We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great history”
Review of Murphys Hotel

Murphys Hotel
Ranked #6 of 42 Restaurants in Murphys
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $25
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stopped in for a look-see. This is a vintage hotel, and the management has taken pains to be sure that the ambience remains quaint and olden. The carpet really carries that tradition on. We viewed the room where President U.S. Grant stayed, checked out the bar area and the dining room. The outdoor garden is filled with tables, and is a great spot to sit on a warm afternoon, sipping something cold.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank gredave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (270)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 270 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2019

This is a classic historical hotel with so much charm. My wife and I love to have breakfast here during the summer months outside on their patio. Wonderful service compliments the great menu and quality food they serve. The bar is a busy place typically with old world charm. Prices are reasonable and fair... Get your cowboy boots and hat on and get on down here!

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank johnpL2420WO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2019

Historic and lovely Murphys Hotel dinner experience.
Hot bread refilled....Yummy appetizers LUMPIA w/sauce. Complete modern menu..we just wanted something you cannot find anywhere-REAL FRIED CHICKEN dinner..we loved it

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank Gwen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2019 via mobile

I felt for the price this hotel is dated. We were in a offshoot of the older quaint hotel. I felt like it was stuck in the late 1970's or 80's. No fridge or microwave no coffee pot. Very much no frills. There was a big concert in town made me wonder if they bumped up the price for the weekend. The highlight was the bakery across the street. On checking in the girl at the front desk was more concerned on whether the delivery guy was going to the concert. We waited 5 min. While she concluded her conversation.

Date of visit: July 2019
Thank agreekgodess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2019 via mobile

Thought this historic place would be the place to go in Murphy’s. Should have known better when the place was a third full on a 4th of July Saturday night. Ordered two appetizers. Bread was burnt. Other was mediocre. Soup was alright. Two entrees. Shrimp salad was McDonalds like. Cold rubber shrimp and no dressing. Ribeye steak was tough and lukewarm. Mash potatoes were soupy and the vegetables tasted like frozen. Service was SLLLLLOOOOOOOWWWWWW. NEVER GO BACK.

Date of visit: July 2019
Thank jimj959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Murphys Hotel also viewed

Murphys, Calaveras County
Murphys, Calaveras County
 
Murphys, Calaveras County
Murphys, Calaveras County
 
Murphys, Calaveras County
Murphys, Calaveras County
 

Been to Murphys Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing