We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Grounds - OK Wine”

Ironstone Vineyards
Ranked #1 of 19 Food & Drink in Murphys
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Ironstone Vineyards is a premier destination winery located in Murphys, California. Our amenities include our Tasting Room, Gourmet Deli, Heritage Museum (featuring our 44 pound crystalline gold piece) & Jewelry Shoppe, Amphitheater, gold panning, plush gardens, and complimentary tours of our facilities and wine caves. Our wines reflect the diversity of offerings from the Lodi and Sierra Foothills Appellations of Northern California. Through emphasizing the practice of Sustainable Viticulture, Ironstone Vineyards conserves water use, builds healthy soil, and maintains our surrounding wildlife habitat.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Stairs / elevator, Food available for purchase
Lincoln, California
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great Grounds - OK Wine”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Ironstone is about a mile outside Murphys. The Kautz family spent a LOT of money on the facility. The two story main building has a large tasting area with a long bar, a merchandise area and a deli area with seating. Downstairs is a large kitchen and seating area where they do cooking classes and wedding receptions. Then there are at least 3 or 4 acres of well manicured grounds including a large amphitheater, an area designed for weddings (often 2 a day in the summer) and several nice walks with ponds and little creeks. I would go for the grounds and maybe a sandwich and maybe try their wines. But don't expect much. Ironstone is into volume rather than quality. Steve Milliare is their wine maker doing the best he can with the bulk grapes he is given. If you want quality wines go back to Murphys with their 18 tasting rooms at last count including Steve's Milliare winery.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    145
    71
    16
    2
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
turlock, ca
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic venue”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Wow, very impressive! We went there in July for a wedding. The grounds were impeccable. Very well maintained, very beautiful. The setting was under a huge oak tree. Very well lit at night. The food was excellent. The wine was great. Overall a great experience.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank turlock1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winters, California
Level 6 Contributor
337 reviews
181 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“One need not like wine”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Go to hear the old theatre organ and watch the pipes working behind glass. In addition, there is a great little museum with a large piece of local gold. You can have a great sandwich and eat it on the deck. Then, head to the lower parking lot and check out all the old machinery and the flume.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lynne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Missouri
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Amazingly Beautiful Winery”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Ironstone Winery is a delight for both the lips and the eyes. It was such a delightful surprise! The entrance and the grounds were filled with beautiful flowers. We were fortunate enough to visit on a week day when it was quiet and not crowded. My husband did a wine tasting of 6 different wines for only $5.00 while I opted for just a dollar sample of their champagne. The grounds are perfect for outdoor concerts with a large stage and lots of lawn space for concert goers. The summer schedule included Melissa Etheridge and several other recognizable famous names. The winery also offers itself as a stunningly beautiful venue for weddings. Even though we also went to several lovely Napa wineries on this same vacation, Ironstone Winery was by far my favorite.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacifica, California
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Gorgeous”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

What a beautiful winery, The museum was interesting as well. The decor of the place was gorgeous. Great photo opps.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ironstone Vineyards also viewed

 

Been to Ironstone Vineyards? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing