We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Westin is Losing Sight of Proper Customer Care”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Westin Verasa Napa
Ranked #8 of 30 Hotels in Napa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Droitwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
385 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Westin is Losing Sight of Proper Customer Care”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013 via mobile

Westin needs to get back to taking care of customers properly. They used to be good at this. No longer.

Examples: First, WIFI is horrible throughout this hotel. Second, it is a huge hassle to watch ordinary TV channels.

WIFI is so bad it is almost impossible to upload even modest sized files. And, working within a web site (Such as eBay) is dead slow. The staff all know about this and say they receive many complaints but that Management does nothing about it.

TV: Westin wants to sell movies so badly they make it a huge, aggravating hassle for you to do anything else. This is the same ridiculous TV system I experienced recently at another Westin? What is the matter with these people? It seems they willingly risk customer aggravation just to pursue a few more dollars.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edward B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinNapa_CA, Manager at The Westin Verasa Napa, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Mr. Edward B:

Thank you for taking the time to provide us and our future travelers your detailed feedback and I would like to address each of your concerns individually.

The WiFi, as you stated, is a known concern and we are currently in the process of addressing it. The service in the hotel is pretty good in 90% of our public space but there are a few spots, especially on the 3rd floor that can have a weak signal. We have started the process of indroducing a fully revamped internet system which is expected to be complete sometime before the beginning of Summer. We will be adding a significant amount of bandwidth and increasing the amount of wireless array’s to enhance the entire hotels connectivity.

In regards to the TV system, we use a provider named Lodegnet, a very well known hotel guest room entertainment company. The TV’s always load to the menu screen and do have a bit of delay but can be navigated fairly easily. I do agree that buying a movie can be a bit of a headache but that is primarily to prevent a person from making an accidental purchase.

We truly appreciate all your feedback and if you find yourself back in the Napa area please feel free to look me up and I would be glad to show you the improvements that we have made since your recent visit.

Be well,
Nathan Baslaw
Service Express Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,326 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    679
    432
    116
    54
    45
See reviews for
240
650
24
143
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (288)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Granite Bay, CA
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

We spent only one night at this lovely hotel and I wish we had stayed longer!

Very nice rooms with all the amenities you expect from a Westin. All of the staff went out of their way to be hospitable directing us to the free wine tasting and chair massages they had available, making sure we knew they had a free shuttle and where to find the workout room.

They even come around the check in desk to hand you your room keys!

Every staff member from the front desk, the restaurant and the valet parking guys were exceptional!

This location couldn't be better. We walked to the Oxbow Market (don't miss it!!) and downtown Napa for cocktails and dining.

We will be back soon for a longer stay!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Granitian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinNapa_CA, Manager at The Westin Verasa Napa, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
This is great to hear and thank you for the feedback for us and future travelers. We love to hear about great guest experiences and I hope that we’ll see you back sooner than later.

Be well,
Nathan Baslaw
Service Express Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemet, California
Level Contributor
116 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

Went for Valentines Day trip, stayed 4 days and literally had issues everyday with the room, hotel staff and lack of regard for guest. Lets start with valentines day. Woken up at 6 am by two dogs going ballistic in the room next to us. Security had to come and remove the dogs from the room because the guest just left them in the room and left for the day. Second issues that day, 9 am delivery of surprise flowers and gifts were not delivered. The order was confirmed before we arrived, and at 11 pm the night before. By 930 when they were not there, called and was met with attitude and blatant disregard. finally had to leave for the day, spoke to the front desk about issues, who insisted they wanted to make it right. we insisted it was pointless as we would not be back to enjoy it till very late. We arrived back to the room at 10 pm and the room had been decorated with my original flowers, rose petals and candles. Looked great, nice gesture. We decided to go to bed, however, valet set off numerous car alarms by accident which took about 45 min to fix. After having no sleep between the dogs, and noise, we were exhausted. We had an early wine tasting in the morning and had to be up early. We leave around 9 am and get back at 11am to take a nap and recoup a bit. As soon as we fall asleep, the phone rings and they hospitality department wants their candles back, and wants them now. regardless of the do not disturb or the fact that they were in the room because of the screw up already. I got out of bed, walked down to the front desk and delivered the candles to them since they were so important. Mind you, they had serviced our room while we were gone for 2 hours and could have easily taken them with them. Other issues to mention, wifi/internet service is unbelievable slow, and cuts out non stop if you can even get a connection. This was irritating considering the daily resort fee which includes this. If you are going to charge for it, it should work. we spend 30 min with tech support the first night we were there. Upon check out, there were numerous charges on the room bill that were not ours, it took 45 min to get them corrected. The front desk managers were great for the most part, except for the gentleman who could careless about the complaints. Even to the point of interrupting me and asking if we were done yet. Overall, this hotel is not up tp the standard that the Starwood program normally has. This was the first Westin property where we had the issues we did. I will not be going back here again. Being platinum members of Starwood's program and travelling as often as we do, this hotel seems to not be able to handle themselves very well.

Room Tip: If you stay here, request a room as far away from the elevators as possible. they are very loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DreMc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinNapa_CA, Manager at The Westin Verasa Napa, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Thank you for the review and I’m sorry for the various issues you had during your Valentines Day getaway. One of these incidents would be a tough experience but I can fully understand your frustration with the combination of all the incidents.

I will be sending out your feedback to the staff to ensure that these types of errors are corrected and prevented for all future guests.

I’m glad that we were able to make up for a few of the mistakes that were made but I can ensure you that this has not gone unnoticed and I would love the opportunity for you to come experience the service levels that we are typically known for.

Be well,
Nathan Baslaw
Service Express Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Habra, California
Level Contributor
72 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

The Westin Verasa is conveniently located in the downtown Napa area. It is right off the Silverado trail... So you don't have to fight the normal traffic on Hwy 29. Shopping, restaurants, and gas are close by. The hotel is very modern and is one of the newest in the area.

Service was terrific! You are greeted at valet parking with plenty attendants. Check in is smooth. Again , no upgrade was available for Starwood gold members ( Starwood Gold does not seem to carry much weight in my experience ). Our room was very clean and comfortable. The "heavenly beds" are standard for the Westin hotels. Starbucks coffee is also available in the room.

La Toque restaurant is simply wonderful. It is nice having a Michelin rated restaurant on property. Especially since most guests have been out tasting wines during the day. Their tasting menu is simple... But sure to please all different types of tastes. You can choose 3 to 4 dishes to taste from a generous list of choices. The service ( both wine and food ) was excellent. Attendants were attentive but not intrusive. Expect to spend around $100+ per person on food service.

The gym was very modern and functional. We didn't use the gym until after dinner... So it was basically empty.

The only issue that we encountered was that the hotel allowed a group (~20 people) to party in a suite that was about 5 rooms away from us. Although the rooms are fairly well treated for acoustics.... We were kept up well past midnite by their continual door slammings and drunken loud guests. This happened each nite of our 3 day stay. I hope that this was just an exception.

I would recommend this hotel for its convenient location, and wonderful restaurant ( La Toque ).

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brad L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

We stayed at this resort as we are fans of Westins. I booked the trip on Expedia thinking it was going to be $200 a night. Found out i made a mistake and had booked for a month latter. After causing a lot of trouble I managed to get them to change it but ended up being about $300 night. The rooms are nice with a kitchenette, however you are in Napa who really wants to cook.

The pool seemed nice and the gym was small but had great machines.

The resort fee of $20 is nice - includes valet and wifi. That itself is usually $15-20 each anyway.

The resort is in great location to Oxbow Market (the fresh juices are great and the coffee).

I would of probably rated have stayed somewhere else closer to wineries but was a great first experience.

Room Tip: We got the Deluxe and unless you are going to use Kitchenette - just get traditional.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank itravelusa86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinNapa_CA, Manager at The Westin Verasa Napa, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Thank you for the great review and I’m although the rate was a bit higher than you expected I’m glad we were able to make your stay an enjoyable one. I also want to thank you for your appreciation of our bundled resort amenity fee. I too feel that it’s a true value added expense because the price reflects a group of services that can often run over $100 in value at many other properties.

I hope on your next visit to Napa we’ll have the opportunity to welcome you back.

Be well,
Nathan Baslaw
Service Express Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

This was my husband and my first visit to the Westin in Napa, and we were not disappointed. We stayed in the 1 bdrm premium suite and really enjoyed our stay. We even brought our pup and the suite provided ample room for us. The staff always greeted us with a smile, from the valet person to the cleaning lady. It was only a 1 night stay, but we would definitely stay here again and highly recommend it if you're looking for a place to stay that makes it really feel like a vacation. The location is great, walking distance to Oxbow market and downtown Napa. Great stay!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank E Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinNapa_CA, Manager at The Westin Verasa Napa, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Thank you for the rave review and feedback for our future travelers. I hope on your next visit you have the opportunity to stay a little longer and enjoy a little more of our Legendary Napa Valley.

We look forward to seeing you back soon.

Be well,
Nathan Baslaw
Service Express Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

My wife and I went to this hotel during President day weekend. It was a last minute trip and we wanted to go to Yountville first but all the hotels were sold out. We picked the Westin because we are spg guest and because this hotel had one bedroom suite. We were traveling with our 3 months old son so we needed something practical. The Westin did not disappointed us. The room was larger than expected and very clean. A separated living with a well appointed kitchen and bathroom was a nice surprise. Bedroom had a King bed but felt a little bit small with the crib inside. But overall all was really good for what we were looking for. We were giving a 3rd and last floor corner unit. Very calm inside but one night away from our room a very loud guest was listening to music with windows wide open. All the rooms in my corner could listen to it unfortunately for hours without any intervention from the front desk. In room dining was the only let down. With a 3 months old it's best to order food and stay in the room. Unfortunately the choice of food was very limited. Finally location in Napa is great but if you are looking for something more upscale, you should look in Yountville.
If I come back in Napa, I will definitely stay here. The few negatives described above are minor in comparison with the positives.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rytonn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinNapa_CA, Manager at The Westin Verasa Napa, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Thank you for the detailed review and both the good feedback and the feedback for improvement. I’m sorry for the various issues but I’m glad to hear that the overall trip was a good one. We look forward to having you back again and I will ensure you that your next trip will be a more Westin experience from time of arrival till your departure.

We hope to see you soon.

Be well,
Nathan Baslaw
Service Express Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Napa
0.5 mi away
Andaz Napa
Andaz Napa
#4 of 30 in Napa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,895 reviews
0.5 mi away
Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill
2.0 mi away
Napa Valley Marriott Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Elm House Inn
8.0 mi away
Bardessono
Bardessono
#2 of 6 in Yountville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Verasa Napa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Verasa Napa

Property: The Westin Verasa Napa
Address: 1314 McKinstry Street, Napa, CA 94559-1900
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Napa
#6 Green Hotel in Napa
#8 Romantic Hotel in Napa
#8 Family Hotel in Napa
#11 Business Hotel in Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Verasa Napa 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Verasa Napa is located downtown near the heart of Wine Country. Just steps from the famous Wine Train, our hotel has 5-star dining and 3,200+ sq ft of event space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Verasa Napa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Verasa, Napa Hotel Napa
Westin Hotel Verasa
Westin Hotel Napa
The Westin Verasa Napa Napa Valley, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing