We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint Little Pub”

The Pelican Inn Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Muir Beach
Cuisines: Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Brampton
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Quaint Little Pub”
Reviewed March 19, 2013

I read about this on the internet and decided to check it out. It was a bit of a drive over winding and hilly roads but definitely worth it. The meal, the service and the atmosphere were all very wonderful.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Aka_Annie05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    71
    20
    16
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Mateo, California
Level Contributor
131 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Not great”
Reviewed March 10, 2013

This is my 2nd visit to Pelican Inn Restaurant - this tie I brought my husband for some good English food - I`m born and raised in the UK!.
We were very disappointed!
We decided to try the buffet (last time I tried the pub with a friend - better experience) - the roast beef was hard, chewy, lukewarm, eggs tasted like they came out of a box, salmon was ok, the only thing decent were the salads. My advice would be to expand on their pub grub and leave buffets to the experts out there - if you are going to do roast beef as a British pub then add roast potatoes and Yorkshire pudding with the dish - I will not be back to eat there!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Flowerbloss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Champaign, Il
Level Contributor
109 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“great atmosphere, enjoyable lunch”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

we ate at the pelican inn before visiting muir woods. we really enjoyed our lunch. the outside and inside of the inn has a lot of charm and character. our food was also good. superb place for a romantic meal for two. there are open flame lamps on each table. the insides are a little cramped and many of the tables are within easy earshot of other tables. it adds to the charm -- its almost like a big family meal with the folks you haven't met yet near you. Its not such a great place for kids; the cramped quarters and decor are not necessarily kid friendly, although we did see children while we were there.

it took a bit longer for our food to arrive than we expected, but it was well worth it.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank todc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A lovely country pub and inn”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

What a lovely surprise The Pelican Inn was after a long and hard bike ride from Fisherman's Wharf. When we needed it the most, this oasis appeared and it couldn't have been lovelier. The location and atmosphere is just like being in the English countryside and the service, drinks and food are very good and authentic.

You can easily lose an entire afternoon just lounging around on the lawn outside, striking up conversations with fellow patrons.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fredrik54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF Bay Area California
Level Contributor
81 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Fantastic food and atmosphere”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

We stayed at the inn and dinner there both nights. Very romantic atmosphere with candle light and beamed ceilings. Food was yummy, service prompt and friendly. We heartily recommend both the restaurant and the unique inn.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank tradgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Pelican Inn Restaurant also viewed

Stinson Beach, Marin County
Mill Valley, Marin County
 
Stinson Beach, Marin County
Stinson Beach, Marin County
 

Been to The Pelican Inn Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing