We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday lunch”
Review of Murphy's Hotel

Murphy's Hotel
Ranked #5 of 41 Restaurants in Murphys
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $25
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Murphys, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Birthday lunch”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Had a great lunch today at the Murphy's Hotel...Our waiter Joel was great and always happy to serve you. Beautiful patio with lot's of trees. Great place to eat and relax

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lilybyrd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    73
    31
    15
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“great spot in historic hotel”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

their speciality is the 1/2 chicken, they were out of it when we got at 7:00. The meals and service were excellent. This is a great old hotel with a fun bar. We were their on Frog Jumping weekend, very busy and lots of bikers.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank JudyinSD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacifica, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Went with a party of four, no reservations on a Friday night. We were seated outside immediately. However, it took over 20 minutes for our waiter to take our drink order. He said he would bring our bottle of wine out immediately with bread for the table. After 30 minutes he brought our wine. However, no bread. We asked for bread again, it was not delivered. Our meal arrived and bread followed minutes later. The food was excellent. However our waiter never came back to check on us to see if everything was OK and never asked us if we cared for any more drinks.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradise, California
Level Contributor
43 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“A simple breakfast here is a must!”
Reviewed June 7, 2013

We were planning on going to Aria Bakery for breakfast, across the street, but it was a Monday and they were closed. A local suggested Murphy's Hotel for breakfast; it proved to be a "just right" place for us that morning so we went back later and thanked her for the recommendation.

We probably wouldn't have otherwise tried Murphys' Hotel for breakfast--it certainly is historic, and looks that way, too, both from the front and stepping inside to the lobby. There's a dining room at the back of the first floor but we peeked to the right and saw a hallway heading out to a small garden with tables in the dappled shade. We headed outside.

The dining "garden" is really what used to be the parking area for the hotel's "modern" motor lodge rooms (our friends lived in Murphys many years ago and told us this). But we wouldn't have guessed that because the plantings and setting are so perfect for al fresco dining on a sunny summer morning. The tables aren't pushed so close together that you feel as if you're an unwilling listener to neighboring diners--yet the feel is small and intimate, even though you're outside.

Joel was our server and his attention to our comfort was evident in his explanations of various menu items, top-notch service and casual (but not disrespectful) banter.

Pricing was very good (especially considering Murphys well-deserved reputation as a high-priced "Carmel in the Mother Lode"). The "Murphys Breakfast" was the unassailable deal at $5.95, but it didn't present or taste like a bargain. We're talking two eggs cooked any style (Joel says they have 18 "buttons" on the ordering menu indicating different ways of preparing eggs), two absolutely delicious slices of bacon (medium thick, a touch of salty, a bit of fat ribboning the smoked meat), two sausage links (they looked a bit "pale" but the flavor was herby--is that a word?--and meaty) as well as your choice of toast (three types of bread as I recall) or an English muffin. The homemade corned beef hash and eggs looked tempting, too. Maybe next time...

Despite the great reviews at Aria Bakery, all four of us decided that on our next visit to Murphys, there's no doubt we're heading to Murphys Hotel for breakfast.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ukalady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Hotel and Restaurant-great service/Bar-no so much”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

I wish I could just review the hotel and restaurant. GREAT service. Hotel is charming with lots of history(I love that stuff). If you are a local the bar is a great place, but as a tourist expect to wait on a busy weekend. We were here Mothers Day weekend.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank SuzieLS123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Murphy's Hotel also viewed

 

Been to Murphy's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing