We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stags Leap Wine Tasting”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Stags' Leap Winery

Stags' Leap Winery
Ranked #35 of 186 things to do in Napa
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Stags' Leap Winery is truly a hidden gem in the highly acclaimed Stags Leap District. Located off a long, private road, our nineteenth-century stone winery and Victorian era Manor House are nestled against the Stags Leap Palisades east of the Silverado Trail. We invite you to make a reservation and visit this magical place with its beautiful gardens and stylish wines including the award-winning field blend, Ne Cede Malis, and opulent "The Leap" and "Audentia" Cabernet Sauvignon. We are open by appointment only and are unable to accommodate drop in guests due to traffic restrictions on our private road.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Stags Leap Wine Tasting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2012

I had to experience some of the best wines from Napa Valley first hand so we went to Stag's Leap Vineyards and dished out $30 for a wine tasting for 2, and I would highly recommend this.. the staff was so friendly and informative, and we enjoyed ourselves immensely!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank vicchik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    41
    21
    7
    9
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brielle, New Jersey
Level Contributor
120 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Ho-Hum”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2012

While I did end up buying a couple of bottles even though what I wanted was out of stock, I found the tasting room to be rather lacking...in atmosphere and customer service. Two gentlemen were behind the "bar" and both seemed to just be going through the paces of service.

Perhaps I visited on an off day but I'd not recommend making a stop as there are so many others in the area to visit.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank DianeXit98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
King of Prussia, PA
Level Contributor
88 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Nice stop for Cabernet!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2012

Beautiful surroundings! Very cool tasting area. $30 for a tasting of 4 higher end Cabernets (its better to share, especially if you have already done tasting that day). Wonderful way to taste a $200 bottle of wine! There is a $15 option for tasting as well.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank MomofHandH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deptford, New Jersey
Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Average wines, but very beautiful grounds”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2012

If you know anything about wine you know Stags Leap is not the top of the line but we still enjoyed our tasting. There were 2 options available, we chose the $15 tasting and sampled a 2 cabernets and 2 chardonnays. I didn't care for the chardonnay's but that is just a personal perference. You can share a tasting as well, and if you buy 2 bottles of wine they waive the tasting fee. The tasting room was cute with huge barrels for the tables and there was also a decent sized bar where people were having tastings. If you are looking for somewhere to eat lunch they had tables set up outside in the shade and the grounds were very beautiful.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank MrsJoeyD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vacaville, California
Level Contributor
51 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Average Vineyard”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2012

Stags Leap makes a good moderate cost wine at a great location...a nice Napa vineyard experience.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stags' Leap Winery also viewed

 

Been to Stags' Leap Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing