We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Silverado” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Silverado Resort and Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Silverado Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Silverado Resort and Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1600 Atlas Peak Rd., Napa, CA 94558   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 29 Hotels in Napa
Certificate of Excellence
Campbell, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Silverado”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Gotta spend some time to check into the Spa & play a little golf! Weekday was very nice and quite on the grounds, travel from the bay area was best to head up after traffic (7 p.m.)

Conference space was nice in the Mansion faciliyt and meals on the patio overlooking the golf course made the event very enjoyable.

Room Tip: Weekdays were very quiet, I had a single room attached to a suite -- some noise from the neighbors s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Linakad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John E, General Manager at Silverado Resort and Spa, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Thank you very much for your review regarding your recent stay. I was glad to read that you enjoyed your visit and we hope to see you back at the Resort in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    974
    641
    346
    192
    92
See reviews for
374
833
26
509
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (426)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

This resort is incredible. We love this spot.

Beautiful views, golf course, swimming pools, and tennis courts. We've been here many times (my wife has an annual medical conference so this was our third time here). So this review is long overdue. But what set it apart for us on our most recent trip was the excellent customer service. Nick in reception went above and beyond to give us a great service. The hotel happened to be oversold when we arrived but he went above and beyond (making calls, talking to his manager) to not just get us a room but to give us an excellent kid-friendly room (we were travelling with our 16-month old toddler). He was just also super friendly and helpful with other directions for Napa. Thanks Nick - its great service like this that will keep us coming back time and again. And super nice touches like free lemonade and tasty fruit water in the lobby put this gem over the top for us. Good friend in the hotel too.

Keep up the great hospitality & service, Silverado. Our family can't wait to come back (and we hope to be back later this summer)!

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank sneaks23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John E, General Manager at Silverado Resort and Spa, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind words! I was so glad to read that you once again had the chance to return to Silverado Resort and Spa. We appreciate that you continue to return. The item that stood out the most to me in your review was those comments about Nick at our Front Desk. I was happy to read that he went over and above for you and that your expectations were exceeded. We will be sure to let Nick know of your nice comments as I am sure he will be very pleased.

We hope to see you and your family back for a visit this summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Jacob and Katie were fantastic tennis pros. My 6 and 4 year old children had a ton of fun in lessons with Katie every single day of our vacation. I also had several excellent lessons with Jacob. He was very adept at breaking down the fundamentals in a way where I could understand how to apply the changes he suggested. There are tons of courts, all in excellent condition. Water was set out daily next to each court and there were covered platforms to sit on between the courts to watch my kids during their lessons. I would go back for the tennis in a heartbeat.
Most of the Silverado guest rooms are very outdated at the moment (April 2013). However, the resort is in the midst of a major overall. There was construction going on all around our unit. We saw one of the re-modeled rooms and it was beautiful.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank L C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John E, General Manager at Silverado Resort and Spa, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
We appreciate your review of your recent stay with us and were glad to hear you had a fun time with Jacob and Katie over in our Tennis Department! Both are excellent instructors and continue to receive rave reviews from guests.

I was glad you had the opportunity to take a look at one of our newly remodeled rooms. We think they are beautiful too! We hope to see you back at the Resort soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

In peaceful Napa Valley, lovely landscaping, world class golf course, fresh California cuisine. Old world charm and good customer service. Stayed in one of the condos with a 1980s feel and decor but very comfortable, clean and pleasant. Nice courtyard and view off of the condo. A bit of a hike to the mansion, but facility will pick you up in a golf cart and transport you if you need it. We have a conference room rate, so at $189 per night plus the resort fee, it is reasonable. However, if you are paying a lot more for the room, you may be disappointed. Only real challenge has been the free internet, which can be sporadic at times. If you must have a reliable internet connection, consider bringing your own hot spot.

Room Tip: Try to avoid a condo on the road. It can be noisy in the morning but is quiet at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GardeningFiend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John E, General Manager at Silverado Resort and Spa, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Thank you for posting a review. I really appreciate you taking the time to let us know about your recent experience. We were glad to read you enjoyed your visit with us. I do apologize that you had trouble with connecting to the internet and will look into why this was happening immediately. Thanks for letting us know.

We will look forward to welcoming you back to the Resort in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
426 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

First off, if you read my reviews here, you know I generally put very little effort into my writing and while my ratings and opinions are legitimate, I tend to live on the sarcastic side.

However I am so irritated by this "resort," I am writing a non sarcastic review.

I stay in more hotel rooms than I can count every year, so it's also notable when I write a review about a hotel instead of a restaurant.

I am staying here now and I hate this place. I feel angry and ripped off. We were stuck in some goofy low rent condo like building where the pool we had to pay a $20 a night fee was out of service. The room itself smells musty and the bathroom floor is kind of gross.

In a $300 room I expect decent coffee in the room, fast wifi, spotless cleanliness, functioning amenities, and the feeling my money is well spent.

Unless you are a golf junkie, you can do way better than this in wine country.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Scrappleking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John E, General Manager at Silverado Resort and Spa, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Thank you very much for your comments. We were certainly disappointed in reading that your stay was not all it could have been and we do apologize that your experience was not what you had hoped it would be. I can understand your frustration and will make sure that your review is shared with the rest of our team so we can improve for the next time.

While we did not do a great job with your first impression of us, I am confident we could do a much better job in the future and would welcome the opportunity to have you back again. Thank you again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spreckelsville, Hawaii, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

This is our second time staying at Silverado, and as golfers it is the ultimate Napa destination. The courses are in excellent condition (hard and challenging!), the driving range and practice facility were just outside our door, and the staff is very friendly. Wineries are close by, and the Spa offers bikes for some exercise to work off all the delicious food. Once the cottages have been remodeled the prices are sure to go up, but for now although they are a bit out of date they are very reasonably priced. The beds and pillows were so comfortable that I thought of asking the front desk if I could buy a pillow! I agree with others that the Lobby is outdated and I hope that is on their to-do list as well as the bar that is in that main building. But the Grill, Pro Shop and other facilities are wonderful and as a guest you feel very at home without having to get all fancied up like you would have to do at a more exclusive resort. If you are not the snobby type, then I very highly recommend Silverado Resort. And once the remodels all happen, even the snobby types will be happy!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tricia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John E, General Manager at Silverado Resort and Spa, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. We were so glad to read you enjoyed your time with us and will look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

So many wonderful options in Napa valley. This is not one of them. Tacky lobby with stained carpet and unframed computer photos with sale tags behind the front desk. Completely understaffed. Almost no signage to get to the rooms... Great potential but the place needs to be redone.. Stay at Meadowood, Indian Springs, Bardessano, Andaz, Poetry or many other experiences that make you thrilled to be in wine country

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Adam G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John E, General Manager at Silverado Resort and Spa, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Thank you for your review. I do apologize that you did not have the stay you were looking for when visiting us. We are working hard in doing a lot of updates here at the Resort, including a rooms renovation and a conference room renovation. As you know, these things do not just happen overnight, so we appreciate our guest's patience. I do hope that once these items are completed, that you will return to Silverado and give us another opportunity.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Napa
3.8 mi away
Andaz Napa
Andaz Napa
#4 of 29 in Napa
4.5 of 5 stars 1,593 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Westin Verasa Napa
3.9 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Napa Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Elm House Inn
6.1 mi away
Hotel Yountville
Hotel Yountville
#2 of 6 in Yountville
4.5 of 5 stars 902 reviews
6.4 mi away
Bardessono
Bardessono
#1 of 6 in Yountville
5.0 of 5 stars 1,201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silverado Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silverado Resort and Spa

Property: Silverado Resort and Spa
Address: 1600 Atlas Peak Rd., Napa, CA 94558
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Napa
#7 Business Hotel in Napa
#7 Luxury Hotel in Napa
#11 Family Hotel in Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Silverado Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 380
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Silverado Resort and Spa is a luxury resort in the heart of the world-famous Napa Valley Wine Country. Whether you come to the Northern California area for relaxation, adventure or business, find it here. Located just an hour north of San Francisco, Silverado is tucked away from the city while still being close to the Bay Area action. The soothing, full-service spa sets the stage for relaxing comfort, offering massages, facials, manicures, pedicures and more. But there's more to Silverado Resort and Spa than just soothing stays. Two PGA championship golf courses, which are overseen by World Golf Hall of Fame member, lead golf analyst for NBC Sports, and resort co-owner Johnny Miller, 13 lighted tennis courts, and biking and hiking trails on-site ensure excitement at every corner. And thanks to its Napa Valley Wine Country location, it's all close to more than 400 wineries. The fine and casual dining within the resort's restaurants pair nicely with local wines. The elegant styling and picturesque Northern California views makes it one of the most sought after wedding venue destinations as well. Or you can simply take it all in from the patio of the newly opened Market and Bakery, strategically situated at the front of our historical Mansion, while you enjoy a coffee and pastry in the morning or a glass of Napa Valley wine while sitting at the edge of our fire pit in the evening. It's all designed to ensure the authentic Napa Valley Wine Country stay for any and all visitors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity, Cancelon and Jetsetter so you can book your Silverado Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silverado Hotel Napa
Silverado Resort Napa
Silverado Resort And Spa Napa, Napa Valley, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing