We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Place, little expensive”
Review of Murphys Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Murphys Suites
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Murphys
Sonora
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice Place, little expensive”
Reviewed September 15, 2007

One of the only places with availability at the last minute (two day advance notice). Room was clean except for some black mold on the ceiling of the shower. The floor of the shower was sticky feeling. Beds were too hard, but everything else was very nice. Granite counter tops were a nice touch. Was about a 2 block walk to downtown Murphys. Room was quite at night. Spa was nice and the pool a little too chilly. Would stay again if first two choice places were full.

  • Liked — Spacious rooms, quiet.
  • Disliked — Little pricey.
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank timslady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    78
    29
    10
    3
See reviews for
58
60
8
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Benicia, Ca
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2007

Because we booked late for a special events weekend, the only room available was a 2 room suite, which was a lot bigger than the 2 of us needed. However, it was nice having all that room! This is a great place to stay for a large family or group of people.

Our room had 2 queen beds in the bedroom & a sleeper sofa in the front sitting room. The sink is outside the bathroom (a plus in our opinion) near the microwave & refrigerator. There is a large, wall mounted magnifying mirror. Lighting was good & the suite was very clean. The air conditioning unit is in the bedroom & there is a small fan in the wall between the bedroom & sitting room. We tried turning the fan on & it didn't work - then, right before we checked out, we discovered a wall switch (labeled fan!) that controlled the fan. While we were there, the "living room" was uncomfortably warm much of the time - I think the fan would have helped some.

We didn't get the so called continental breakfast - which was a choice of a chocolate or fruit muffin & juice delivered to the room. I agree with a previous reviewer that they might as well not bother. The lack of a decent continental breakfast is my main complaint about the hotel. One other very minor complaint: Although the suite had a coffee pot, since I only drink one cup in the morning, I’d rather get my morning cup of coffee in the lobby. At the Murphy Suites, the coffee pot was behind the front desk so you had to ask for a cup of coffee! I was lucky because the desk clerk wasn't busy. If there is a line of people checking out, I guess you just have to wait for your coffee.

Although you can walk to “downtown” Murphys, it isn’t an easy walk due to lack of sidewalks & traffic entering town from Hwy 4.

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
5 Thank TZK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasanton, CA
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2007

We stayed at the Murphys Suites on St. Patty's Day (March 17), coincidentally, as this is a big weekend in Murphys. But we're not Irish and we didn't come for the festivities. We just needed a place to sleep before heading to Bear Valley to ski the next day. Our family of 4 stayed in one of the suites: 1 K bed in a separate room w/ TV, and in the main area was a Q sleeper sofa and another TV. The bathroom was spacious, but it had only a tub, toilet, and a chair. The sink was located outside the bathroom. I was a little concerned that we'd be awakened by partiers, since the hotel was pretty booked, but it wasn't a problem at all. They staff delivers free OJ and muffins to your room in the morning. Small portions, but fresh tasting.
I agree with the previous post that the front desk was sporadically attended, but the attendant was accommodating. When we checked in there were free Oreo cookies at the desk in a glass cookie jar, and when we checked out the next morning, we asked for extra muffins, which we were given cheerfully. We had to pay a premium for the room because it was St P's weekend, but I thought it was a good value nonetheless. Call the hotel directly for reservations-- here's the website: [--]

  • Liked — clean, spacious, easy to get to, friendly and professional staff
  • Disliked — view out our window was a dumpster, but we came there only to sleep so we didn't care
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank 4233mailbox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury Park, California
Level 6 Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2006

We stayed at Murphys Suites from 8/8 - 8/11. We were very impressed with the cleanliness of the room as well as the size. There were two queen beds, a TV, and a table with chairs in the main bedroom and you had room to move. There was a kitchenette area with a microwave, sink and fridge. The front room had a queen size sofa bed and a comfy oversized chair, a desk and another TV and dresser. They had two computers in the lobby with Internet service, free to use.

The pool area was nice, had a little bit of grassy area, table and chairs, lounge chairs and a good size Jacuzzi. The kids had a lot of fun playing in it. It was 3 ft to 5 ft deep.

The free espresso drinks in the lobby were a nice perk. The muffins and orange juice were basic, but also a nice start for the kids in the am before we headed out.

The only downside was we were there when the hotel was not busy, so they only had one person working the front desk at any time, so you occasionally had to wait for them to return from delivering something to a room, finishing up a phone conversation, etc… but they were always very friendly.

I would definitely recommend it to others and would stay there again. The price was right for the room size and amenities.

Helpful?
5 Thank juxie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2006

Great location and spacious rooms. Free computer usage in lobby along with complimentary Americano coffee made me a happy camper. I liked the refrigerator and microwave in the room and the recliner. The staff was absolutely wonderful (especially Dottie).

  • Liked — Room size and triple sheets on the bed
  • Disliked — cheap in-room coffee
  • Tips/Secrets — 10% discount for AARP or AAA
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Grizzlyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2006

I booked a room here based on the reviews on this site. It's a clean property but lacked in personality. The check-in was extremely slow even though we were the only guests in the lobby. The service all around was unimpressive. For example, when we called for towels (we were given three towels for a room booked for four people) we were told we would need to come to the front desk and get them ourselves. The property made a big deal out of choosing a breakfast at check-in and then delivered a small prepackaged muffin and a tiny carton of juice per person in the morning- why bother? The location is not in downtown Murphys. Downtown is reachable only by vehicle unless you want to walk along the shoulder of the highway. The downtown hotels looked like a lot more fun. This hotel, while close to town, is not where the action is.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Watergate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed April 12, 2006

We have spent a number of nights at the Murphy's Suites over the past year and have found them friendly, efficient, and caring. The two-room suites are especially nice with separate t.v.s in each room and the privace of one bedroom and a second sitting room with a fold out bed. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Murphys
6.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Cedar Inn & Suites
12.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Sonora Oaks Hotel & Conference Center
11.1 mi away
Mountain Retreat Resort, a VRI resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 mi away
Gunn House Hotel
Gunn House Hotel
#2 of 8 in Sonora
400 reviews
7.0 mi away
WorldMark Angels Camp
WorldMark Angels Camp
#2 of 5 in Angels Camp
221 reviews
0.2 mi away
Murphys Inn Motel
Murphys Inn Motel
#1 of 4 in Murphys
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Murphys Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Murphys Suites

Property: Murphys Suites
Address: 134 E Highway 4, One block West of Main Street and Highway 4, Murphys, CA 95247-9531
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Murphys
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Murphys
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Murphys Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Murphys Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Murphys Hotel Murphys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing