We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Nice Place, Could Maybe Use a Renovation?” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Silverado Resort and Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Silverado Resort and Spa
Ranked #16 of 30 Hotels in Napa
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Nice Place, Could Maybe Use a Renovation?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Good value when we stayed (New Year's Eve), decent brunch buffet, friendly bartender, solid gym. Perhaps the whole place could stand a bit of freshening up, though. (Then maybe it wouldn't be such a value?) Might be nice if guests could use bikes without shelling out 12 bucks an hour?

Also, check out is 11 and check in is 4? Not a lot of flexibility there.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LittleKing67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John E, General Manager at Silverado Resort and Spa, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Thanks for your time in writing a review about your stay over New Year's. I was pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable time.

I appreciate your suggestion on the bike rentals and will look into what we can do about the prices.

We hope to see you back at Silverado soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,568 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,100
    742
    398
    219
    109
See reviews for
443
961
33
561
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (445)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orinda, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Rain or not, we had a wonderful 3 night stay at the Silverado Resort last week. The Christmas Buffet was outstanding. Despite intermittent showers I was able to play golf on Christmas morning (the sand traps were a mess because of especially heavy rains the previous weekend, but the fairways and greens were very playable). The fitness center and Spa are very nice and my wife enjoyed the facilities.The winter packages for the rooms are an excellent value, and the Cyber Monday promotion is a great value. We have stayed at Silverado many times in the past, but had not visited in about 20 years. We found the interiors of the condominiums furnishings and carpeting nicely upgraded. The condos are very spacious and comfortable. There was one problem with the ground floor condo we were in that faces the north golf course on Cottage Dr: in heavy rain the drainage is such that water gets into the heating vents beneath the floor, and then there is a loud water gurgling/flushing noise.
Water was not getting into the carpeted space above the slab, fortunately. The hotel moved us into an upstairs unit immediately and was very helpful. Some remedy to the drainage all along Cottage Dr facing the golf course is recommended. Nevertheless, we were very pleased with our stay at Silverado.

Room Tip: In especially rainy weather avoid ground floor rooms facing North golf course on Cottage Dr due to d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bruce C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John E, General Manager at Silverado Resort and Spa, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Your 5 star review of Silverado Resort and Spa is much appreciated. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. I was glad to hear that you enjoyed your Christmas with us and that you were able to take advantage of the golf courses and our Spa.

Your comment regarding the drainage has been shared with our Engineering team who will look into possible solutions.

Thanks again for your review and we hope to see you back here this next Christmas, if not sooner!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
394 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

Since my last stay at Silverado some 17 years ago, it doesn't feel like anything has been updated, maybe apart from having wifi in the rooms. The main Mansion reception desk reeked of leaky toilets, the suite we were given by a totally disinterested clerk, had a huge no smoking sign at the front, but stank so badly of smoke embedded in the carpets and elsewhere, that my wife couldn't sleep through the night. The next day, we were moved to another, 2 bedroom suite on the golf course, but that one had all sorts of plumbing issues. An engineer came, fixed the kitchen faucet, but we spent two days basically without showers, as both of the bathrooms had no water flow in the showers, and the guy said there's just no pressure, and he can't fix it. So what are we to do?? Bottom line, this resort is well past it's prime time, and while it might be ok for the long term owners who just happen to be older, it's definitely unacceptable to most of us who have the choices of nearby hotels at about the same price. We had to buy our own slippers, as the floors and shag carpets aren't of pristine freshness, and the hotel does not supply slippers. There was about two winters' worth of dried leaves on the porch, and despite asking housekeeping to clear it, we have been stepping around it the whole time we were here. Te list is long, but the bottom line is this is the reality you will enter once at Silverado, and even friendly staff and a great golf course can't make up for 30 year old decor and facilities.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank hi_stick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John E, General Manager at Silverado Resort and Spa, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are sorry to read that your experience did not match your expectations. I do apologize that your visit with us was not what you had hoped it would be.

You may be interested to know that in the coming few days we will be embarking on a major room renovation here at the Resort. Within that renovation will come things such as new carpets, paint, televisions and a whole new look to the bathrooms. These changes will showcase our rooms like never before and we know our guests will not be disappointed. Additionally, we also just announced our plans for our conference and meeting space to be remodeled too. These major changes will only restore Silverado to the splendor it once was and we look forward to sharing these changes with you, our valued guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fair Oaks, California
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Silverado is not a great place to visit in the winter months as golf, the pool and rest of the club are really geared towards warmer Northern California weather. While the rooms were clean, they are very dated and there is nothing very memorable about them frankly. The main "house" where registry and the banquet rooms are often smelled of raw sewage, the smell drove us out of there. I would try the place again in the Spring for a golf weekend however. Lastly, if you plan to visit the nearby towns - Napa, St. Helena etc, its a bit of ride. Taxi service was quick and clean though.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rayferrarini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John E, General Manager at Silverado Resort and Spa, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us. While we do wish your stay had gone a bit better than what you described, we certainly appreciate your feedback as we are able to identify and correct our shortcomings.

We are very close to beginning a major room renovation here that will bring the rooms up-to-date and provide our guests with the comfort and style they expect when they stay with us. We are very excited to begin the project and know that guests will be very pleased with the end result.

I am glad to hear that you are already thinking of coming back in the Spring as it is a beautiful time to come out and enjoy the golf courses and all that Silverado has to offer. We hope when you return we will exceed your expectations so that you will continue to visit us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

The property is huge and gorgeous, but it's a bit of a silly place to stay unless you're in the main building.

The condos are a 10 minute drive away, and while the resort offers a bellhop to come and shuttle you, they never showed up for us after waiting 30 mins so we ended up just driving back and forth to the main building for dinner, tennis, swimming, etc. This happened so often we gave up on even pretending that the bellhop might show up.

There's really no Wi-Fi - I'm writing this from the bathroom, which is literally the only place in the two-bedroom condo where the Wi-Fi works, and then only intermittently.

I haven't stayed in Napa before, so maybe all of the "resorts" are this inconvenient, but for these kind of prices it'd be nice not to have to drive around all weekend and balance a laptop on my knees in the bathroom to check in to work.

Room Tip: Stay in the main building or don't stay here at all
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KevinWaldo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John E, General Manager at Silverado Resort and Spa, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Thank you for your review. I appreciate you letting us know about some of the challenges you had during your visit.

I do apologize that we were not able to exceed your expectations and I can assure you, I will be following up directly with our management team to find out why a driver never showed up to pick you up when you made a call. Clearly, we were not performing to our usual standards that day.

I will also check with our Director of Engineering and our IT manager to find out why Wi-Fi reception in your room was so poor. We will work on repairing that and making sure all the reception throughout the resort is in good working order. Thank you for bringing that to our attention.

I do hope that in the future you will give us another opportunity to redeem ourselves when your travels bring you back to the Napa Valley.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawthorn Woods, Illinois
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

The Silverado was a nice property. We liked the condo style rooms. Plenty of space and a great kitchen.
Our check in was fine but the two other couples we were with had to wait until after check in time to get in their rooms.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shelbymetz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John E, General Manager at Silverado Resort and Spa, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
We appreciate that you took the time to let us know about your recent stay. We were glad to hear that you enjoyed the property and liked your room. I do apologize that your friends were unable to get into their rooms until after our 4:00 PM check-in time. We do our very best to make sure all rooms are ready prior to that time, and I will look further into why the rooms were not ready on time.

Thank you for your review and we do hope to see you back at Silverado in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lodi
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

We spent Thanksgiving Weekend at the Silverado Resort and had the best time ever.
We checked in to a beautiful two
bedroom suite looking over the golf course. Thanksgiving dinner was delicious. Best of all was
the tennis clinic with Katie in the morning. PBI Tennis Program is a real plus here at the Silverado, the Pros are so knowledgeable and fun the clinics are compressive and gave us a great workout. Katie made our weekend at the Silverado the Best Tennis Vacation ever. We will be back!!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank barbara j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John E, General Manager at Silverado Resort and Spa, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Thank you for your wonderful remarks! I have shared your review with my staff and with Katie in our Tennis Department. She is a wonderful new addition to the Silverado team and we are glad to have her. We were delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and will look forward to welcoming you back for another tennis vacation soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Napa
3.8 mi away
Andaz Napa
Andaz Napa
#5 of 30 in Napa
4.5 of 5 stars 1,686 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Westin Verasa Napa
3.9 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Napa Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill
6.1 mi away
Hotel Yountville
Hotel Yountville
#2 of 6 in Yountville
4.5 of 5 stars 934 reviews
4.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Elm House Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silverado Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silverado Resort and Spa

Property: Silverado Resort and Spa
Address: 1600 Atlas Peak Rd., Napa, CA 94558-1425
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Napa
#7 Business Hotel in Napa
#7 Luxury Hotel in Napa
#11 Family Hotel in Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Silverado Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 380
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Silverado Resort and Spa is a luxury resort in the heart of the world-famous Napa Valley Wine Country. Whether you come to the Northern California area for relaxation, adventure or business, find it here. Located just an hour north of San Francisco, Silverado is tucked away from the city while still being close to the Bay Area action. The soothing, full-service spa sets the stage for relaxing comfort, offering massages, facials, manicures, pedicures and more. But there's more to Silverado Resort and Spa than just soothing stays. Two PGA championship golf courses, which are overseen by World Golf Hall of Fame member, lead golf analyst for NBC Sports, and resort co-owner Johnny Miller, 13 lighted tennis courts, and biking and hiking trails on-site ensure excitement at every corner. And thanks to its Napa Valley Wine Country location, it's all close to more than 400 wineries. The fine and casual dining within the resort's restaurants pair nicely with local wines. The elegant styling and picturesque Northern California views makes it one of the most sought after wedding venue destinations as well. Or you can simply take it all in from the patio of the newly opened Market and Bakery, strategically situated at the front of our historical Mansion, while you enjoy a coffee and pastry in the morning or a glass of Napa Valley wine while sitting at the edge of our fire pit in the evening. It's all designed to ensure the authentic Napa Valley Wine Country stay for any and all visitors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Silverado Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silverado Hotel Napa
Silverado Resort Napa
Silverado Resort And Spa Napa, Napa Valley, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing