We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Plain fare, good prices”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Firewood Cafe

Firewood Cafe
Ranked #4 of 40 Restaurants in Murphys
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: American, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Wheelchair Accessible
Camp Connell, CA
Level Contributor
88 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Plain fare, good prices”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2011

The Firewood Cafe is one of the few laces in this tourist town that offers an inexpensive lunch or dinner. The menu is mostly burgers, tacos and pizza, with a few other items for children.
It is a popular place for families with small children because it offers options for kids.
The food is ok but not exceptional.
The atmosphere is usually loud, due in part to the hard walled room and in part to the large number of small children. There is a TV on the wall turned to sports events but the sound is kept off, a good move.
One some occasions in the dry Fall season the flies penetrate the dining area and can make it awful, but most of the time that is not an issue.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank shlamont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    70
    20
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Livermore, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent Food and Value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2011

Have eaten there 3 times, and was very pleased with every meal. My new favorite is their fish tacos. Outstanding!

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank travelgal061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great mushroom pizza”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2011

This was one of the few restaurants open on Memorial Day evening - a Monday night- in the Murphys/Arnold area so we drove down from Arnold for a mushroom pizza. The pizza with two kinds of mushrooms (sauteed in olive oil) -- we added sausage-- was fabulous. Well designed, blended lots of good flavors, finished with oil and parmesan and a good size. Cooked in woodfired oven. The greens at $4 gave us both plenty of salad. Glass of red wine for 5 dollars was large and reasonable quality. We were grateful to these guys for being open and super appreciative of the quality food.

  • Visited May 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaysacto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rumney, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
118 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2010

Had the burritos they were great! We stopped by for dinner and a beer after a long day of traveling. It was a clean nice place with quick service. Also had some big tv's to watch football on.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Polar_Caver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“So nice we ate there twice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2010

It's one of those places where you place your order at the counter and they bring it to you. Grab a table quick because this place is popular and can fill up fast at peak times. VERY casual, which was perfect for a family with young kids. The pizza we had for dinner was great so we came back for lunch! The kids loved the soft tacos and chicken strips, my salad was huge and fresh, burger was OK, but of what we ate the pizza was the best. Casual and reasonable so if that is what you are looking for this is the place.

After dinner we walked a block or so up Main Street and got ice ceam cones at peppermint parlor (something like that)

Travelling with kids? While in town check out the community park, big playground and has a river running through it that kids were wading and catching minnows in.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hnsmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Firewood Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Firewood Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing