We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really great”

Hog Island Oyster Company
Ranked #1 of 286 Restaurants in Napa
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Open Daily 11:30am - 8:00pm Happy Hours Tues+Wed: 5:00pm - 7:00pm. We will be closing early, 5 PM, on Dec. 24. Last seating at 3:30 PM. Closed Thanksgiving, Christmas and New Years Days.
Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Really great”
Reviewed May 5, 2013

Casual, comfortable, great oysters. The rest of the market is also worth exploring as the coffee bar is quite good as is the ice cream.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank bmanpennsylvania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

606 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    376
    184
    42
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Midwest
Level 6 Contributor
358 reviews
245 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“Nice Lunch but . . .”
Reviewed April 26, 2013

The Oxbow Market is a great destination in Napa Valley. I ordered the Crab Mac & Cheese - the mac & cheese was delicious but I was disappointed in the very small amount of crab in the dish. Maybe there is a shortage of Dungeness Crab; this is what we were told at another restaurant in the area. My husband had the Rustic Seafood Dish and he loved it. The portion was very large and full of a variety of fish/shellfish. It's a casual setting and was fun to sit at the bar and watch the servers shucking oysters. There were several customers coming in to buy bags of oysters to go.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Curly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“You will love the oysters!”
Reviewed April 23, 2013

The variety of oysters will impress even the people who have have eaten oysters for years. Prepared in so many ways we could not get enough. They are delicious. We ate there three times for lunch, and look forward to going back there when in Napa again. You will love this place.!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank cheapadvice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Delicious seafood in a casual setting”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Earlier in the day we had bought food for a picnic from Oxbow Public Market, where the Hog Island Oyster Company is located and we made a note to go back and try the Oyster Bar. We had seats at the bar and service was prompt and friendly. My husband had oysters, which were excellent and I decided (having watched someone else's order being prepared) to have the fish stew. It was absolutely delicious, full of perfectly fresh seafood in a light and well seasoned broth. The wine list was as good as you would expect in Napa and there was a choice of beers too. In spite of being located in the Public Market, the atmosphere was very relaxing. Just a cautionary note: restaurants remain open after the other vendors have closed, so bear this in mind if, like me, you hope to have ice cream from Three Twins for dessert - don't leave it too late or you will miss out!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Denise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santa rosa,
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A great 4th of July place”
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Get your reservation early if you intend to go on a holiday weekend. The oysters they prepare are fabulous, but it's more fun to shuck them yourself and cook them over the BBQ. They provide all the tools, coals etc. Take along a picnic and some drinks to go with it. Have finn!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank livewire64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hog Island Oyster Company also viewed

 
Napa, Napa Valley
 

Been to Hog Island Oyster Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing