We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sweaty but good”

Alchemy Market and Cafe
Ranked #2 of 41 Restaurants in Murphys
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $25
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Santa Cruz California
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Sweaty but good”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

So we inflicted the heat on ourselves, since we had our little Shih Tzu with us. Henri doesn't like to stay behind and it was WAY too hot for the car. So we ate on the patio. Staff was super friendly. Food terrific. I had the chef's special seafood pasta and my companions had BBQ ribs, macaroni and cheese with bacon and another had a beautiful big salad. Fantastic beer selection. Wonderful house salad and signature garlic bread.

Our server was adorable and very sweet. Especially since she had to keep coming outside in the heat to wait on us. She brought our puppy water.

Two suggestions - keep the bottled beer colder.
Maybe install some of those water spritzing contraptions I've seen in Palm Springs? Otherwise all was terrific.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank IvyAnne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    161
    89
    25
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Twain Harte, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“ahi!”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

I have gone a few times, and I am a creature of habit. I always have the Ahi salad. It is always delicious. The service is always good too.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank akinny1031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, California
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great Food and People.”
Reviewed July 5, 2013

We ate here three time during our stay the food and service was great. Seems like a place where locals hang out, relaxed, casual, with great wine and they will let you take your dogs on the back patio..

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TroublesNoMore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Extensive & impressive Belgian (& real) beer list”
Reviewed July 4, 2013

We do like this place for lunches primarily, the food is fresh, quite varied, large portions (very large salads), but the real attraction for us is the Belgian beer selection; there are 3 beer menu's, and you will find some pretty rare and many interesting options here. Alchemy also has a little store attached to the restaurant, so you can see what they have in stock and take some home with you. We have found an excellent selection here and although the stock can vary depending on new shipments coming in, I don't think you will find a better selection anywhere if you love good beer. It's great to have an interesting beer with lunch, but then be able to take various bottles home with you and hold a beer tasting. Long may this level of excellent product sourcing continue!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tracy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castro Valley, California
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good salads”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We enjoyed a Thai chicken salad that we took back to our hotel. It was very plentiful and fresh! We were there on a very hot weekend and the salad was perfect.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank BHeimowitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alchemy Market and Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Alchemy Market and Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing