Thank you to the Silverado and for the hospitality of manager Matthew Mulkey. After complementing him to some other workers, all of whom had his utmost respect, they made me aware that he had written a book about hospitality a few years earlier. I am not at all surprised and the Silverado should feel lucky to have stole him from an equally amazing resort in Colorado. Thank you Matt and the full staff of the Silverado for making absolutely sure that we had a memorable and relaxing stay. All on hand were happy to help us with everything from finding a good bakery in the area to lending us a jacket when it was cooler one night than we had anticipated. I cannot rave about this place enough. Service is long and they clearly understand this. I will no doubt brag about this stay to my family and friends for years to come. Thank you to the Silverado and to manager Matt Mulkey who seemed to make it his personal mission that we would leave looking at our calendar to see when we could make it back ASAP! Mission accomplished sir! Would recommend to any and all even if you don't Golf! The food, service, entertainment and grounds were enough even if it was not a golf resort at all! Thanks again!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ryd44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John E, General Manager at Silverado Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

Thank you for your very nice review. We are very glad you had such a great experience and hope that we will be able to welcome you back to the Resort very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

stayed in the one bedroom suite and had tons of room. Remodeling the bathroom might need to be done but beyond that we had a wonderful stay. The staff are very friendly and helpful and our room was very clean. We loved the beds and pillows; very picky in this area. Price point is a little high but the spa across the street makes it all worthy while:)

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cpcoco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John E, General Manager at Silverado Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

Thank you for your kind words! We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. With our newly renovated rooms, come a newly renovated bathroom! We hope you can come back and visit us again to see for yourself. I am sure you will be very pleased.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Napa hotels
3.8 mi away
Andaz Napa
Andaz Napa
#4 of 30 in Napa
2,131 reviews
3.9 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Napa Valley
3.1 mi away
Napa Valley Marriott Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Elm House Inn
3.2 mi away
River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel
3.3 mi away
The Westin Verasa Napa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silverado Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silverado Resort and Spa

Address: 1600 Atlas Peak Rd., Napa, CA 94558-1425
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Napa
#7 Business Hotel in Napa
#9 Family Hotel in Napa
Price Range: $192 - $514 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Silverado Resort and Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 355
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Silverado Resort and Spa is a luxury resort in the heart of the world-famous Napa Valley Wine Country. Whether you come to the Northern California area for relaxation, adventure or business, find it here. Located just an hour north of San Francisco, Silverado is tucked away from the city while still being close to the Bay Area action. The soothing, full-service spa sets the stage for relaxing comfort, offering massages, facials, manicures, pedicures and more. But there's more to Silverado Resort and Spa than just soothing stays. Two PGA championship golf courses, which are overseen by World Golf Hall of Fame member, lead golf analyst for NBC Sports, and resort co-owner Johnny Miller, 13 lighted tennis courts, and biking and hiking trails on-site ensure excitement at every corner. And thanks to its Napa Valley Wine Country location, it's all close to more than 400 wineries. The fine and casual dining within the resort's restaurants pair nicely with local wines. The elegant styling and picturesque Northern California views makes it one of the most sought after wedding venue destinations as well. Or you can simply take it all in from the patio of the newly opened Market and Bakery, strategically situated at the front of our historical Mansion, while you enjoy a coffee and pastry in the morning or a glass of Napa Valley wine while sitting at the edge of our fire pit in the evening. It's all designed to ensure the authentic Napa Valley Wine Country stay for any and all visitors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HotelPower, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Silverado Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silverado Hotel Napa
Silverado Resort Napa
Silverado Resort And Spa Napa, Napa Valley, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing