We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely the BEST tour ever!”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Local Roots Food Tours
Ranked #2 of 19 Food & Drink in Murphys
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Owner description: Come enjoy the finest wine and food in gorgeous Murphys, CA! Aptly named “Queen of the Sierra”, and one of Budget Travel magazine’s Top Ten Coolest Small Towns, Murphys is a superb destination for fine dining and wine tasting, and this walking food tour shows you the best of both worlds. Our 3-hour walking food & wine tour includes up to 8 stops at the best restaurants,shops and wine tasting rooms. You’ll eat unique dishes made from fresh, locally-sourced produce & taste fabulous, locally-made wines from several top wineries. As part of our “foodie family”, you’ll get up and close with chefs, owners, and winemakers of this quaint town.
Morgan Hill, California
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Absolutely the BEST tour ever!”
Reviewed May 7, 2012

We enjoyed our tour on May 5 so much! Shelby gave us a detailed history of the town as well as background information from the stores, restaurants and wineries we visited. From touring the historic hotel where Ulysses S. Grant stayed, to tasting lamb meatballs to touring the local working winery, this tour far exceeded our expectations. We had our own docent to give us a wealth of knowledge about the food we were eating, the type of wine we were sampling and who the owners were of the places we visited. We ate so many different types of food from well known chefs. Definitely money well spent. We will be bringing our 6 grown children to visit next time.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Janet P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LocalRootsFoodTours, Owner at Local Roots Food Tours, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Wow! Thanks for taking the time to leave your feedback on our Murphys Food & Wine Tour. So glad to hear you and your spouse were very satisfied and it made for a very memorable day. We look forward to you bringing your family on another tour in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    1
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Murphys
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A real winner!”
Reviewed April 28, 2012

The Local Roots Food Tour at Murphys, CA is truly a winner --- participants get so much information including history of the town, explanation of the historic sites and buildings, wine tasting, food tastes at various of the restaurants, and a healthy stroll through the city! A great way to get acquainted with this charming area.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank MaryAnn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LocalRootsFoodTours, Owner at Local Roots Food Tours, responded to this review, April 30, 2012
Thank you for leaving a review from a local's perspective on our food tours in your town. We are so happy to hear you had a wonderful time on our food & wine tour and thought it was a "a real winner". We hope to see you on one of our future foodie adventures!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grass Valley
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Murphy's Food & Wine Tour-GREAT!”
Reviewed April 26, 2012

We took the Murphy's tour on Saturday with Shelby. It was great fun. A good balance between food, wine and shopping. Shelby told us about the history of Murphy's but we also got to know who's who in the wine and restaurant business today. Good behind the scenes info. Loved the olive oil & balsamic vinegar store. The owners of the shops were happy to see us and treated us well. Highly recommended.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LocalRootsFoodTours, Owner at Local Roots Food Tours, responded to this review, April 30, 2012
Thank you for your review. We strive to have a good balance in our food & wine tours and it looks like we achieved this for you and your friends on our Murphys Tour. We hope to see you again on a future foodie adventure.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa, California
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“GREAT tour of Murphys, CA”
Reviewed April 21, 2012

Today on our food tour, we got up close and personal with HUGE wild mushrooms that had been foraged that morning by this awesome chef at V Restaurant and Bar, we tasted bourbon sugar that was made by mixing sugar with the charred and caramelized insides of an oak bourbon barrel, tasted foods served off of a salt plate, then tried sour beer from Germany for the first time that is aged in oak barrels and has acidity and flavor like wine. Delicious! The best and tastiest way to spend and afternoon! This town is incredible and I highly recommend you take this tour to discover all it has to offer.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Shelby F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LocalRootsFoodTours, Owner at Local Roots Food Tours, responded to this review, April 23, 2012
We are so glad you enjoyed your food tour and were able to experience so many great culinary points and food along the 3 hour route! We love showcasing our wonderful town of Murphys and exploring every bit of our palates along the way! We look forward to you joining us on another one of our Local Roots Food Tours in the near future and keep on exploring with us! Thank you for your review and time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angels Camp
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best way to discover the local restaurants and town”
Reviewed April 19, 2012

I have lived in Angels Camp for four years and have only visited a few restaurants in Murphys. Going on a food tour was the most amazing way to discover what I had been missing!
The quality of restaurants, the quality of chef's and the quality of food and wine being offered in this charming little town is astonishing and it took the great idea of a food tour to help me realize that. Our first stop was at a restaurant called MINERAL and I have heard ALOT about it but never eaten there before and WOW! I simply can not wait to go back. The vegetarian burger was maybe one of the best things I have ever eaten. So artfully presented and getting to meet the chef was priceless. Another favorite restaurant was Alchemy who did a special dish just for us that was DELICIOUS and he paired it with a beer that was outstanding. I'm not a big beer drinker and this beer had a hint of Chai Spice which was intriguing and the food he paired it with was artful, truly. V Restaurant was another great stop where we met the young new chef and it was so amazing. He served these lamb meatballs and then talked to us about where he gets his lamb and the differences in husbandry and flavor. OUTSTANDING! I am on a limited budget so I dont get to go out much and certainly not to a fine restaurant like V and the food tour was just such a great way to discover and experience these great establishments. We went to so many incredible specialty food shops and we all enjoyed them equally as well as the restaurants. We ended the tour at one of the tasting rooms with probably one of the best reputation in town and the owner/ wife of the winemaker is a talented chef as well and she served us one of the most amazing deserts paired with one of their library wines. The winemaker/husband came by and said hello also. The tour guide was very personable and she seemed to be so passionate about the town and the tour and she really seemed to be having as good a time as us and I appreciated that. She told us local historical stories and it was the perfect amount of history. Some of the stories were amazing and interesting.
I simply can not say enough about how much I enjoyed the tour. Every single stop was such a treat and the whole day you felt like a VIP. Its incredible to have so much quality offered in such a small town and I am so glad I choose to discover it this way.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Candy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LocalRootsFoodTours, Owner at Local Roots Food Tours, responded to this review, April 23, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to let us know what our food tour experience was like for you. I picked out some key words in your review; "Delicious, Outstanding, VIP" Pretty much sums up our goals for our food tour participants so I am happy to read we met your expectations. We hope you will join us on another one of our culinary food adventures in the near future. We offer some other amazing walking food tour routes in Northern California.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Local Roots Food Tours also viewed

 

Been to Local Roots Food Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing