We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic!”
Review of Shafer Vineyards

Shafer Vineyards
Ranked #60 of 189 things to do in Napa
Attraction details
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
681 reviews
98 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 288 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

A very nice experience, not your run of the mill tourist trap ( they don't even have a sign on the road) it just proves that if you have a good product people will find it. Not cheap, but then good things aren't cheap, and cheap things aren't good.

Helpful?
2 Thank BethlehemPaUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    9
    4
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Basking Ridge, New Jersey
Level Contributor
145 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great wine, great view, great tasting”
Reviewed March 8, 2013 via mobile

I have been a Shafer customer for many years, and this was my first visiit. We had a very friendly group to taste with, and the wines were spetacular. john Shafer stopped by to say hello to the group. I also had the pleasure of meeting Dougg and Elias. The view is breath taking

Helpful?
Thank Evan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic!!”
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Shafer is a must go-to if you can get in. The views are beautiful and the wine is spectacular. The woman serving our wine, Andrea, was very knowledgeable about the wines. You get six wines (all fantastic) and the history of the vineyard. Well worth the $45 a person!

I see some people are complaining about the group setting (12 people in the tasting which we found quite fun). If you are looking for a more intimate experience, go to Larkmead (also $45 with great wines). I'd recommend going to both!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Brandon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Minnesota
Level Contributor
123 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Impressive at every level!”
Reviewed November 2, 2012

We've been to hundreds of tasting on our visits to the Napa/Sonoma area and found the Shafer experience exceptional. We already knew about the quality of their wines and the detail they exhibit during their tastings matches the taste of their product. The property is magnificent and well hidden away from the Silverado Trail. Mr. Shafer is a splendid man and the story behind his success is worth the time to hear about. I'd add that the quality of any of these tastings somewhat depends on the guests being willing to ask questions. Our guide was very generous with this time and informaiton. We'll be repeat visitors.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank TravelMack425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Perfect day perfect tasting”
Reviewed October 20, 2012

A little bit expensive but the wines were fantastic and we enjoyed some wine and cheese on their patio. No trouble with bugs on in the wine. The person that gave the tour was very knowledgeable.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank S H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shafer Vineyards also viewed

 
St. Helena, Napa Valley
 

Been to Shafer Vineyards? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing