We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We sat at the bar and received excellent service. The crab cakes and the calamari were perfectly done!”

Alchemy Market and Cafe
Ranked #2 of 41 Restaurants in Murphys
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $25
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Morgan Hill, California
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“We sat at the bar and received excellent service. The crab cakes and the calamari were perfectly done!”
Reviewed December 30, 2013

The atmosphere was inviting and the service was excellent. The waiter at the bar was attentive but not hovering. Friendly with suggestions that we found delicious!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Lilah57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    161
    88
    25
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Angels Camp, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed November 30, 2013

I was traveling through Murphys and found the restaurant on Tripadvisor. The service was great. The food was wonderful. They had a good selection of beer and wine. Would highly recommend this and will be back on our next trip through this area.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pjs1013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Loosen Your Belts!”
Reviewed November 11, 2013

My husband and I visited the delightful town of Murphy's recently. We were charmed by the shops, tasting rooms, and restaurants. We had lunch at Alchemy Cafe. We ordered a calamari appetizer, expecting the usual greasy fare. Boy, were we surprised! The calamari was the best we've ever had! It was light, crispy, flavorful and cooked to perfection. The very generous portion was accompanied by jalapeno slices and a chipotle dressing drizzle. We couldn't get enough of this dish.

We look forward to returning to sample some of the other dishes. The wine and beer list is extensive too.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Santacruzin2u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livermore, Calif.
Level Contributor
54 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Alchemy Restaurant”
Reviewed October 27, 2013

We had a delicious lunch here, sat outside on a beautiful afternoon. Food was excellent, the waitress was very friendly, it was a great place to eat, right on the main road.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank loalynne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BRISBANE
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Accidental great time”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

We were visiting the great area of angels camp and Murphys,the caverns etc etc...Having a great time on main street....and then we got hungry...It was Tuesday night with the winemaker....(Chatom 2008 Cab)....great surprise .The wine that night was so smooth with bursting flavor on the end..Our server greeted us with positive attitude ,they had a little music and the atmosphere was very friendly,and safe.Bobbie our server, very nice,made us feel at home.
we had appetizers ,calamari cooked to its finest and a wood oven pizza was better than your average pizza.Definite stop.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank ROBERT M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alchemy Market and Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Alchemy Market and Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing