We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location, wines are OK”

William Hill Estate Winery
Ranked #39 of 189 things to do in Napa
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: William Hill Estate is renowned for crafting elegant Chardonnay, Cabernet Sauvignon, and Merlot wines due to its exceptional location just off the Silverado Trail in southern Napa Valley on the rolling hills of the Silverado Bench. William Hill founded this Estate Winery in 1978, purchasing 200 acres of which 140 acres are planted to vine. Once classic in style, winemaker Ralf Holdenried has successfully transitioned our wines to a more refined and sophisticated style with fruit intensity and layers of complexity. Ralf's innovative and progressive approach to grape growing and winemaking enhances the unique style of our Napa Valley wines.
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
137 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Good location, wines are OK”
Reviewed October 16, 2012

This was the last winery my husband and I stopped at during our stay in Napa Valley. The winery building and the surrounding vineyards are very picturesque, and it was nice to sit out on the veranda during our tasting, but we weren't impressed by the wines.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    15
    9
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Katy, Texas
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great Event”
Reviewed September 27, 2012

We had an event at the William Hill Winery and what a great location to have an event. It was a beautiful view unobstructed by other wineries or roads. The tasting room looks brand new and behind the wine serving counter is there the wine cellar. The grounds are incredible and a beautiful place to picnic. A must stop while in Napa.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Clown_puncher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek
Level Contributor
69 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“A great find”
Reviewed September 9, 2012

Our tour and tasting guide Alexis was very informative and engaging. Her thorough knowledge of the vineyard history, and wines was appreciated. She had a brix meter so we could see how the winemaker can tell when the grapes are ready to be picked. The Petit Verdot is an exclusive at this winery.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank BaileysJazzman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
114 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Greatest view in Napa”
Reviewed August 24, 2012

I stopped by here since I was staying at the Silverado Resort on Atlas Peak Road. I was blown away by the view. Nothing could be better than sitting in those white lawn chairs, sipping Chardonnay, and seeing this view. While the wine tasting room is small the grounds are fabulous. And the wine is good too and not expensive. The staff was very friendly. The out of the way location away from HY 29 makes this a real find.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank dkroon99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indio, California
Level Contributor
458 reviews
162 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Wounderfull”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

This is a great winery. Every time I am in Napa I must stop by and get some of their Chardonnay. No matter what year it is is is EXCELLENT and a must have.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed William Hill Estate Winery also viewed

 

Been to William Hill Estate Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing