We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Silverado Resort and Spa
Ranked #17 of 30 Hotels in Napa
Certificate of Excellence
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“A great place to stay”
Reviewed September 20, 2011

We stayed here for the first 5 nights of our honeymoon. When we arrived after travelling for the best part of 20hrs from the UK we were greeted by a very polite doorman who told us to leave the car where it was and go check in. At the front desk I was greeted by Rose I think it was, who was really nice; I explained that it was our honeymoon when she asked what the occassion was, and she apologised that she would be unable to upgrade us, but gave us loads of great coupons to get free wine tastings at some of the higher class wineries.

Once we had checked in we got back into the car and drove round to where our cottage was, it wasn't far, and easily walkable, but if you don't fancy walking then call the reception and they'll send one of the staff round in the golf cart, expect to pay gratuity though. The room was lovely, spacious enough with plenty of storage, and a nice shower/bath combo. The minibar was very full of drinks and snacks which are extortionate as ever, but I just took these out (this isn't a weight sensitive one thankfully) and put our drinks and snacks in instead, just swapping them when we left. The room had air conditioning as you'd expect, but it is a little loud for people who aren't used to it so we switched it off at night, but that's not a problem really as it was plenty cool enough at night.

We ate at the bar the first night, just a burger and fries; well I say just a burger and fries, it was absolutely delicious! They bar staff are really friendly and attentive, we felt right at home straight away. The only other time we ate there was at the grill restaurant. Again this was very good, with an excellent front of house host called Matt, and the waiter was also very good. The food was pretty good, I had a lovely steak, and my wife had fried chicken, which she said was a little greasy but still enjoyed. It was fairly expensive again though, as you would expect really. They also have a gourmet restaurant, but we didn't try it.

Overall I think I would stay there again, it had a lovely atmosphere, and was generally very comfortable. The walls are a little thin in the cottages though, and you can hear people if they are a little noisy, but this didn't really affect us. It is a great base for exploring the wider area, we had a car and took advantage of it travelling away from Napa, and the main routes were very easily accessed. I can highly recommend Lake Berryessa for scenery and if you want a paddle. The town is a $15 cab ride away. I also hightly recommend the Del Dotto wine caves tour which is just down the road from Silverado, it's a very unique tour with fabulous wine and a really good host team, especially a chap named Ryan.

To conclude I would say ignore all the complaints about it being outdated, it is perfectly good for a stay in the wine country!

Room Tip: Always ask for an upgrade, and for somewhere near the complex.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SFGiantsNation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,570 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,532
    1,019
    585
    287
    147
See reviews for
630
1,283
42
902
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (484)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
naples
Level Contributor
135 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2011

Stayed here 4 nights for a meeting. Hotel looked and sounded great in brochure and website, but beware. You check in to the "mansion" but your room is detached in what could be called low rent garden apts. Hopelessly outdated, I mean old, not quaint. Mine had shag carpet, uncomfortable bed, and bad TV reception. Cost over $300 per night with their $20 resort fee and all the taxes, a poor value. And this was supposed to be a reduced group rate! The best thing about Silverado for me was the proximity to wineries which you could reach by walk or bike ride, but next time I'll take Best Western for the value and drive to the vineyards.

Room Tip: don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chazb0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StarExperience, Manager at Silverado Resort and Spa, responded to this review, September 22, 2011
Good morning and thank you for your recent stay at Silverado Resort and Spa. It is our policy to exceed our guest’s expectations and we were disappointed to hear yours were not met, particularly in regard to your room.
We would like to advise you that we are planning a multi-million dollar room renovation to begin at the end of the year. We know that all of our guests will be very pleased with the end product. Also, be on the lookout for several other enhancements that will brighten guests visits.
Thank you for your valuable feedback and sincerely hope to see you back at Silverado Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
78 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2011

I recently stayed two days at the resort with other Board Members. The grounds are great and sprawling, but some of the rooms could be as far away as ¼ mile from the main building and definitely need updating. They have golf carts to take you around the resort if you don't want to walk.

There are several well kept pools, tennis courts, and nicely maintained garden areas throughout the complex. The staff is friendly and helpful. The bar area was nice with two levels; the lower level had a great two piece jazz band playing, it was wonderful to listen to while being able to carry on a conversation.

The rooms definitely need refurbishing in several ways. First, my carpet was old and a bit stained around the sink area. It seems that they installed new tile in the bathroom, but kept the old Formica type counters at the sink instead of upgrading to granite. Also, they used the old fashioned actual key rather than the electronic key card entry which is more secure. The king size bed was comfortable and had good quality bedding. It was nice that each room had a little patio area with table and chairs most were open to the outside walkways but some had enclosed areas. The buildings are very low density and mostly one story with only a few buildings that were two stories. It's very quiet and peaceful.

The resort is near to a lot of activities in the Napa valley.

If you want a quiet get away, in a resort with beautiful grounds and don't mind outdated rooms this is a great place.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank worldtravellerruth11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2011

We only had enough time to spend 1 night at this resort. It was truly beautiful, and service was excellent, although I wished we had another night here, I was kind of happy to get out of the humid room with lumpy pillows and go to another hotel were I could actually sleep better.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tinsley a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bridgewater, nj
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2011

After I booked, I read the reviews and while generally very positive there were some harsh negative reviews. What's going on? I needed this place to be good since I was bringing the wife to Napa for our 28th. Everything turned out wonderful. Here's what I did and didn't find in the written reviews. Some people say dated and dirty carpet. Huh? The place is physically beautiful. It wasn't built yesterday but I only saw modern clean furnishings. Our room probably began as a 2 BR condo split in half and we had the slider entrance which some people have complained about. The slider didn't bother us and the room was spacious with new bedding and well furnished. We walked both golf courses and any golfer would want to play here, especially in the early cool evening. Highlights include beautiful mountain views in the main hall where you can enjoy your coffee in the morning. Another highlight was the main restaurant called the Grill with the friendliest staff. The heirloom salad with the fresh mozzarella was the best we had at any of the many resorts we stayed during our vacation. The Kobe hamburger was the best hamburger I've ever eaten. Same for the fish tacos. A downside that has been mentioned in some of the reviews is the shortage of staffing. One of the most beautiful resort pools but there should be staff taking drink and food orders and this was missing. The concierge was terrific every morning but not sure there was somebody around in the evening. We checked in a little before 4 and they were still getting the room ready and I think that is probably because they're short on maid staffing. I read a critique of the location. That's ridiculous. It's a few minutes from the main road in the heart of Napa. Can't get better than that. There were complaints about the rooms being spread out but all resorts are like that and I prefer that setup to a big huge apt building with noisy neighbors. The privacy was great and our room was a 2 minute walk to dining, pool and main hall.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carlo45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

This resort was really excellent. We arrived before the official check-in time but were greeted by the new front desk manager and he made the experience so nice. Rather than reminding us that the "check-in time is not until 4:00" he apologized that our room was not quite ready, but that we would love it when it was. He then escorted us to the lunch restaurant and introduced us to the Host and asked that we be given a table with a wonderful view. As soon as we were seated, the server came to us and said the manager would like to buy us a glass of wine or champaign. What a nice touch....he didn't need to do that at all since we were very early in our arrival.

After lunch, he found us sitting on the veranda and brought us discount coupons for the spa and then escorted us to the spa, again introduced us to the spa manager and told them to call the front desk after our massages so that we could get a golf cart ride back to the front desk.

After our massages, our room was ready and it was one of the standard rooms, but just beautiful. Very fresh and clean with ice already in the ice bucket. Wonderful soaps and cosmetic ammenities and free WIFI.

I can't think of anything negative to say other than it would have been nice to have been able to park closer to our room, but this is the kind of resort that is very spread out around the golf course so that was not possible. However, they have multiple pools around the property and also guest laundry facilities that are very convenient to your room.

Room Tip: One reviewer mentioned no AC, so I guess you should ask for a room with AC. Ours had AC and it worke...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tomj675
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
75 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

We were with a large group for an annual trade convention, and booked a one bedroom condo that was a five minute walk to the main building. The decore was a little dated but new fabrics, drapes ect.kept it from feeling 'old'. Comfortable bed. No noise from adjacent units Nice private patio overlooking the golf course was great for coffee in the morning. The kitchen was extremely well set up and we cooked our own breakfast most mornings. There a grocery stores nearby. The main house is fantastic, nice patio's, wonderful gardens , everything was first class.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carldaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Napa
3.8 mi away
Andaz Napa
Andaz Napa
#4 of 30 in Napa
1,953 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Westin Verasa Napa
4.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Elm House Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill
3.1 mi away
Napa Valley Marriott Hotel & Spa
6.3 mi away
Villagio Inn and Spa
Villagio Inn and Spa
#6 of 6 in Yountville
889 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silverado Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silverado Resort and Spa

Property: Silverado Resort and Spa
Address: 1600 Atlas Peak Rd., Napa, CA 94558-1425
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Napa
#7 Business Hotel in Napa
#11 Family Hotel in Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Silverado Resort and Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 380
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Silverado Resort and Spa is a luxury resort in the heart of the world-famous Napa Valley Wine Country. Whether you come to the Northern California area for relaxation, adventure or business, find it here. Located just an hour north of San Francisco, Silverado is tucked away from the city while still being close to the Bay Area action. The soothing, full-service spa sets the stage for relaxing comfort, offering massages, facials, manicures, pedicures and more. But there's more to Silverado Resort and Spa than just soothing stays. Two PGA championship golf courses, which are overseen by World Golf Hall of Fame member, lead golf analyst for NBC Sports, and resort co-owner Johnny Miller, 13 lighted tennis courts, and biking and hiking trails on-site ensure excitement at every corner. And thanks to its Napa Valley Wine Country location, it's all close to more than 400 wineries. The fine and casual dining within the resort's restaurants pair nicely with local wines. The elegant styling and picturesque Northern California views makes it one of the most sought after wedding venue destinations as well. Or you can simply take it all in from the patio of the newly opened Market and Bakery, strategically situated at the front of our historical Mansion, while you enjoy a coffee and pastry in the morning or a glass of Napa Valley wine while sitting at the edge of our fire pit in the evening. It's all designed to ensure the authentic Napa Valley Wine Country stay for any and all visitors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Silverado Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silverado Hotel Napa
Silverado Resort Napa
Silverado Resort And Spa Napa, Napa Valley, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing