We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Nice place, good service, great deal.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Murphys Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Murphys Suites to your Saves list
Murphys Suites
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   134 Highway 4, One block West of Main Street and Highway 4, Murphys, CA 95247   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Murphys
Certificate of Excellence
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nice place, good service, great deal.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

Came here with a family of 4, got a free upgrade to a larger room. The place was clean, staff were nice and helpful in giving directions and their opinion on what to do, see, and eat around the area. We enjoyed staying there and plan on staying there again when we bring visitors to see Murphys and surrounding area.

Room Tip: I'd take an upstairs room if you plan on trying to sleep in. There are cars parked right along t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donmega2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miclee, Owner at Murphys Suites, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Happy to hear you will come back and bring friends. Murphys is a great place to explore.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    69
    18
    10
    1
See reviews for
45
45
7
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Jackson, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

Armando Saenz is who helped me and he was very nice and helpful. I would recommend staying here to anyone. The staff goes out of their way to accommodate your every need. Prices are reasonable too. The amenities are excellent also.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miclee, Owner at Murphys Suites, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Thank you for recommending our motel. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed our staff...especially Armando
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
264 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

They really try to be unique with the morning delivery of donuts, but it just isn't quite there yet. The rooms are nice and large, but the decor is a bit dated. If you're going to leave it dated at least date it back in the 1800s like the rest of the town. The staff is very friendly and the beds are comfy. The location is also within walking distance to town, at only about a quarter mile from the main drag. I can't really complain (well, except the bathroom smelled a bit musty), it just doesn't have that "Wow" factor for me.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spankyandsarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miclee, Owner at Murphys Suites, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Thank you for your comments. Glad to hear you enjoyed the staff and our town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasant Hill, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

Rooms are great for the size and variety offered, especially for a family. Love the mini fridge and microwave in room and the extra sitting room/fold out sofa bed. Those are definitely excellent features. Not the most thorough cleaning of rooms, but overall fine. We always find a sock, or someone's contact lenses, etc. in a drawer or under a table. The linens are fine, carpet vacuumed, bathrooms cleaned, just not a lot of attention to detail cleaning. So, not a deal breaker. Staff is usually very responsive to requests for a blanket, remote issue, etc. They are accommodating and the place is comfortable and convenient to anything you want to do in town. Walking distance to wine tasting, concerts at the vineyard, excellent Italian Restaurant and other little spots on the main strip. Wish they would heat the pool a bit though. In the summer, when it is super hot, water is still chilly until many days of sun to warm it, Travelling with kids, a pool is always a highlight and kind of a bummer when it is even too chilly in the summer to comfortably swim. Overall, this is a comfortable, reasonably priced hotel. Convenient, grocery store nearby, etc. We stay here often as we have family in the area and find this the best value and features. For 2 adults and 2 school age kids can't beat the 2 room suite with the two queen beds and pull out couch. Only reason didn't give higher rating is that the rooms aren't cleaned very well sometimes and for a two room suite, expecting to accommodate 4 guests, they do not stock sufficient (4) bath towels and one sink/vanity area out in the middle of the "living space", with one toilet and tub/shower in separate space. A second toilet would be delightful, but they do have lobby restrooms which are very nice, when the need arises : ).. Pool towels are available at front desk, which is great. They have computers in the lobby, laundry machines and also a nice sauna, hot tub and work out space. Overall, good value and we will continue to choose this hotel whenever we visit.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Lisa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miclee, Owner at Murphys Suites, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Thank you for frequenting our facility.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlingame, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

This facility is a great experience right at check in friendly corteous they definetely go the extra mile for you. It's situated very central walking distance to the main strip. Although the pool area is not very large I still had a very relaxing and enjoyable time.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank juda1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miclee, Owner at Murphys Suites, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Glad you had an enjoyable time. Our facility is perfect for families gathering for a wedding in our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orinda, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

We've stayed in Murphy's Suites "two-room suite" several times. This type of room gets you a typical motel bedroom with either a king or two full-size beds, and a living room area with a hide-a-bed. The area between has an enclosed room with a tub/shower and a toilet, and a separate counter area right out in the open that serves as the bathroom sink. I'm a little bit uncomfortable with this arrangement (I like a bit of privacy when brushing my teeth, and stuff like that, I'm weird that way).

The rooms themselves are fairly nice. The main bed is of good quality, with good bedding. The hide-a-bed is okay - there's not much you can do with one of those things - but there's plenty of extra blankets and pillows in the cupboards.

The only real problem is the heating and ventilation. The room has one of those crappy window combo heater/air conditioner/fan units, and the thing is approximately as loud as an old Evinrude motor running at idle. You pretty much have to leave the thing running all night, too. The only way to get heated or cooled air into the living room part of the suite is a little (approximately 12" square) fan set into the wall between the two rooms. It's not terribly effective.

The good points are these: Free Wi-Fi. TVs in each room of the suite, with lots of channels (including HBO, if I remember correctly). Very friendly staff. Free donuts and juice delivered to your door each morning. Reasonably priced. Good location. Lots of free parking.

All in all, Murphys Suites is a good place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Renee T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miclee, Owner at Murphys Suites, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Thank you for being a great return guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Pescadero, Mexico
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

I was taken aback with pleasure at each unfolding of the discovery of Murphys Suites. Seeing the motel from the outside, (it certainly won't win any architectural awards) and knowing the 'low end' price for my reservation, I expected a generic sort of small town motel. As I approached, I noticed the large, formal and very well done entrance, Wow. As the large doors opened automatically I felt welcomed, then surprised with the expansive lobby with a 20 something foot ceiling. I stopped to take it all in. There was a fire going in a nice little area off to one side with comfortable seating, too many to mention other well done details along with the timber framing made it feel warm and inviting. I was particularly impressed with the accomplishment of balance between formal elegance and county warmth. Refreshingly, I was greeted warmly with sincerity by Tanya. I was just short of being shocked at each feature, accommodation and service Tanya presented. Honestly, I was overwhelmed, with Tanya tipping the scales, Aspen's 5 Stars have nothing over this place. Kudos to Tanya. If you're fortunate, you'll experience luxurious warmth and the delightful Tanya.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank paulQ9734SG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miclee, Owner at Murphys Suites, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
So happy to hear you enjoyed our facility. Tanya is a exceptional hostess.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Murphys
6.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Cedar Inn & Suites
11.1 mi away
Mountain Retreat Resort
12.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sonora Oaks Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
WorldMark Angels Camp
WorldMark Angels Camp
#2 of 5 in Angels Camp
4.5 of 5 stars 172 reviews
13.2 mi away
The Robin's Nest
The Robin's Nest
#1 of 3 in San Andreas
5.0 of 5 stars 53 reviews
0.2 mi away
Murphys Inn Motel
Murphys Inn Motel
#1 of 4 in Murphys
4.5 of 5 stars 257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Murphys Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Murphys Suites

Property: Murphys Suites
Address: 134 Highway 4, One block West of Main Street and Highway 4, Murphys, CA 95247
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Murphys
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Murphys
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Murphys Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Murphys Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Murphys Hotel Murphys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing