We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Different experience worth a try”

Napa Valley Wine Train
Book In Advance
More Info
$146.00*
and up
Napa Valley Wine Train with Gourmet Lunch
More Info
$266.00*
and up
Napa Valley Wine Train from San Francisco: Gourmet Lunch, Wine Tasting and...
More Info
$206.00*
and up
Napa Valley Wine Train with Gourmet Lunch, Wine Tasting and Vineyard Tours
Ranked #10 of 233 Food & Drink in Napa
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Napa Valley Wine Train provides a relaxing three-hour, thirty-six mile round-trip journey from the historic town of Napa, through one of the world's most well known wine valleys to the quaint village of St. Helena, and back.Guests aboard the Wine Train enjoy a freshly prepared lunch or dinner inside a fully restored 1917 Pullman Dining Car or 1952 Vista Dome car as they pass the vineyards and wineries of Napa Valley. They also have the option of pre-purchasing a winery tour.
Pensacola, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Different experience worth a try”
Reviewed October 2, 2012

I wish that it had started earlier at the this time of year, since it got dark pretty fast and then we couldn't see anything. I'm sure in the middle of summer or the lunchtime train it's a little different. The food was fantastic and it was great to be able to see the other cars of the Pullman train.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Erin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,783 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,900
    588
    169
    84
    42
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Meridian, Mississippi
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Lots of fun”
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Went on the wine train for lunch the first day in Napa. It is really a cool way to see the wine country. Vintage train cars, excellent service and the food was very good. Great way to spend a few hours

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank ReadytoTravel51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lloydminster
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Meal”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We booked the barbecue lunch tour. The food was better than what we had expected. My wife and I both had the ribs. THey were fall off the bones and seasoned to perfection. The tour guide was very knowable and knew the area and the winerys. Learned lotsa fact about Napa Valley. Nice to ride and watch theworld go by.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Phoneguywayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Elegant train ride and excellent food”
Reviewed September 29, 2012

We went on the wine train Vista Dome with another couple for a birthday celebration. Crisp table clothes, fresh orchids, and candles on the tables make for an elegant atmosphere. The dome car is worth the extra cost because you are higher up so the views are lovely. It is also more private because you stay at the same table the entire time and do not have other people walking through the car to go to the observation deck or wine tasting car.

A glass of champagne is served with dinner in the dome car and they tell you before you board the train that there is a $15 corkage fee - so it shouldn't come as a surprise if you choose to take your own wine on board. We asked for a suggested wine with our dinners and were offered a taste before we decided. The suggestion was excellent and we ordered the bottle.

Serve was excellent - friendly yet discreet. Asked several questions during the trip and the servers answered in a friendly and informative manner. Water glasses were kept filled and more bread was brought to our table without asking. All four of us agreed that the food was fantastic, much better than we thought would be served from a kitchen on a train. We felt that there were quite a few choices on the menu - 2 appetizers, soup or salad, 5 entrees, and 3 desserts. The menu can be viewed online if you want to see it ahead of time. Also, tip is included in the cost of the ticket, you are instructed that you may tip extra if service is above the expected level (we did leave an extra tip for excellent service) but tipping extra is not required.

The only downside was that this time of year (end of Sept) much of the trip is after the sun sets, but on the way up the valley there was a lovely sunset. The darkness made the setting feel intimate and cozy and it was interesting to see the lights highlighting some of the wineries.

After the trip all of us agreed that it was a perfect evening. Our friends decided to buy a gift certificate for their mother as a Christmas gift. Would definitely recommend this trip.

Helpful?
3 Thank Lildante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Elegant train ride and excellent food”
Reviewed September 29, 2012

We went with another couple on the Vista Dome train for a birthday. All four agreed that it was a very nice experience and the other couple decided to purchase a gift certificate for their mother for a Christmas gift. The Vista Dome is slightly more expensive, but I think it is worth the extra cost. You sit higher up so the views are lovely and it is more private than the other cars - people are not walking through the aisles to get to the observation deck, wine tasting car, etc. All of us agreed that the food was excellent, not necessarily expected that quality considering it is all cooked on the train. Service was excellent, friendly yet discreet. Water glasses were filled promptly and we were given a sample of the wine that was suggested before making a decision about which wine to order. This time of year (end of Sept), most of the trip is in darkness but the sunset is spectacular over the mountains and vineyards. After the trip all of us agreed that it was a great evening and worth the cost.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lildante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Napa Valley Wine Train also viewed

 

Been to Napa Valley Wine Train? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing