We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our visit to the cave.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jarvis Estate

Jarvis Estate
Book In Advance
More Info
$420.00*
and up
Private Napa Valley Customized Wine Tour
Ranked #11 of 185 things to do in Napa
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Jarvis Estate is a family owned winery dedicated to crafting a limited quantity of preeminent wines from our sustainably farmed, estate vineyards in the rugged hillside, four miles east of downtown Napa Valley. The Jarvis Estate winemaking facility is entirely contained within 45,000 square feet of cave tunneled into the scenic Vaca Mountains,and is not only a visual masterpiece, but a technical masterpiece as well. Wines are produced only from estate grown grapes and are cave-aged to perfection prior to release. Varietals include: Chardonnay, Merlot, Cabernet Sauvignon, Petite Verdot, Tempranillo and a two proprietary Bordeaux blends.
Arlington, Texas, USA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Our visit to the cave.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

Very unique and high end experiance. Everything about the place was first class. Very knowledgable and entertaining guide on tour and tasting - Rob. Got some great pictures and had a great time. This is the nicest vineyard we visited during out trip by far and I would certainly consider it a must see venue to any friends planning a trip to this area.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Phillip F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    200
    25
    8
    5
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minnesota
Level Contributor
190 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Enjoy the cave! Enjoy the wine!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

Absolutely delicious wine - tasting is worth every $ ($60 pp). Very impressive cave,
you are totally 'underground' as the winery is built into the side of the mountain.
Delightful Cora was our tour/tasting guide.
Make a reservation and try this unique tour and tasting - it's unlike anywhere else in Napa.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Daisy095
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
“Impressive facility, fascinating tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

You'll be treated like a guest in a five star hotel/restaurant. Hosts are eloquent and very helpful, facility is incredible in its scale and attention to detail. You get a separate glass for each wine you taste and I must say this were some of the best wines I've ever tasted.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Maksim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
59 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Wow, nothing like you'll ever see!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012 via mobile

Impressive & fantastic wine... Enough said. Even the entrance is large & impresses you right from the start. Wine tasting room is comfortable makes you feel special. Our guide was fantastic, great sense of dry humor :)

Helpful?
Thank Travelingcouple149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia, USA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Vineyard Tour -- Unique & Memorable!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

We visited about 10 vineyards during our stay in Napa, and Jarvis definitely stood out as one of my favorites. The entire winery is underground in a cave--the tour takes you throughout the cave and talks of the Jarvis' history in deciding to begin growing grapes and their wine making philosophy. They use only their own grapes and are big on aging their wines. They have a small plot where they grow around 50 varietals of grapes--guests are invited to meander the plot and taste as many as they please.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank JenniferM_529
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jarvis Estate also viewed

 

Been to Jarvis Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing