We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sweet and clean”
Review of Murphys Inn Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Murphys Inn Motel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Murphys
Certificate of Excellence
Oakland, California, United States
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Sweet and clean”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Second stay here and just what we needed - a clean, warm spot to rest after winter
recreations. Its an easy walk to town which has many excellent dining options. In short Murphy's Inn has good prices, nice people, and did I mention its very clean?

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank zenon368
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    107
    26
    3
    10
See reviews for
58
106
13
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shingle Springs, California, United States
1 review
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Murphys Inn Motel has become our new getaway spot. We've stayed there twice in the last 6 months and plan to return soon. It's conveniently located at the end of main street which has numerous wine tasting rooms and restaurants within walking distance. It's a quiet, clean motel and the staff are always friendly and helpful. The rooms are not extra ellegant, but sufficient for the price. We heard about this motel from a friend and have passed the recommendation on to many others.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank R0sebud4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miclee, Owner at Murphys Inn Motel, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
We are proud to be a part of your New Getaway and look forward to your return
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

We stayed here while attending a wine dinner locally. Had stayed in town before at both the Murphys Suites and the Murphys Hotel. This was a little cheaper than both. Overall reasonable value. A little more noise than I would like with the skiers but I would do it again.

Room Tip: comfortable simple room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mfags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orangevale
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2013 via mobile

We were in town for a wedding and were looking forward to wandering around town the next day. We were please to find our room to be clean and very comfortable. The staff was courteous and accommodating. Great breakfast place across the parking lot, the the name escapes me now. We were surprised to see it there since we hadn't noticed it the night before.
I slept soundly that night. There was not one peep in the hallway...no sounds of annoying ice machines etc...a very relaxing night. Great stay! I know where to stay the next time we venture out in that direction.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank 1tallmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miclee, Owner at Murphys Inn Motel, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Thank you for the kind words about our rooms and staff. The restaurant across the parking lot is Hillbillies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2013

We stayed there while exploring the area and when we decided we would like to check out the wine tasting rooms in town this fit the bill. The room was nice - nothing special. We were just passing through and this was good for a reasonable place to stay within walking distance of town. We were one of 2 that were there that night (off season) so all was quiet.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jla123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed there on our trip through and around gold country, we just turned up without any reservation and they was helpful at the desk, our stay was just a overnighter but we found the rooms to be large and clean, a little soul-less but the rates was cheap compared to Murphys its self, we was not out for a budget hotel but found it to be very good.
Next time we are in Murphy's we will stay here, highly reccommended.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spike_Frances_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miclee, Owner at Murphys Inn Motel, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and thank you for posting pictures of your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modesto, California
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

I have stayed at the Murphys Inn numerous times and have always had a positive experience. The staff are friendly, welcoming and professional. I read a few reviews saying the reception was rude, in all the times we've stayed at this hotel we have NEVER experienced that type of treatment. Staff have always been warm and welcoming towards us, even other family members and friends who have stayed here on other occasions.

The room and bathroom are a good size and clean; however, they are not updated. ( I would suggest bringing your own pillow though because I don't find the pillows that comfortable.) For us, the rooms are fine because we are just there to sleep and not spend much time in the room....too much to do in Murphys to be stuck indoors!! We have never dealt with a noise issue either as experienced by other reviewers. The hotel has an outdoor pool that we have used during the summer months. When we have stayed during the summer the pool has always been clean and well maintained. The hotel location is right on Main St. so you can walk to all the shops, restaurants and wineries. For the price, location and hotel cleanliness you can't beat the price in Murphy's, we paid $89/night. Keep in mind, this is an economy hotel, if you want 4 Star, find something else.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank soulsisters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Murphys
0.2 mi away
Murphys Suites
Murphys Suites
#2 of 4 in Murphys
207 reviews
6.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Cedar Inn & Suites
12.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Sonora Oaks Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 mi away
Mountain Retreat Resort, a VRI resort
11.5 mi away
Gunn House Hotel
Gunn House Hotel
#2 of 8 in Sonora
400 reviews
17.7 mi away
The Historic Hotel Leger
The Historic Hotel Leger
#1 of 1 in Mokelumne Hill
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Murphys Inn Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Murphys Inn Motel

Property: Murphys Inn Motel
Address: 76 Main St, Murphys, CA 95247-9464
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Murphys
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Murphys
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Murphys Inn Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Murphys Inn Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Murphys Hotel Murphys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing