We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing scenery and meal”

Napa Valley Wine Train
Book In Advance
More Info
$146.00*
and up
Napa Valley Wine Train with Gourmet Lunch
Ranked #12 of 223 Food & Drink in Napa
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Napa Valley Wine Train provides a relaxing three-hour, thirty-six mile round-trip journey from the historic town of Napa, through one of the world's most well known wine valleys to the quaint village of St. Helena, and back.Guests aboard the Wine Train enjoy a freshly prepared lunch or dinner inside a fully restored 1917 Pullman Dining Car or 1952 Vista Dome car as they pass the vineyards and wineries of Napa Valley. They also have the option of pre-purchasing a winery tour.
Canada
Level Contributor
46 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Amazing scenery and meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

We booked a lunch trip on Thanksgiving Day. What a beautiful way to spend a afternoon. We started with a introduction and wine tasting in the station. We then boarded the trian for a slow ride up the middle of Napa Valley. The cars are beautiful. reminding you of the way train travel was like in its hayday. The service was excellent. And the meal was superb. Everything from the appetizers to dessert was first class. The presentation, quality and portion size were perfect. Can't say enough about the day. Thank you for making our day Napa Wine Train.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Canuck55Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,651 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,805
    568
    160
    78
    40
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Much Better than I expected”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

My parents wanted to go so I thought this was going to be a little boring - But it was Awesome!
First - Upgrade to the better class of service with a sit down dinner - The food was excellent and the wine list was long and carried many of Napa's best. The scenery was impressive and you get time to appreciate the mountains and Napa Chateau views - We'll do it again.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank US S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellaire, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not to be missed!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

My husband and I rode aboard the vintage train cars for an elegant, scenic lunch on our first day in Napa Valley. The refurbished cars are beautifully decorated and quite comfortable. The route does follow the main highway in the valley, but the vineyards are lovely and you get a look at several wineries you may want to visit. I was pleasantly surprised at the quality of the food. All the meals are freshly prepared in the kitchen on board the train, not made ahead of time and simply reheated. The chefs are top-notch and I believe have been featured on the Food Network. There are several entrees to choose from so there is something for everyone, even a vegetarian dish for me. The desserts were some of the tastiest I've had. We each chose a different one and split them! Finally, the service was professional, attentive, and courteous. An experience not to be missed in Napa Valley.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Level Contributor
96 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“A Must for Romantics”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

Purchase a table in the Dome Car and you will never regret it. You will be treated like royality and nnot have to worry about "seatings" as the table is yours for the entire trip. At dinner, gentleman will want a sports coat and ladys a dress but nothing special is required and some show up in blue jeans. The wines and food are good but not the very best in the Napa Valley. As long as one realizes this, there will be no disappointment. Do get up to explore the train and don't miss the lovely sunset.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank mbisme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“What a way to impress your significant other”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2012

Everything about the experience from food to service was excellent. The large full size windows allow for impressive photography. Food quality and portions were generous.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank davidrubel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Napa Valley Wine Train also viewed

 

Been to Napa Valley Wine Train? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing