We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not my kind of cab's”
Review of Stags' Leap Winery

Stags' Leap Winery
Ranked #32 of 191 things to do in Napa
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Stags' Leap Winery is truly a hidden gem in the highly acclaimed Stags Leap District. Located off a long, private road, our nineteenth-century stone winery and Victorian era Manor House are nestled against the Stags Leap Palisades east of the Silverado Trail. We invite you to make a reservation and visit this magical place with its beautiful gardens and stylish wines including the award-winning field blend, Ne Cede Malis, and opulent "The Leap" and "Audentia" Cabernet Sauvignon. We are open by appointment only and are unable to accommodate drop in guests due to traffic restrictions on our private road.
Thousand Oaks, California
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Not my kind of cab's”
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Maybe because they were pouring "new" cab's or I just don't like tanniny grassy cab's. They have such a rep, but Grgich, Del Dotto and Chateau Montelena had much more drinkable cab's. Stag's should start pouring wine that is more mature because other people we met while out tasting were of the same opinion.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank sandy c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    41
    21
    6
    9
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Just great! Staff was knowledgeable and helpful”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

The tasting was wonderful and the staff was very helpful and friendly. We sat at a nice table in the sun and sipped away. I have nothing bad to say about my experience. I would recommend stopping here.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank eddiEEEgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful grounds and tasting room”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Amazing Cabs, amazing staff, and classy tasting room. Went on a Tuesday in October and basically had the place to ourselves. Do not miss.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank bmack25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
201 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Friendly and Informative”
Reviewed October 13, 2012

Although a little hard to find a parking spot, the effort is worth it. Very friendly server, who was well informed about the wines and the history of the estate. Delicious selections; expensive, but worth it. Nice patio area and indoor area for tasting; your choice.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank FranknDebbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elm Grove, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Big name big dissappointment”
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Some times the big names don't try the hardest. The tasting was pricey and very limited. Go with the lesser know smaller winerys it's a much better experience.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stags' Leap Winery also viewed

 

Been to Stags' Leap Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing