We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Review Highlights
Excellent experience

This was excellent and exceeded our expectations. The entire experience was meticulously organised... read more

Reviewed 4 days ago
profpcr
,
London, United Kingdom
via mobile
Beautiful Train, Beautiful Views, Beautiful People!

I was just in town for a concert and decided to spend the day in Napa. I was going down the walking... read more

Reviewed 4 days ago
Yoshiyahu D
Read all 5,201 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Napa
from $125.00
More Info
from $129.69
More Info
from $309.00
More Info
from $125.00
More Info
Reviews (5,201)
Filter reviews
5,201 results
Traveler rating
3,565
939
367
202
128
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
3,565
939
367
202
128
Show reviews that mention
All reviews vista dome dining car dome car napa valley legacy tour gourmet lunch lunch trip beef tenderloin corkage fee gourmet express creme brulee main course course meal charles krug grgich hills the wait staff our waiter
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1,718 - 1,723 of 5,201 reviews
Reviewed May 30, 2019

I would definitely recommend upgrading to lunch in the Vista Dome car so that you can easily see both sides of Highway 29. The meal was wonderful. The views aren't that great while in the town of Napa - you look at industrial areas and trailer parks. Once you get out of town, the railroad tracks run alongside Highway 29 so if you've already driven that way, you're not really going to see anything new - you're just sitting higher up.

The trip itself is pretty short and the train moves very slowly (all the cars on the road will be passing you by). The train made a couple stops, including one stop in St. Helena which is where we got off for the Castle Winery Tour, and is also the end of the line I think. We had a motorcoach that took us to the castle and then back to the train station afterwards. Our total time on the train was only about 1.5 hours.

The Castle Winery is fantastic and I highly recommend going there either with or without the Wine Train.

Overall, the wine train is a unique experience and the lunch was very good and worth doing. The best way to see the area though is to get out in a car (with or without a driver) and explore.

Date of experience: May 2019
2  Thank Wendy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed May 29, 2019

A two day stay in Napa was part of our tour of California and once there we just had to do the Wine Train tour. We managed to get booked on the Ambassador Tour which was expensive (500 Dollars for two) but we were not going to miss an opportunity to go.

We arrived at the "station" at 10.00am and joined our fellow guests in the waiting area before being called to board. We were seated in a beautiful old carriage with another couple on a table beautifully laid out for lunch.

Lunch was served early and consisted of a three course meal, beautifully presented by very friendly and efficient staff as we travelled along the Napa valley wine region.

Once lunch was finished we were escorted off the train and onto a luxury mini coach to visit the vineyards. We visited Krugg and Raymonds vineyards and our hosts in each of the destination presented the history of the vineyards and poured six different wines to taste as we wandered through the facilities. Absolutely fascinating.

After three hours we were ferried back to the station where they have a shop (of course they do) where wines and accessories can be purchased.

Firstly I have to say, that we thoroughly enjoyed the day, it was fun, interesting and thoroughly entertaining.

My feedback to the management: -

To pay 250 dollars a head and not even be offered a single glass of wine with lunch is very disappointing. We had to pay for our wine!

To be strongly advised to tip the staff a percentage of the cost of the trip and not just the wine we purchased I thought was a little on the strong side.

The wine tasting experience was excellent for entertainment but to be served all six wines from the same glass, red and whites, was not so much about wine tasting but simply drinking.

The guides in the vineyards presented to us more about the history and personality of the vineyards rather than the wine we were tasting.

This said....we thoroughly enjoyed the day.

Date of experience: May 2019
4  Thank DavidJM720
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed May 27, 2019

We went as a group of six, and everything was very nice. I did however notice this would workout a bit better for couples or groups up to four as the tables each set four.
The service was very good, staff was helpful and courteous. The meal was the BEST PART by far, all meals we ordered were very well thought out and worked well together we tried the beef, salmon and pork and there was no unsatisfied diners.The bread was very good, the dessert was decadent. Not great as a wine tasting excursion because drinks were purchased individually, we did have some flights of wine, but it was a bit expensive as we went along. It made for a very relaxing and enjoyable day.

Date of experience: May 2019
1  Thank R H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed May 27, 2019 via mobile

We took the Legacy Tour, and were quite satisfied. The food exceeded my expectations, and the courses were efficiently served between stops at wineries. You really don’t need breakfast before this trip!

At each winery we got some history as well as the tasting of at least 3 wines. I thought there was a bit of a hard sell for their wine clubs, but all in all, we had a great day.

Date of experience: May 2019
4  Thank Donna Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed May 27, 2019

We took the lunch train from Napa to St. Helena and back. Beautiful day, food and service very good. I wish there had been some sort of wine tasting or education; there was not. I did have the red wine flight with lunch and it was a good and generous assortment.

Date of experience: April 2019
Thank USMA74
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews