We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous property ... unfortunately a bit dated! And terrible internet!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Silverado Resort and Spa
Ranked #16 of 30 Hotels in Napa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 16, 2011

Where do I start with this place?! The Silverado Resort has a very long and illustrious history, dating back to 1870. It's set on 1,200 gorgeous acres which today includes golf courses, multiple tennis courses, swimming pools and a lot of bungalows. Matter of fact, the 80's TV show Falcon Crest was shot here. Unfortunately, not much has changed since then. The grounds are gorgeous, no doubt about it. And the suites very large, yet the design is a bit 50's dated. It would not take much to turn this whole property into a grand hotel … but a renovation is definitely due. Don't take me wrong though, it's not shabby … just dated in style.

However, there is no excuse for the terrible internet connection they have here. We had to move rooms for our internet barely worked. Unfortunately, that didn't really help. Given that the wifi system is outsourced to Nomadix (I’ve had problems with them in other resorts as well), the hotel was really unable to help. And when they forwarded you to the service provider you got asked stupid questions such as 'do you have 4 bars on your wifi signal?', or even worse 'sir, have you tried restarting your computer?!'

Compounding the problem, the AT&T 3G connection here is also disastrous! Barely worked and could barely catch a signal. So if you need to stay connected, I would consider twice before staying here!

Room Tip: second floor room with private balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bojantercon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,900)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,784 - 3,790 of 3,900 reviews

Reviewed June 14, 2011

The hotel was fantastic. Upgraded our room to a junior suite in honor of our 35th anniversary and sent us a bottle of champaign. Very quiet. Spa services were excellent. Off the beaten path but still convenient to both Sonoma and Napa Valley. We definitely recommend this hotel and will be coming back.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janet W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2011

The price was right, and the room, although older, was comfortable and clean. However...... sitting on the patio we heard the neightbor urinating in his bathroom. Later that evening we heard lots more noise from the adjoining room, followed by snoring all night, effectively making sleep impossible. This is an older property, and the lack of insulation needs to be addressed.
The location is great for touring the Napa area. The golf and tennis facilities are very nice and the landscaping makes it a pleasant setting. Food was ok.
The spa was very good, and the services of all four therapist that we used was excellent - highly recommend the spa.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Chwarae422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2011

I was hoping for a nice 4 star resort in Napa to spend a couple nights. What a disappointment this place was! The room was SMALL, dirty, and hadn't been updated since the 60's.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tentsleeper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2011

I've never asked to change rooms before but did so when shown our first room. It had an fireplace that was poorly ventilated. I knew the smell would probably keep me up all night, so I asked for a different room; had same issue. Finally settled for a room w/out fireplace which was ok. However room still outdated. Lastly it was difficult to locate key ice machine. Overall it was difficult to navigate the resort.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KMCray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2011

This supposedly 5 star resort was terrible. The staff were friendly and professional. However, the first night's deposit was charged at $53 more than booked.
Our room was the size of a handkerchief. There was barely space to open two suitcases. The noise from the people in the unit above suggested there was no insulation between units. The noise from our own air conditioner was so loud we turned the TV volume up 8 points just to be able to hear the programs. It was certainly too noisy to be able to sleep.
And finally don't be fooled by the room prices quoted on the internet. There is a mandatory resort fee of $20-22 a night

Room Tip: Don't accept any room in the 600 series
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JimS48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2011

This place was not bad. We stayed here one night during our Napa wine trip. The room was clean, but a little outdated. We felt like we were in the 70's or early 80's. The other problem is that it is really spread out so you have long walks to take all the time. The offer a little shuttle but it sometimes took very long (20min) til the shuttle showed up.
And the last thing, there are tons of kids. We tried to go to the pool but it was pretty much owned by the kids. So, if you have kids it's a great place, but if you are a couple and looking for something romantic, go somewhere else.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bjop13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Napa hotels
3.8 mi away
Andaz Napa
Andaz Napa
#4 of 30 in Napa
2,097 reviews
3.1 mi away
Napa Valley Marriott Hotel & Spa
3.9 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Napa Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
The Westin Verasa Napa
3.8 mi away
Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill
4.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Elm House Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silverado Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silverado Resort and Spa

Address: 1600 Atlas Peak Rd., Napa, CA 94558-1425
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Napa
#7 Business Hotel in Napa
#11 Family Hotel in Napa
Price Range: $217 - $445 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Silverado Resort and Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 355
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Silverado Resort and Spa is a luxury resort in the heart of the world-famous Napa Valley Wine Country. Whether you come to the Northern California area for relaxation, adventure or business, find it here. Located just an hour north of San Francisco, Silverado is tucked away from the city while still being close to the Bay Area action. The soothing, full-service spa sets the stage for relaxing comfort, offering massages, facials, manicures, pedicures and more. But there's more to Silverado Resort and Spa than just soothing stays. Two PGA championship golf courses, which are overseen by World Golf Hall of Fame member, lead golf analyst for NBC Sports, and resort co-owner Johnny Miller, 13 lighted tennis courts, and biking and hiking trails on-site ensure excitement at every corner. And thanks to its Napa Valley Wine Country location, it's all close to more than 400 wineries. The fine and casual dining within the resort's restaurants pair nicely with local wines. The elegant styling and picturesque Northern California views makes it one of the most sought after wedding venue destinations as well. Or you can simply take it all in from the patio of the newly opened Market and Bakery, strategically situated at the front of our historical Mansion, while you enjoy a coffee and pastry in the morning or a glass of Napa Valley wine while sitting at the edge of our fire pit in the evening. It's all designed to ensure the authentic Napa Valley Wine Country stay for any and all visitors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TravelUp, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Silverado Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silverado Hotel Napa
Silverado Resort Napa
Silverado Resort And Spa Napa, Napa Valley, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing