We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Westin Verasa Napa
Ranked #8 of 30 Hotels in Napa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed November 13, 2011

As a Platinum status member, there are really no benefits to staying at this property. No lounge, no free breakfast (or even coffee), no ease of check-in, etc. It took us over 40 minutes to check in to our room and when all was said and done, there was no explanation given for why it took so long! There was a used wine glass left in the middle of the hall by our door and was not removed for two days!

Yes, it is relatively nice looking property but if the service can't back it up then it really is not worth staying here for the high rate the hotel charges. Sorry but I won't be staying here ever again. Based on all the negative reviews, I really cannot understand how and why the management of this hotel does not work to improve the service in this hotel...

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AZ-jetsetter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,410)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,090 - 1,096 of 1,410 reviews

Reviewed November 11, 2011

My wife and I recently had the luxurious pleasure of staying at the Westin Verasa, Napa. This hotel exceeded all expectations. We have stayed in similar hotels elsewhere, but this was a truly great experince.
The rooms were very spacious and well appointed, with full suite amenities (complete cooking and dining set for four). Our room, with its balcony, looked over Napa and the hotel is conveniently located at the embarkation point for the Napa Valley Wine Train.
The staff went above and beyond with their attention to detail in the the cleanliness of both the rooms as well as the property in general. They were also more than welcoming in any and all interactions, whether at a point of service or in general contact passing through the common areas.
We had occasion to enjoy the fine food from the onsite restaurant "La Toque" in a banquet capacity and I was thoroughly impressed. The afternoon wine & tapas sampling was a pleasure to return to after a day of traveling the valley.
The "footwise" location of this hotel is ideal for those wanting to explore Napa courtesy of their feet. Fifteen minutes gets you to downtown to find delightful dining options and some interesting shopping. Five minutes puts you at the "Oxbow Market" where one will find a good selection of eateries as well as fresh produce, a bakery and butcher for in room meal preparations.
This is a perfect hotel for a couple wishing to spend a some time relaxing and taking a break from rigorous schedules and regimented lifestyles. A joy.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rgnanook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2011

My husband and I were looking for a nice hotel to stay in after a early morning hot air balloon ride over the Napa Valley. We knew the Valley itself was going to be out of our budget and decided downtown Napa was worth exploring this trip. We were lucky to have secured a great discount on a room through the Napa Valley Central Reservations Service. Our stay was lovely. They even upgraded our room to a mini suite, which included a fully-stocked modern kitchenette, a huge bathroom, a king bedroom and dining area. The view wasn't great but it was away from the elevators and quiet. The bed was very comfortable and we loved the linens and pillows. At one point we relaxed by the outdoor pool inside one of the cozy covered cabanas while the rain fell. Our only two complaints were the complimentary guest robes, both of which were too small for us though good for a few laughs and the presence of a lot of small bugs in the hot tub in the morning, although we wondered if they may have been brought in by the rain. We also enjoyed a great dinner at the bar. Although there were some timing issues with our food, our waiter, Darryl, more than made up for it with gracious service and by bringing us a complimentary appetizer, an additional glass of Cabernet and some dessert wine. The next morning, we were given a late check-out and enjoyed the tub again, even after we'd checked out, for no additional charge. We were surprised to be the only ones using it. It was a short stay but very restoring. We would certainly return again. It's also close to the Oxbow shopping district and some great downtown wine tasting rooms.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms facing the courtyard or pool, not the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisgmck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2011

The hotel is beautiful, the service is great, and its an easy walk to downtown Napa restaurants in the new River development. My room had a kitchen set up, which would be great for a longer stay. The Farmers Market and other "foodie" stores are in walking distance, so you could prepare your own meal to accompany that great wine you just bought. The pool area is lovely, the bar nice, and the adjacent restaurant has a great chef.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cathy0215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2011

We stayed at the Westin Verasa early August 2011 with several other couples. Wow, what a great place to stay and call home base while touring the Napa area. I would easily recommend this property to friends and family.

Check-in / front desk - what a wonderful staff. Every day, regardless of time the front desk was there to help. Check-in was easy, rooms ready upon arrival, and friendly, smiling faces!

Room - we stayed in a one bedroom suite. I highly recommend paying the extra and get the extra space in your room. Full kitchen, dining table that seats 6-8, and sofa area that seats 5-6. Bed met the Westin standards and bathroom / shower was awesome. We requested a room off of the pool area and had no issue with excess noise during the day or night.

Lobby / lobby bar - great lobby bar that in the evening opens up to the patio and pool area. Ample seating and a very friendly and knowledgeable bar staff to help you pick a great drink after a long day touring local wineries and vineyards. They have a small happy hour for those who are Starwood guests; I enjoyed the hours o'douvres although I noticed after 2-3 days that they didn't have a lot of variety day to day. The hotel also bring in some smaller wineries to showcase their wines with free samples. Lobby bar stays open until 11-12 PM.

Restaurant - we only ate at the hotel restaurant twice, but the food was good. I was slightly disappointed in the Sunday brunch. It was not that the food was bad, and in all actuality it was great, but the hotel posts the brunch menu and I for some reason had expectations that there would be a small buffet type of setting where we could try a few of the different menu items...the brunch was more like a set menu to order off of. That said, the food was good.

Pool - water was a good temperature given the time of the year and we made use of the pool cabanas which are on a first come, first serve basis...but absolutely great! We spend one afternoon just relaxing in the cabana after 4 days of touring vineyards and wineries. My only complaint was that they always seemed to be low on towels in the afternoon. Great poolside bar and food service from the staff. Thanks guys!

Location - perfect location. The hotel is situated about 200 yards from the Oxbow Market, which is great for getting meats, cheeses, breads and other grocery assortments. More on that later. Then to get to the small, downtown Napa area its only about a 8 minute walk. Very convenient for hitting restaurants and wine bars. Very safe walk as well; made many a trip back from downtown to the hotel after midnight.

Things to do close by - I would certainly recommend that you get your staples of meats, cheeses, breads and wine at the Oxbow upon arrival. They also have a small organic grocery store in the marketplace. Oxbow is essentially an indoors marketplace of about a dozen niche, boutique restaurants and food merchants. There is a great cheese shop in there, a great place that serves amazing breakfast tacos, and a very cool drip coffee establishment. Loved it. Also close by are other great places downtown. Some of our favorite was Carpe Diem wine bar; we met the owners and want back there every night for a night cap and felt at home. Angele is a great restaurant close to Morimoto's. Loved the food at Angele and their management staff is great (they helped us with a reservation problem and got our large party seated). We ate at Zhu Zhu...great way to feed a dozen of people, and at a reasonable price too. Awesome Sangria at Zhu Zhu. The wine train station is right out the front door of the hotel but we didn't use it so I really can't render my opinion there. :)

Kudos - I also have to give kudos to the staff. I sent one of my favorite shirts down to get laundered and was misinformed as to when I'd be getting it back and ended up not having what I wanted to wear for dinner (birthday celebration) due to laundry not being back on time, the hotel staff still had my shirt cleaned while at dinner, ironed, and returned before dinner was over, and they left me a cake and card apologizing for the inconvenience. This was a nice touch.

In short, if you plan to stay several days in Napa and want to stay close to downtown, the Verasa is for you.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1connection
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2011

This hotel was clean with nice-sized rooms with kitchen (burner, microwave, fridge, etc.). The location was close to downtown napa, but at least 30 minutes from most wineries. The restaurant on-site was expensive, but very good.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bemison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2011

Stayed for one night in October last-minute; we usually stay at the nearby Avia but we wanted the pool/hot tub this time. Both were very nice but there is no poolside service which is a bit of a downer. Room was good size and nicely enough furnished. Add-on fees like resort fee is par for the course. We like the location because downtown Napa has lots of restaurants and Oxbow but people looking for wine country living might like to stay elsewhere. If you don't need the pool, I think the rooms are comparable to better at Avia, and Avia has friendlier service and is less expensive/better value. If you want more of a resort feel though, come here. But despite the fact that you will pay $400 per night or so at least, with taxes, it doesn't feel like the lap of sophisticated luxury so adjust your expectations. Examples: Some young people were hanging on their balcony overlooking the pool drinking a case of Coors rather loudly (and this is wine country, people). Our room view was fairly awful, overlooking a parking lot where the wine train boards.

I do have an issue with Starwood to highlight - the Westin website says rooms are 12-16k starwood points per night. I recently called to book (not for this stay) and was told that it would require 60k points because it was high season and only the 1 bedroom suites were available (these are a large number of the rooms, by the way) To me, that is false advertising.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frequent_TravelsSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Napa hotels
0.5 mi away
Andaz Napa
Andaz Napa
#4 of 30 in Napa
2,097 reviews
2 mi away
Napa Valley Marriott Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Napa Valley
0.1 mi away
River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel
1 mi away
Best Western Plus Elm House Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Verasa Napa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Verasa Napa

Address: 1314 McKinstry Street, Napa, CA 94559-1900
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Napa
#6 Green Hotel in Napa
#8 Romantic Hotel in Napa
#8 Family Hotel in Napa
#11 Business Hotel in Napa
Price Range: $242 - $557 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Verasa Napa 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Verasa Napa is located downtown near the heart of Wine Country. Just steps from the famous Wine Train, our hotel has 5-star dining and 3,200+ sq ft of event space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Westin Verasa Napa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Verasa, Napa Hotel Napa
Westin Hotel Verasa
Westin Hotel Napa
The Westin Verasa Napa Napa Valley, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing