We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice B&B”
Review of Myers Country Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Myers Flat
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Myers Country Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Myers Flat B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Myers Country Inn is a very nice B&B in the CA redwoods. Avenue of the Giants is an amazing place and this B&B allows you to stay in the Redwoods. This former stagecoach stop has been very nicey restored. You aree served a fresh breakfast and entertsained by the Innkeepers 3 friendly children, We would be happy to stay at the inn again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cnlev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (98)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 98 reviews

Reviewed September 24, 2013

My husband & I stayed at Meyers Inn Sept 9th thru the 11th and had a wonderful stay. The lobby, dining area & room were very clean & comfortable. I am allergic to cats so I don't understand the comments regarding the cat fur that others have posted. The owner, Mack, was a great host & told us the past history of the inn, which has been in his family for generations. We had a delicious homemade breakfast each AM. His children are delightful, well mannered & were never in our way. Again, don't understand the other guests comments concerning the children. It is a great place to stay when visiting the Redwoods & surrounding area & we highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Clarissa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed here on a Sunday night on a whirlwind trip through Northern CA. The downstairs had a strong musty smell like it needs aired out. In our assigned room, first door on left at top of the stairs only had a sheer on the door to the deck and I think the deck is shared with all upstairs guests. No privacy after dark. We were up at 7:00 a.m. Monday morning, and no one else was awake. So there was no coffee, no breakfast, no nothing. Sleep was constantly interrupted by atvs, sirens, you name it. I will go back to that area again because I loved the redwoods, but I won't stay here again. The only positive point is that the young man that checked us in was nice.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JDS619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

I completely agree with the person who posted below. We recently stayed at this Inn. The innkeeper, while friendly/pleasant, has 3 children, ages something like 2, 3, and 4. They were there the moment we walked in, one playing a noisy computer game next to the check-in area, another one following us up to our rooms, trying to dig through our personal belongings, etc. (no blame to the kids who are too young to know better). The innkeeper told us upon check-in that he is a single father to the children. He is clearly trying to juggle operating the inn with taking care of his children on his own. He was not as available to assist us and often disappeared when we were looking for him with no way of knowing how to get ahold of him or where he was. There was a cat, which didn't bother us at all but could bother some guests based on personal preference/allergies. The area is a little sketchy with lots of cars driving by and something that sounded like a loud domestic dispute down the street in the middle of the night. This inn is fine for the location with few other choices nearby, but our biggest complaint was that it was one of the most expensive of 7 inns we stayed in in Northern CA and the quality and ambiance does not match the price. If the rooms were about half the cost of what they are, it would maybe be able right. Breakfast was fine - nothing fancy - just basic eggs, bacon, and french toast - and was made by and served by someone who appears to be about 16-17 years old. The innkeeper was nowhere to be found in the morning. Based on the glowing comments by others that stayed not too long ago, I wonder if things have recently changed for the innkeeper. The prior experience do not match our experience at all. The room was okay. We enjoyed the wrap-around porch off the room. The "bathroom" was simply a tiny space with shower and toilet, and the sink was outside of it, crammed in to a small corner. It was clear that the house had been converted and as much as possible had been crammed into a small space. My recommendation if you want to tour the Avenue of the Giants would be to stay elsewhere and drive in to visit it.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lin8229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We were staying at Meyers Inn for one night. The rooms were clean and comfortable and had little goodies in them. The night was pretty noisy due to the cars rushing by on 101 the whole night.
The house is wedged between the Avenue of Giants which quiets at about 8 p.m. and said Highway. Since our rooms both faced the Highway the noise was included.
The place is teeming with children, the owner has 3 of them, age 2-6 which are accompanying you to your rooms and even try to get in them. You can hear their activities in the house until after 10 p.m. e.g. in the hacking on the piano in the lobby.
We would’ve wished for a little more separation of family life and guests, after all it is an Inn and not a kinder garden.
The “Great Breakfast” they are boasting with merely consists of one scrambled egg, two slices of bacon, ten berries and one slice of a very bad French Toast, and everything prepared and served by an unexperienced teenager. No trace of the owner in the morning.
All in all the hefty prices they charge are not worth the accommodation, though we had pleasant stay.

P.S.: A warning to all the people allergic to cat fur: The cat is obviously allowed to the first floor with the dining area, whereas the rooms were clean of cat hair.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Cornelia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Thank you Matt for being an outstanding host! Your B&B was beautiful and breakfast was terrific. This was a gem in the midst of run of the mill hotels, I am so glad we found it..setting is so peaceful and your ability to make us all feel at home was great. Can't wait to plan another visit!
Ps..room was so crisp and clean..yeah!
Thanks.
Dorothy W

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dorothy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2013

We loved this Inn, so much a part of the Park experience. Matt the innkeeper makes a great breakfast and keeps the inn clean and cozy. If you want to be right in the redwood park, get a good night sleep and wake to a hearty breakfast then look no further. Highly recommended.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Rod N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Myers Flat
14.5 mi away
Benbow Historic Inn
Benbow Historic Inn
#1 of 5 in Garberville
726 reviews
12.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Humboldt House Inn
0.4 mi away
Giant Redwoods RV & Camp
Giant Redwoods RV & Camp
#1 of 1 in Myers Flat
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Myers Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Myers Country Inn

Address: 12913 Ave. of the Giants, Myers Flat, CA 95554
Location: United States > California > Humboldt County > Myers Flat
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Myers Flat
Price Range: $80 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Country Inn Myers Flat
Myers Flat Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing