We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Been coming here for years”

Alchemy Market and Cafe
Ranked #2 of 40 Restaurants in Murphys
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $25
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Sonora, California
Level Contributor
80 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Been coming here for years”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2014

This place has been up,down and now up. Food is delicious. We had crab cakes,fish tacos and mushroom soup. Atmosphere is always enjoyable. Service was great. Murphy's is always a fun town to visit.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Pete M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    155
    85
    23
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sonora, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Great Lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2014

Crab cakes with a salad and fish tacos. Also had mushroom soup. Everything was delicious. Atmosphere and service was great. Recommend to everyone when visiting Murphy's.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
151 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Great spot to enjoy lunch, dinner, drinks, and deliciously decadent desserts”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2014 via mobile

My first visit was for lunch. The service, food, and atmosphere were excellent. The food was very fresh and full of flavor. I had the Thai chicken salad and my friend had the salmon. Both dishes were delicious. We went back to Murphys a few days later for dinner and decided to eat here again. The ribs, meatloaf, and sole were all fantastic. My husband, my friend, and I shared the incredibly delicious and decadent chocolate cake, which was big enough for all of us. I will absolutely go back!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Izzy3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
56 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great dinner spot in Murphys”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2014

Lovely evening meal with wonderful wine, good service and quiet atmosphere. The food is fresh, and well prepared. The wine list is local and extensive. The staff is flexible and friendly

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sandy I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clayton, California, United States
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Wine bar and restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2014

We love Alchemy. To start the wedge or mussels then the chicken or steak. We really love the casual ambiance in this small restaurant.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Terri T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alchemy Market and Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Alchemy Market and Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing