We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Wine Tasting Experience”

William Hill Estate Winery
Ranked #37 of 191 things to do in Napa
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: William Hill Estate is renowned for crafting elegant Chardonnay, Cabernet Sauvignon, and Merlot wines due to its exceptional location just off the Silverado Trail in southern Napa Valley on the rolling hills of the Silverado Bench. William Hill founded this Estate Winery in 1978, purchasing 200 acres of which 140 acres are planted to vine. Once classic in style, winemaker Ralf Holdenried has successfully transitioned our wines to a more refined and sophisticated style with fruit intensity and layers of complexity. Ralf's innovative and progressive approach to grape growing and winemaking enhances the unique style of our Napa Valley wines.
Tempe, Arizona, United States
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Wine Tasting Experience”
Reviewed February 1, 2013

Just dropped in on a Saturday morning and was relatively empty. Great wine and a great atmosphere with freedom to walk around. Recommend!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank rhstratton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    15
    9
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Corona, California
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Great Wine Tasting Experience”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Had an awesome wine tasting experience here. Will go back. Great surroundings and grounds. Joined their wine club.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank general5star1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Good location, wines are OK”
Reviewed October 16, 2012

This was the last winery my husband and I stopped at during our stay in Napa Valley. The winery building and the surrounding vineyards are very picturesque, and it was nice to sit out on the veranda during our tasting, but we weren't impressed by the wines.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katy, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great Event”
Reviewed September 27, 2012

We had an event at the William Hill Winery and what a great location to have an event. It was a beautiful view unobstructed by other wineries or roads. The tasting room looks brand new and behind the wine serving counter is there the wine cellar. The grounds are incredible and a beautiful place to picnic. A must stop while in Napa.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Clown_puncher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“A great find”
Reviewed September 9, 2012

Our tour and tasting guide Alexis was very informative and engaging. Her thorough knowledge of the vineyard history, and wines was appreciated. She had a brix meter so we could see how the winemaker can tell when the grapes are ready to be picked. The Petit Verdot is an exclusive at this winery.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank BaileysJazzman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed William Hill Estate Winery also viewed

 

Been to William Hill Estate Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing