We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the visit!”
Review of Mercer Caverns

Mercer Caverns
Ranked #1 of 27 things to do in Murphys
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Fresno, California, Usa
Level Contributor
86 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Worth the visit!”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Take the time and drive a mile or so out of Murphys to Mercer Caverns and enjoy a very interesting tour of the caverns. Be prepared to be amazed at the beauty mysteries that lie beneath the surface of our earth. Well worth th $8.50 price of the 45 minute guided tour.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Tammy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    51
    14
    2
    4
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very Cool!”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

We had a great time on the cavern tour. Great formations! Our guide was quite knowledgible and patient. The cavern is well lit and allows for great pictures. I would highly recommend this 45 min/$15 tour.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Archgrl7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
89 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Beautiful cave”
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Beautiful cave. A little fast going down with little time to appreciate. Going back up all the stairs was strenuous and not everyone can do it. So think it over. Plus, the space going up the stairs is narrow. It was not very cold to me, due to all the exercise. But once you pay, you can go in the first room for an interesting 10 minutes, then go back out for a refund before having to go all the way thru and do all the stairs. They tell you that in the first tunnel/room.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Kimham11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California City, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Worth the visit”
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Take a 1 mile detour from Hwy 4 in Murphy and stop by Mercer Caverns. On Main Street, grab some breakfast or a scone/pastry at Aria bakery on Main Street and then drive a mile up to the caverns. The tour takes about 45 minutes. You cannot bring any bags, backpacks, water, etc so bring a light jacket with pockets and zip up. You'll be walking up and down ladders so this is not for the faint at heart or anyone who doesn't like closed in areas. However, for everyone else, including kids, this is a great stop when you're in the area. The staff is friendly and informative. It's amazing that something so unique is so close to the south bay (2-1/2 hour drive). There is a gold panning area for the kids and a pretty cool gift shop. Tickets $15.00 for adults but search for coupons. No AAA discount but support local small businesses.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Roadrat12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
145 reviews
57 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Amazing Beauty”
Reviewed April 30, 2013

My sister, husband and I did this tour the day we were leaving Murphys. We thoroughly enjoyed our tour. It was very informative and entertaining at the same time. I would recommend doing this to anyone in the area, unless you are claustrophobic. The caves are beautiful and the history of how they were discovered by Mr. Mercer is amazing.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ebbosse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mercer Caverns also viewed

 

Been to Mercer Caverns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing