We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Has gotten better”

R J's Sizzlin Steer
Ranked #11 of 208 Restaurants in Murrieta
Cuisines: American, Bar, Steakhouse, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
San Diego
Level Contributor
162 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Has gotten better”
Reviewed May 10, 2014

We were regular customers of RJs about 10 years ago when they were located in Temecula, Ca. The food was always outstanding. Then they moved to a new location in Murrieta and the quality seemed to go downhill. So we stayed away for the last few years. We recently decided to try it again and we were pleasantly surprised. I ordered the specialty steak and my wife ordered the ribeye. Both steaks were cooked to perfection. The server was very attentive. The food was brought quickly and the portions were good. The garlic bread is also very good. We also tried a couple of IPAs from local breweries that the server recommended and they were very good. RJs has returned to their former status in my mind. We will definitely be back.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gene2459
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    36
    10
    0
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Murrieta, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great steak salad”
Reviewed March 7, 2014

I love their steak salad and they have great atmosphere that is welcoming and casual. I didn't care for their fish tacos, I don't know why my friend ordered fish tacos here. haha

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank KMJ46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murrieta, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best Chili ever!”
Reviewed February 22, 2014

I am a huge chili fan and that topped my list. Went there for my moms brithday and she got a treat. Nice place, well maintained. Obvisly good food

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Savannah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temecula, California
Level Contributor
324 reviews
222 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Unusual name, unusually good service”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Our waitress was just wonderful. Unusual name, unusually good service. My wife's standard order, ribeye, was "...good." My Chicken Monterey was rubbery - overcooked. Nice family steak house.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Les J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murrieta, California
Level Contributor
295 reviews
183 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great Lunch Deals!”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We often go to R J's for lunch. They have some great specials that are large meals and excellent deals. The waitpersons are friendly and very attentive. Super french fries! We also recommend it for happy hour---half price appetizers and good prices on drinks. It's a wonderful, neighborhood restaurant.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kaj20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to R J's Sizzlin Steer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing