We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved the Silverado--But Call Ahead to Request Better Room!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Silverado Resort and Spa

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Silverado Resort and Spa
Ranked #17 of 30 Hotels in Napa
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Loved the Silverado--But Call Ahead to Request Better Room!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2012

We just spent the weekend at the Silverado in Napa and had a gorgeous one-bedroom suite right near the main building. I booked the room through Hotels.com and then read some firghtening reviews on Trip Advisor about the small rooms. I saw that someone named Erica was responding to the comments so I called her and told her I was concerned. She said not to worry, she would get us a junior suite. While, better yet, when we checked in we found that we were given a one-bedroom suite with a fireplace and full kitchen. It was big and bright and perfect! The property is spectacular!

Room Tip: Call ahead and make sure you don't get one of the little add-on rooms that they close off from t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travelswithkidsSoCal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LegendaryNapa, Service Ambassador at Silverado Resort and Spa, responded to this review, June 21, 2012
Thank you so much for your review! We were happy to hear you enjoyed your weekend away and were glad you enjoyed your upgraded room. We do our very best to make sure every guest has the experience you had here. It was nice speaking with you and we do hope to see you back at Silverado Resort and Spa in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,384
    929
    516
    264
    129
See reviews for
574
1,179
37
769
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (472)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Great Falls, VA,USA
Level Contributor
111 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2012

We stayed at the resort for two nights and having read the mixed reviews, I tried not to keep my expectations too high. At $179.00 per night, it seemed reasonable for Napa Valley lodging. I called before our arrival to let them know we would arrive very late in the night, wanted to make sure our unit was updated. We were told the units are individually owned so perhaps that is one reason reviews are so varied but reassured that the unit we got was a "nice" one.
Our unit was a small cottage like efficiency apartment on the lower level. We happened to have a car so we drove to the unit which was about a quarter of a mile from the mansion. Parking was about 30 yards away. Although there was a covered portico assigned to the apt, it was reserved for the suites.
We were relieved to see the flat was elegantly furnished and updated. The unit was small but a little patio outside of it with two chairs served as added living space. The general surroundings, near the mansion and at the golf course were beautiful. The dining area was also elegant, we were happy with the breakfast selections on the menu.
I would have given a better rating but for the fact that we were bitten by insects and we saw one or two silverfish scampering on our bed. That plus another guest above us was talking on her cell fom her patio and we could hear the conversation very clearly from our bedroom.
The final disappointment was aside from extra tax charges, they also tacked on a $20 daily charge for resort fees. So overall the daily rate bumped up to about $225/ night. Perhaps if I went there to play golf , it would have made sense to pay the extra resort fee. I think that if one is looking for a comfortable lodging with the intention of doing a tour of wineries, better deals can be had elsewhere.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank DolceVita_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temecula, California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2012

I was very impressed driving up the drive to see this very majestic Mansion..the bellman...Napoleon was there to open our doors and take care of our bags..treating us with cold bottles of water and grapes. Once inside we had the pleasure of checking in (and out) with Caesar..he expedited the process quickly. Our first night (and every night, after) we enjoyed The Grill..where Jesse was our server..WOW! So impressed with his attention to details and the food was superb! James also served us..he was impressive as well. The Grill manager, Matthew Mulkey is quite the Southern gentleman, he is knowledgeable on everything!..the wines he selected paired up nicely with our meals..he made us feel so special! Breakfast at The Grill was a delight, Sheny was our server/hostess..so sweet and attentive, as well as Lui!! This was the best experience I have ever had on a business/vacation trip and I would highly recommend this resort..and definitely eat at The Grill..the Pollo Loco Chicken is excellent..we had it twice!!

Room Tip: The two room suite on the golf course was perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank richelle h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Service Ambassador at Silverado Resort and Spa, responded to this review, June 21, 2012
Thanks so much for your kind words about your recent stay at Silverado Resort and Spa. As I have said in previous responses - we always love hearing back from guests with positive experiences, but even more, love to hear back about the service received from our associates. We will make sure all the associates who were mentioned in your review get a chance to see your comments. I am sure they will all be thrilled to know you singled them out for a job well done.

We hope to see you back at the Resort in the very near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2012

First the good - nice accommadations, excellent breakfast and pro shop. If you play golf - play the North Course as it has recently been updated and is in much nicer shape than the South Course - which is most likely the next planned update.

The Troon Management of the golf really helps with the tournament we had there.

Now the not so good - the check in and check out process at the resort is mind numbing and our experience was not good - either in or out. Long lines and no extra help.

If you request a key pick up later in the day by your wife - it may or may not get entered into the system EVEN after spelling the first and last name and stating about what time she would arrive. We were not in the system after checking in and pre-paying for two rooms!!!!!!!!

We also received an email cancelling our reservation AFTER we were registered and occupying the room!!!!! Unbelievable.

Upon checking out - MAKE SURE YOU GO OVER YOUR FINAL STATEMENT - we were initially over charged by almost $200. Double charged for the breakfast credit and they did not subtract the package discount at the Spa - after going over the accounting at the Spa and explaining that I was on my way over to close the account at registration.

SPA - Wonderful - per my wife and her girlfriend who went with her.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CaptDick9977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LegendaryNapa, Service Ambassador at Silverado Resort and Spa, responded to this review, June 6, 2012
We appreciate your review of Silverado Resort and Spa and were glad to hear that you had a mostly nice experience. I am sorry to hear about the troubles with your billing and will be sure that we have our staff follow up to ensure there is nothing that is happening with our system to have double charges added to final statements.

Again, thank you for your comments and we hope to see you back out here on our golf courses and visiting Silverado soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forest, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2012

This resort is committed to the customer. There are wonderful plans for renovations which will be outstanding. The spa has a wide variety of services. The golf course is well kept and not overcrowded.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LegendaryNapa, Service Ambassador at Silverado Resort and Spa, responded to this review, June 6, 2012
Thank you for your kind words with regard to your recent stay at Silverado Resort and Spa. We are glad to hear of your experience and will look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2012

We wanted to get away from SF during the week and found this beautiful spot. The whole resort smelled like jasmine and magnolias, everyone was very friendly and we had such a relaxing time. I loved it and looking forward to being back soon. My 1 year old daughter enjoyed the pool and running on many acres of grass. My lavender wrap at the spa was splendid. Worth mentioning is also the great quality food served to us.

Room Tip: Rooms were in small houses. There is no actual hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elena P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LegendaryNapa, Service Ambassador at Silverado Resort and Spa, responded to this review, June 6, 2012
Thank you for your review of Silverado Resort and Spa! We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and had a relaxing time. We truly enjoy hearing about experiences such as yours and hope that we can always deliver those types of visits to every guest that walks through our doors.

We will look forward to welcoming you and your family back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2012

Our trip to Napa was highlighted by our stay at the delightful Dolce Silverado Resport! We were only there for one night, but we enjoyed every minute there. The service at this resort is first rate, the kind you rarely see these days. Eli Roldan at the front desk was one of the stars we encountered during our weekend stay. She made us feel like we were VIP's with her engaging personality and professional service. Rene at the entrance to the hotel was also very helpful and courteous. He had a helpful word whenever one was sought. The room was gorgeous, convenient and very very clean. We dined at the Grill Sunday night and loved the food. The prime rib and rib eye steak were amazing! The quality of the food was fantastic and the service was outstanding! Matt the manager and Matt our server exuded an elegant professionalism and charm that made our dining experience all the more pleasurable, entertaining and memorable. 5 Star service at at 5 Star restaurant at a 5 Star Resort!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 2nd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ronald r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LegendaryNapa, Service Ambassador at Silverado Resort and Spa, responded to this review, June 6, 2012
We appreciate hearing of your recent experience here at Silverado Resort and Spa and were so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay to the fullest. Most importantly, we love to hear back from our guests who single out our associates for a job well done. We will make sure that Eli, Rene and Matthew all hear about your review!

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Resort in the future and thank you again for your kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Napa
3.8 mi away
Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill
3.3 mi away
The Westin Verasa Napa
3.8 mi away
Andaz Napa
Andaz Napa
#4 of 30 in Napa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Napa Valley Marriott Hotel & Spa
6.1 mi away
Hotel Yountville
Hotel Yountville
#2 of 6 in Yountville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,010 reviews
4.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Elm House Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silverado Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silverado Resort and Spa

Property: Silverado Resort and Spa
Address: 1600 Atlas Peak Rd., Napa, CA 94558-1425
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Napa
#7 Business Hotel in Napa
#7 Luxury Hotel in Napa
#11 Family Hotel in Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Silverado Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 380
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Silverado Resort and Spa is a luxury resort in the heart of the world-famous Napa Valley Wine Country. Whether you come to the Northern California area for relaxation, adventure or business, find it here. Located just an hour north of San Francisco, Silverado is tucked away from the city while still being close to the Bay Area action. The soothing, full-service spa sets the stage for relaxing comfort, offering massages, facials, manicures, pedicures and more. But there's more to Silverado Resort and Spa than just soothing stays. Two PGA championship golf courses, which are overseen by World Golf Hall of Fame member, lead golf analyst for NBC Sports, and resort co-owner Johnny Miller, 13 lighted tennis courts, and biking and hiking trails on-site ensure excitement at every corner. And thanks to its Napa Valley Wine Country location, it's all close to more than 400 wineries. The fine and casual dining within the resort's restaurants pair nicely with local wines. The elegant styling and picturesque Northern California views makes it one of the most sought after wedding venue destinations as well. Or you can simply take it all in from the patio of the newly opened Market and Bakery, strategically situated at the front of our historical Mansion, while you enjoy a coffee and pastry in the morning or a glass of Napa Valley wine while sitting at the edge of our fire pit in the evening. It's all designed to ensure the authentic Napa Valley Wine Country stay for any and all visitors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, Agoda, Jetsetter, HotelsClick, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Silverado Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silverado Hotel Napa
Silverado Resort Napa
Silverado Resort And Spa Napa, Napa Valley, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing