We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Review Highlights
Excellent experience

This was excellent and exceeded our expectations. The entire experience was meticulously organised... read more

Reviewed 4 days ago
profpcr
,
London, United Kingdom
via mobile
Beautiful Train, Beautiful Views, Beautiful People!

I was just in town for a concert and decided to spend the day in Napa. I was going down the walking... read more

Reviewed 4 days ago
Yoshiyahu D
Read all 5,201 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Napa
from $125.00
More Info
from $129.69
More Info
from $309.00
More Info
from $125.00
More Info
Reviews (5,201)
Filter reviews
5,201 results
Traveler rating
3,565
939
367
202
128
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
3,565
939
367
202
128
Show reviews that mention
All reviews vista dome dining car dome car napa valley legacy tour gourmet lunch lunch trip beef tenderloin corkage fee gourmet express creme brulee main course course meal charles krug grgich hills the wait staff our waiter
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1,743 - 1,748 of 5,201 reviews
Reviewed May 7, 2019

Overall, the wine train was a fun experience. Our train served a lunch with dessert in the lounge. The servers were excellent. While the food was good and the service was equal, be aware that you will need to pay for any wine you order on the train. This came as a bit of a surprise, especially after forking over $300 per person for the experience. Our group of 5 spent another $150 on wine. The shock of not having a sampling included in our lunch has caused me to reduce the rating from a 4 to a 3 level experience.

Date of experience: April 2019
2  Thank Mark F
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed May 7, 2019

Loved this and have done it several times for dinner. We boarded and just sat up in the dome. Very quiet and great views. You do not get off the train as most folks think. I have never done the wine train and ridden downstairs, but would love do do the lunch train.

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank Tina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
NVWTRG, Guest Relations Manager at Napa Valley Wine Train, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2019

Thank you for sharing your positive experience on the Wine Train Vista Dome, and are so happy that you continue to visit us. September 16th will be our 30th year in service and to honor that we are renovating our 1915 Pullman cars. Our Gourmet Dining cars will be the first to be finished this May. We'd love to see you again and get your thoughts. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2019 via mobile

Had a great time. Our server knew alot about the history of the area. Food was excellent. Dome car was neat to view the area as we travelled.

Date of experience: May 2019
Thank Barb T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
NVWTRG, Guest Relations Manager at Napa Valley Wine Train, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2019

We are glad you enjoyed your day in our Vista Dome car.
Thank you for joining us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2019 via mobile

I choose a wine pairing course.

The scenery from the vista dome was very nice.
But I was passionate about chatting with my friends and I didn't look out so much.

Course dishes can be selected on at that time.

The course food I chose was as follows.

First
Beef tenderloin carpaccio and Charles Krug Merlot 2014

Second
Roasted beets
With pine Ridge Cheinin Blanc-Viognier 2016

Main
Porcini dusted sliced ​​tenderloin of beef
Robert Mondavi Cabernet Sauvignon 2015

Sweet
Strawberry tart

The course and the wine were great for us.
It was a satisfying content for us.

And also service were so good!

4  Thank matu4
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
NVWTRG, Guest Relations Manager at Napa Valley Wine Train, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2019

Thank you so much for joining us. We are delighted you had a great time in our care. We hope to see you again the next time your travels bring you to the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2019

Visiting wineries in Napa with friends for the weekend and decided to hopped on the Napa Valley Train.
Easy access through downtown Napa, ample parking lot, easy check in, arrived 30 mins before boarding and checked out the gift shop and had cocktails at the bar.
Server Jacob and his assistant Jorge' were excellent on their services and providing everything our party need during the dining period.
Entrees were deliciously prepared and enough to satisfy anyone's appetite.
Wine and beer are extra beside your prepaid meal.
Coffee and cake appetizers (lemon cake and chocolate cake) both good and served at the observation train car during the returning trip back to the station.

Date of experience: April 2019
2  Thank rdegu00
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
NVWTRG, Guest Relations Manager at Napa Valley Wine Train, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2019

We are so glad you enjoyed your ride! We will be sure to share your comments with our team and hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews