We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Enjoyed our stay.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Murphys Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Murphys Suites
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Murphys
Certificate of Excellence
houston
Level Contributor
74 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Enjoyed our stay.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Clean room. Very friendly folks. Very quiet. It was well appointed, but not fancy. Breakfast was included. Close to downtown and restaurants. Several wineries in the area. On the Ebbetts Pass scenic park way.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank smwar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miclee, Owner at Murphys Suites, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank you for the review. Ebbetts Pass is a wonderful drive with many scenic views and vistas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    71
    20
    10
    2
See reviews for
48
45
8
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
danville ca
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

I wish there were a way to give two ratings for this hotel because they excelled in some areas and were a bit short in others. The manager, Mike, was so helpful in arranging their theatre under the stars package. The package includes discounted room, tickets to an outdoor show and pizzas to go from a local restaurant. He even had folding chairs for us to use for the evening if we didn't bring our own. The show was fantastic and the setting wonderful. An experience not to be missed.

The suite was clean and spacious, the pool was small but nice and the beach towels provided were not those oversize napkins you get at most places. The front desk was very helpful and pleasant and donuts were delivered to our room in the morning as promised. The housekeeping staff however did not make up our room which we discovered after a long day out, the room key had to be reset as it was only set for one night instead of two, and the donuts did not appear the second day. A bit of fine tuning on the details and this would be a perfect score. Murphys is a great weekend getaway and this is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishop, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

A first visit to Murphy's. I was mesmerized by the charm and buzz of the town. Then pulled into Murphys' Suites which was somewhat isolated from the town and very few cars in the lot. (Thursday). I immediately began to draw a disillusioned conclusion about the place...until I walked in and registered. Once inside, the ambiance and the graciousness of the young front desk clerk immediately took my disappointment away. She, along with the manager, were eagerly accommodating from everything from sight-seeing tips and restaurants, to offering delivery of home-made donuts to the room next morning. The room rates were reasonable, and the rooms themselves were spacious, clean and QUIET...unlike a few places in the town proper. Would return without a doubt.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank S R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miclee, Owner at Murphys Suites, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
So glad you enjoyed our staff and facility. We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Union City, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

I recently had a weekend in Murphys with my mother and sister. We chose this hotel because of the availability of 3 separate beds (2 queens and a pull out sofabed). We enjoyed a 2 room suite that was a great size for the three of us. We had a small refrigerator, a microwave and a coffeemaker in our room. The room was clean, just a tiny bit dated. But, I was able to forgive that because of some amenities. There was a small pool available as well as a hot tub. At breakfast time we were brought our choice of donuts to the room with some orange juice. The hotel backs to a convenient market for necessary purchases. Service was ok. There were times when the desk wasn't manned. But our wait was never more than 5-10 minutes. The hotel is a short distance from main street. Driving is probably the preferred way to head to main because of the highway that it is located beside. We had a room alongside the highway and never felt, saw, or heard the effects of it. I would recommend the hotel and have plans of returning myself.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ljjecox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

I have stayed here a few times with family and friends. This hotel is a great place to stay while you enjoy what the Calaveras Mountains have to offer. Highly recommended for anyone looking for value and excellent lodging. This is the place.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank FunTravelsinCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miclee, Owner at Murphys Suites, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank you for the recommendation! There are many indoor and outdoor activities to experience in Calaveras County and the Sierra Nevada Mountains.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ripon, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Very clean and well maintained. The staff was extremely friendly & helpful.Very close to downtown. Their cappuccino coffee was fantastic. The rooms are large and their beds were comfortable. I would definitely visit again and tell my family and friends.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank freedomCV1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
turlock, ca
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Overall a very good experience. Nice, clean grounds. Well maintained. Rooms are large. Good location. A little far for walking to downtown, but it is a short drive. The donuts that were served for breakfast left a little to be desired, but overall a very good stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank turlock1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miclee, Owner at Murphys Suites, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. It is about 1/2 mile to the start of "town" and them town is about 1 1/12 mile long it takes all day to enjoy it in entirety. Please stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Murphys
6.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Cedar Inn & Suites
12.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sonora Oaks Hotel & Conference Center
11.1 mi away
Mountain Retreat Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
WorldMark Angels Camp
WorldMark Angels Camp
#2 of 5 in Angels Camp
4.5 of 5 stars 177 reviews
13.2 mi away
The Robin's Nest
The Robin's Nest
#1 of 3 in San Andreas
5.0 of 5 stars 54 reviews
0.2 mi away
Murphys Inn Motel
Murphys Inn Motel
#1 of 4 in Murphys
4.5 of 5 stars 259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Murphys Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Murphys Suites

Property: Murphys Suites
Address: 134 E Highway 4, One block West of Main Street and Highway 4, Murphys, CA 95247-9531
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Murphys
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Murphys
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Murphys Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Murphys Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Murphys Hotel Murphys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing